We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful food!”

Chaophraya Manchester
Ranked #78 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beatiful food!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This restaurant is expensive..!! In it's favour however, is the fact that dishes you may have had before, are served with a different twist, and certainly an impressive presentation style. We dined on a weeknight, and it was still busy. Service was attentive, and menu quite extensive. Would dfinately recommend, but price dictates it may be for special occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    478
    191
    90
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great salmon”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Wonderful starters and huge portions for the main course, quite pricy but is central Manchester, will be back for another visit soon

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Customer644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Birthday visit for two”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We visited the restaurant on the 26th October '13. The restaurant is well decorated and looks very up market. We were escorted to the bar by a hostess to have a drink until our table was ready. We had not even managed to be served when she came back to escort us to the table. Our table was upstairs, which was very busy, something which you would expect from a good restaurant. We ordered from the set menu, which arrived within a few minutes. The food was very very good, with there being too much than we could actually eat. The set meal prices started at £28.50 which is not bad at all. We have had worse food at other restaurants and paid a lot more. The only downside to Chaophraya Manchester is that it was too noisy, it really killed the atmosphere for a romantic meal for two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingham743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

There's always been something a little bit special about Chaophraya, as unlike the majority of Thai or "Asian-fusion" restaurants in Manchester, which either look dated or 'hip but casual', this place has upmarket decor, authentically dressed and smiling staff and a fantastic ambience - bustling but never rowdy or 'echoey'. Review site Manchester Confidential claimed it gone downhill when they last reviewed it in 2011, accusing it of pandering to the mass market and selling hideous-sounding hybrid cuisine like Yorkshire-puddings filled with Thai sauces! Luckily they seem to have taken the hint and restored the original, authentic Thai focus! I ordered a starter of steamed dumplings, which were fine if a little bit cold, and a Chicken Pad Thai - a little bit on the sweet side I felt but still very tasty, full of variety and a good-sized portion. My partner had sweetcorn cakes, which were delicious (I pinched one!) and plentiful followed by Thai red prawn curry and jasmine rice, which must have extremely good as he's not a big eater but devoured what was a very large portion! He did say he thoroughly enjoyed it, and prawns are always a highlight at Chaophraya - bigger and juicier than I have seen elsewhere. The wine selection was great, a very nice sauvignon blanc was selected, and reasonably priced too, the service prompt and courteous and it was good to see that the traditional Thai costume and drum-banging routine, prompting applause from most of the restaurant, is still in full force for birthday celebrations!
My only comment would be that the starters are possibly a little bit overpriced for what they are (almost £8 for a handful of dumplings I felt was a little steep) and they were a little stingy with tap water, providing only single glasses rather than a jug! However, this is not somewhere you would necessarily visit often and as such the price is worth paying for the special ambience and warmth of the place, as well as the competently-executed food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartinmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Flavours , Rich Taste and Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited Chaophraya last night and was looking forward to a feast of tasty Thai food and boy did they deliver , I ordered the Pork Rib starter which tasted like heaven , they had lots meat on the bone and the sauce was extra sticky and rich , yum yum.

For the main I ordered the Pla Song Pee Nong (Duo of Fish) it was a Sea Bass & Cod Fillet combination drizzled in Panang sauce with Cashew nuts which was very tasty.

I didn't have room for pudding but overall it was a great experience and the staff were very friendly un-like most restaurants in Manchester !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyrusKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chaophraya Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing