We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality Thai in central Manchester”

Chaophraya Manchester
Ranked #165 of 2,420 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The thing that makes CP work for me isn't just the food, which on all levels is standard Thai - good enough - but the decor & staff - plus a really handy central location.

Portions might be larger and/or less expensive, but y'know - everything's a compromise, and as long as I know we can get a chicken green curry, veg red curry, beef massaman, poh pia, sticky rice, som tam I'm in the frame...

Part of a burgeoning national chain which has expanded really quickly I remember heading here years ago after it first opened in Manchester, and I have to say that thankfully the 'brand' has skilfully avoided the cookie cutter approach on a theme unlike say Nandos, which I now view as just another fast food joint.

Each CP venue is very thoughtfully laid out & beautifully presented with food for the eyes, not just the belly, which is why I guess there were several lovey-dovey couples about as well as regulars and keen walk-ins.

Whilst some of the menu might not satisfy the hardcore Khao San Road or jungle curry aficionados, CP tries v hard to please, and so should be applauded there...

Good food, (if menu not a bit hackneyed - or is that just me?!), great atmosphere & lovely staff... It's probably all you want in a Thai restaurant in central Manchester isn't it?

Well, it was for me...

http://chaophraya.co.uk/venues/chaophraya-manchester/

Khap khun kha!

ps - (Whilst I'm on the subject, please DO avoid any of those dire ethnically-schizo Chinatown Manchester restaurants purporting to offer 'Chinese, Thai & Indian' all on one menu... you're asking for a culinary disaster there, if you didn't know already lol!)

1  Thank Mankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank-you for your in-depth review. It is great to hear that you have been dinning with us since the beginning and we are very happy that you enjoy what we do at Chaophraya. We hope to see you back in the near future. Thanks Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,548 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited at the weekend and would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone!
The food was fantastic! all of it!
We had the set menu for £40 (so we had variants on our normal dishes) and they were all superbly cooked with excellent ingredients, the portions were of a good size but not overbearing, just enough to leave a little on the plate ;-)
the overall meal and drinks came to around £90 for 2 persons, but we did opt for the scallops, king prawns and steak etc so would expect it to be higher, other pricing on the a la carte menu were also respectable and not overpriced.
Its a thumbs up from us !

Visited May 2011

Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank-you for your in-depth review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Chaophraya and that you really enjoyed the £40 Set menu. We hope to see you back in the near future. Thanks, Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Visited with my partner in January 2013. Thought it was really authentic inside, service was really good! Guys at the bar were quick and friendly. The food came really quick and was great quality. Can't really fault the place! Recommend trying at least one cocktail!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hi Mathew, thank-you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Chaophraya and the authenticity of the restaurant. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks, Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Took some colleagues with me, they were new to the restaurant I had been to their sister restaurant in Glasgow>

Had a faultless dinner, great service and very good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris4232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank-you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Chaophraya and you had a faultless dinner. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks, Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were in Manchester for three weeks and visited here three times during our stay. The food was perfect with a good atmosphere, and we also enjoyed the Yum lager on tap. On our second visit we ate from the pre theatre menu.

Cant really fault the place.

You have to book for this restaurant though, as it was always busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StephenScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbie V, General Manager at Chaophraya Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hi Stephen, thank-you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Chaophraya and the Pre-theatre menu. We hope to see you back in the near future. Thanks, Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chaophraya Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing