We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive for what it is”

Chaophraya - Manchester
Ranked #66 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Went as a couple, had the £35.50 set menu for 2.

Table wasn't ready, bar area small but somehow they still managed to lose us!

Tables cramped together in a small space, tables also not big enough to contain all the food ordered!

Food was very ordinary, shall try Chinatown next time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsgrowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback . We offer a variety of menus on an evening including our pre-theatre menu which is 2 courses and a drink for £15, this is available from 5- 7pm (Monday - Friday) We hope to see you back soon. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    467
    187
    86
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Central location in Manchester & the service is good swell as good food. However portions are quite small, but love the fruit cocktails.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback . We are glad that you enjoyed our Cocktails and we take all feedback seriously, I will pass this onto the relative manager. We hope to see you back soon. Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not in Manchesters top ten.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went in 2011 & thought it was first class. After going this week I found it changed badly.

The service was shocking & waited over 50 minutes for our course & I had to ask for drinks. A wripped & dirty menu was presented. Food would have been ample in a buffet were you pay nothing & eat lots.

Seriously expensive & the bill was wrong on arrival.

A real shame & I would not return if it was free !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 128andy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you Andrew for your feedback. I know you spoke to a Manager on the evening in question, it was busy and you didn’t want to make a fuss in front of your girlfriend so the Manager gave you the email address to contact us. We received your email asking us about how we felt regarding the issues you raised and a satisfactory solution. We promptly responded back to your email on the 18th February, I sincerely apologise if you did not receive this. If you can contact me directly on corbie.vince@chaophraya.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food is authentic and the staff are very helpful considering how busy the place gets. The food is reasonably priced but we think the drinks are OTT - especially the by the glass wine prices.

All in all a good night out but make sure you book.

Helpful?
Thank nellya377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed our restaurant. We take all feedback seriously and I will pass this onto the owners that you think the drinks are over priced. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere,Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Good Thai restaurant in the heart of manchester city centre.
Bar area and choice of beers,cocktails very good, Barman is a laugh :)
Atmosphere is good and the food is very good.
I would say between £30-£50 with drinks average bill.
I will be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark20100102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed our restaurant. We do offer a variety of menus on an evening including our pre-theatre menu which is 2 courses and a drink for £15, this is available from 5- 7pm (Monday - Friday) We hope to see you back soon. Tor is the name of the bar man. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chaophraya - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing