We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best southern fried chicken in town”

Dixy Chicken - Fallowfield
Ranked #1,604 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Chorlton
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best southern fried chicken in town”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Only ever ordered chicken from here so can only base my review on this (and various side dishes). When the chicken has come straight out the fryer, this place is hands down my favourite take out for chicken in the entire Greater Manchester area, so although highly priced, represents your best value for money. If you want only certain types of chicken pieces in your order (eg. drumsticks only) they'll happily oblige. Very clean place too. The spicy chicken strips and chicken bites are so moreish, a must try for any SFC lover.

Only let down is the quality of the sides, the fries especially never anything better than average. Furthermore, as there Dixy brand has been franchised elsewhere, there are other branches available in the city centre for example. Can not vouch for the new one on Deansgate as I haven't been, but the one in the Northern Quarter is a really poor imitation of the one in Chorlton. Chorlton or bust!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingofspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Over rated Avoid and go KFC in the same price..”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This dixy is over rated and sells food which is expensive and at par with prices to KFC but lacks in quality.

The pizza i tried there last week was smelling as the grounded beef was off or expired. Upon complaining the assistant said it looks fine to him but than on my insisting he swapped it with a chicken one whixh was just ok.

Their burger meals are same price compare to KFC but lacks the same quality and quantity.

For that reason just avoid this place unless u wAnt a mini fillet burger for a pound which is good there. The rest is all crap and over priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asif9211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WORST CHICKEN EVER!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ordered from Dixy chicken for the forth time again with disappointing food. The service was absolutley rubbish, did not give the customers attention and would rather talk between themselves which was very rude. I ordered a family bucket where the chips were cold and you could tell they had been left out for quite a while. We had also ordered gravy and they had given us beans instead! We were only given 1 sachet of tomato ketchup for 5 of us and were not given tissues either! Out of the 8 pieces of chicken 3 were freezing, and the rest were crap. Not happy with the service at all and will never be going back ever again! Would not recommend at all! Ahmed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank khurshid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ordered a takeout.. never ever again!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

ordered a take out from dixy chicken today.. the pizza was sickning and some toppings missing i also ordered a apple pie which turned out to be dougnuts which i dont eat, they could have told me atlest they didnt have any left, when i rang back said they didnt have any so they give me dougnuts.. the mini fillet burger was under cooked.. still alittle pink inside... a total waste of money.. only thing they got right was the can of diet coke and the chicken breast.... binned the leaflet.. good value if you like sickning cheap food... i live on the curry mile in manchester and thought id try some were diffrent

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank naz_00786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dixy chicken chorlton cun hardy”
Reviewed December 2, 2008

chicken is really good better then other places worth a try because they know what they are doing very clean and hyginac.

Helpful?
1 Thank foodmasterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixy Chicken - Fallowfield also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Dixy Chicken - Fallowfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing