We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Suite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Suite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with my husband as a treat and upgraded to one of the suites on the day. The room (Winston) was fantastic - everything you could want - massive bed, complimentary goodies and very quiet (was worried it would be noisy but slept really well). Great reception staff and very interesting building. Downsides are the toiletries in the bedroom - seemed very cheap - not the sort you want to sneak into your luggage (!) and I went out and bought my own shampoo and bubble bath! Also the breakfast - it may have been 10 o'clock when we went down for breakfast but it was a sad offering that awaited us. Slices of curled up cheese and ham, cheap looking cereals and orange (?) segments which if I had blind tasted them I wouldn't have known what they were!! Messy service areas and no crockery around - shame. Couldn't wait to get out of there. So on the whole do book one of the suites if you are looking for a special night away but go somewhere else for breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nic040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    497
    223
    79
    42
See reviews for
93
788
82
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed in the sister hotel in Chester which is lovely. This was different, built in an old factory so your room is built around girders and pipes. This has a nice old feel to it. The rooms are clean and pleanty of room. I found the beds comfortable and had a good nights sleep.

I will say the breakfast is steep at £11.50. When I stayed at Chester that included everything including cereal etc. If you wanted anything else except what you order I.e. I ordered a full English if I wanted anything from the continental including cereal it was an extra £5. Now the £11.50 got me tea, orange juice, some toast and a full English. The Full English was 1 sausage,1 rasher of bacon, 1 mushroom, 1 slice of black pudding, 1 tomato, beans and an egg. I could have got more then that in the pub next door for half the price.

Not as nice as the Chester hotel but I would stay again. Probably wouldn't order breakfast there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie3999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode Manchester. Whilst delighted you enjoyed the hotel I am disappointed that you felt breakfast was inadequate. Pricing and offerings should be consisent across all of our properties so I will look into your comments further. Thank you.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was an easy walk from the train station, and close to shops and attractions. Our room was a bit small, but otherwise comfortable. Dinner at the Michael Caine restaurant in the basement was a little pretentious, but tasty. Breakfast (an additional eight pounds) was skimpy, and we had to choose between the cold table and a hot choice. We've been in many, many hotels where both would have been included in the room price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Pricey for what you get.We stayed in a desirable room, which was spacious and clean. the room however had a terrible view and was also had a very confused interior design and colour scheme. The staff at the front desk we were helpful as well. Not sure we would return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. My apologies that all of your expectations were not met on this occasion. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further and I am available to do so via the hotels main telephone line.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

In a great location not far from Manchester Piccadilly station, this hotel provided a welcome oasis after spending the day pounding city streets in the recent heat wave. The building has kept much of its Victorian charm (including the beautiful tiled stairways - worth not taking the lift so you can appreciate them) but my room was modern, spacious, slightly quirky, and well supplied. Best of all, it had the most efficient air conditioning I have ever come across in the UK!

The bar was pleasant and service was good. In the morning, I ordered room service breakfast. This was one of the best I have had - wonderful bacon rolls and good coffee - and it arrived exactly when ordered.

I will definitely be booking in here again on my next visit to Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your time here with us at the ABode. I will of course pass on your comments to the team and I do hope you return in the near future.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went in the cafe bar and grill of the abode restaurant. Excellent service by the friendly staff would defo recommend. The food was first class and wil be frequentin here again in the near future. Although i didnt stay overnight in the rooms i wud consider it along with dining in the fine dine restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jilliano1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the ABode. Your comments are very much appreciated and we do hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently treated ourselves to a night at this hotel and a meal in Michael Caine's restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful and although the room was nice we have had better for an upgraded room (we stayed in a 'Desirable' room). The main thing that let it down was the bathroom. It was vey large for a modern day hotel but there was vey little space to put toiletries etc. and the funky towel radiator was too small for two towels. The room was advertised as having 'upgraded toiletries' but all that was provided was a bottle of shower gel and some shampoo - hardly an upgrade. One of the lampshades was broken and when I asked about it the manager told me they were having trouble sourcing replacements. In my view replace them all with something different rather than have broken items in a hotel that is classing itself as luxury! The a/c was not working either. Having said that, the bed was very comfortable and it was nice to see some of the original features of the building had been maintained such as the metal supports and the beautiful staircase. Would we go again? If we could get a deal, maybe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissericsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Property: ABode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing