We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Market Restaurant - CLOSED

Market Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At The Market Restaurant we place an accent on the quality of our ingredients rather than the length of our menu. All preparation of food and cooking is done here on the premises. We avoid convenience pre frozen, pre packed and synthetic products wherever we can and use fresh wholesome foods cooking them in ways that lose as little of their nutrients and flavour as is possible. Wherever possible we source our ingredients from local producers and suppliers. Some guests get it immediately, others unfortunately don't. Our reward is in those guests who recognise the results of our efforts and return again and again.
Bolton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived at the Market restaurant for lunch yesterday having booked by phone last Friday evening. When we arrived it was obvious that we weren't expected- clearly the girl who had taken our booking had failed to enter the reservation. There was no problem securing a table- we were the only diners in the restaurant. The problem centred round the fact that, because no diners were expected for lunch, some of the options were not ready. To our disappointment these included the lamb- the very item that we had seen on the internet menu and that we were all hoping to order. The waiter agreed that this was unfortunate and promised to deal with the girl concerned.When the owner appeared at the end of our meal he also agreed that the girl's mistake was a training issue. He went on to say that, as we had finished, it was too late to offer us a drink on the house by way of apopogy. As a matter of fact, we didn't think it was too late at all- we felt a glass of wine then or at least the promise of one on our next visit would have be a very appropriate apology for our being deprived of the dish of our choice.All in all, the food was good but not exceptional.We would not consider the meal to be worth £18 for two courses especially as no extras were offered- not even bread.We did enjoy the occasion but that was because of the company of friends rather than the food or the ambiance of the restaurant.With so many good restaurants in the area offering more reasonably priced menus with equally good food I doubt whether we'll visit the Market restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    33
    26
    23
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“3 stars restaurant !”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very nice staff, good wine selection and excellent food. A restaurant which could/should get the 3 stars from the famous "Guide Michelin".

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francois Franki... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great fresh produces”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to the Market with my partner for St Valentin. The food was very well prepared, nice fresh produces and friendly staff. It is a bit on the pricey side but worth it for a special occasion. The waiter was helpful and knew the produces very well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jyv2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on A Friday night in January. Used the Taste Card fantastic experience really to be recommended. The waiter was friendly and helpful we will return soon. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Visiting old haunts is a mistake!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had such fond memories of this charming restaurant having visited it on many occasions some 20 years ago, a pioneer of the spirit of the Northern Quarter before it became popular. The food is still good but no longer exceptional. The prices no longer reflect ones expectation of the quality!! Cold food is not acceptable - certainly not when a premium is being charged.
The waiters were charming but the service was poor - we had to ask a minimum of three times for salt, butter, water, the bill and our coats (we finally gave up and found our own coats!!). They suddenly became attentive when we asked them for a break before we chose deserts asking several times if we had made our minds up yet.
It didnt help that the table next to us (within elbow distance) were obviously regulars who were loudly welcomed with free drinks, were lavished with free nibbles, constant attention, free vegetables and loudly were told that they had been given a 25% discount. Even the security guards kniocking on the window were given free coffee!!!
To add insult to injury a service charge of 10% was noted as discretionary but was automatically applied. Given that we were only a table of two this was a little suprising.
They didnt make us feel welcome as new customers revisting an old haunt and we wouldnt go back.
We expected better!!! Average isn't good enough ofr the price we paid.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WifeMotherSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing