We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A highlight of our trip"”
Review of The Chance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chance
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved staying at "The Chance." Several months before we came we emailed back and forth with Sally who was always so prompt and helpful in her replies, not only about the B&B, but also giving us detailed information about the area which helped us decide to forgo renting a car. (She also linked us to a local driver, Barry Roberts, who gave us a fine 2 hour tour of places we couldn't reach by walking or bus.) Sally made us feel welcome and completely at home from the moment we arrived until the moment we left (4 nights there.) She sent us off in the mornings smiling after her delicious, made-to-order breakfasts, armed with suggestions of things to do in town, nice walks, brochures, bus info etc. One day when she learned we were going to Stratford-on-Avon she thoughtfully gave us a two-for-one coupon for visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage and gardens. (If there weren't so many attractions to explore, I expect we would have been perfectly happy hanging out with Sally all day. She is so friendly and fun.) The room (Hidcote) was spacious, spotless, tasteful, and comfortable (good beds!) Every need was anticipated down to the smallest detail (little sewing kit, for example) and the shower was the best of our three week trip around England (and southern France). Sally is a one-woman Chamber of Commerce for Chipping Campden and for good reason. She is rightly proud of this delightful village with its market town and Arts and Crafts history. I'd love to come back someday and rent the new self catering "Crafty Cottage" Sally and Paul are creating in town. We watched its progress while we were there, and it's going to be lovely. I'd miss Sally's good company and great breakfasts though! ( But then, Badger's Tea Room is just down the street...)

Room Tip: The lovely Hidcote room is separate from the main house. Very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurelAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were so fortunate to be able to stay with Sally at the Chance. In addition to the wonderful accommodations and food, she was very helpful with travel tips in the area and made our dinner reservations in advance! Both she and her husband Paul were very supportive and understanding when we had to leave early to return home due to a family illness. We couldn't have hoped for more wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Sally will give you the best room she has available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the very first e-mail to Sally at The Chance B&B I knew that she would be friendly and lovely and she definitely is in person. I was happy to have met her and stayed at her lovely B&B. The Campden room was perfect and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with big fluffy towels. Our visit to Chipping Campden was our vacation away from our vacation and it was truly a nice place to visit and staying at Sally's was a huge part of it. Also her English Breakfast's, they're the best! There is a large offering of fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee; my husband said her coffee was the best during our entire trip! Thank you Sally, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Stayed in Campden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyandBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Chance is a Chipping Campden treasure. We stayed in the quiet and restful Campden Room which features a very comfortable bed and a far larger than average bathroom with a nice shower/tub combination. The scrumptious omelets made the breakfasts the best we had in England. But what really sets The Chance apart is Sally Galvin and the special attention she pays to her guests. Two examples: When we mentioned we wanted to walk to the Hidcote Manor Garden, Sally not only gave us a brochure with a 2 for 1 coupon (saving us 9.50 pounds) but also armed us with two booklets outlining local walks and two detailed maps to help us get there and back. And when she discovered the cord used to recharge our tablet computer in our room after we left, she contacted us by e-mail, mailed it to our house in the U.S., and refused any payment. She is a very special lady who went well above and beyond the normal role of a b&b host.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved our stay! Sandy is an outstanding proprietor. Recommended some very good pubs and restaurants. She also helped us with our touring plans. She loaned us a map that was very helpful. Sandy even made reservations for us at a great restaurant due to the popularity of the place and the timing.

Food was great! Full English was outstanding. Porridge was good. Sandy even cooked up an omelet for me which was awesome!

We stayed in the Aston room. Room size was good. Not large, but also not too small.

Very good location within an easy walk of the town center. Off street parking! Very pretty area. Nice location to use as a base for exploring the Cotswolds.

There is a computer in the living area that guests can use. Very helpful!

In general, I highly recommend The Chance B&B!

Room Tip: Reserve early! Loved the Aston room. Not large, but also not too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDiming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Four of us stayed at The Chance during the Easter Weekend. Even before we got there, Sally sent us a detailed email about things to do and recommended restaurants in the area. Any dietary requirements were also discussed.
When we arrived Sally made us feel at home straight away. She offered us tea and had even baked a cake which was delicious! We had booked two double rooms which were gorgeous with all the amenities. The bed was soo comfortable.
Sally gave us lots of ideas on where to go and what to see in and around Chipping campden. The house is less than a 10 min stroll to the Main Street.

The breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B&B. what a spread! We had breakfast in the
conservatory dining area which is beautifully done. We had a choice of tropical fruits, cereals, yogurts and cooked breakfast. The omelette was delicious and the portions were huge. Even my husband struggled and he can eat A lot!

All in all it was a wonderful stay with a lovely host and we would most definitely recommend staying at the Chance.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My boyfriend treated me to a beautiful weekend in the cotswolds, and he could not have chosen a better place to stay! Sally is so welcoming and keeps a stunning home. I simply love this place and would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. I just hope that one day I can own a home just as beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbieLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chipping Campden hotels
0.4 mi away
Badgers Hall
Badgers Hall
#13 of 28 in Chipping Campden
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Norton Grounds
Norton Grounds
#5 of 28 in Chipping Campden
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eight Bells Inn
Eight Bells Inn
#4 of 28 in Chipping Campden
177 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Seagrave Arms
The Seagrave Arms
#14 of 28 in Chipping Campden
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Volunteer Inn
The Volunteer Inn
#16 of 28 in Chipping Campden
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chance

Address: 1 Aston Road, Chipping Campden GL55 6HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $101 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Chance" is a family home offering traditional Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the beautiful town of Chipping Campden. Built in 1921 of Cotswold stone quarried from the surrounding hills and situated less than a 10 minute walk from the centre of one of the most beautiful and interesting high streets in the North Cotswolds. Guests are guaranteed off road parking, free wi-fi and comfortable guest accommodation, both with private ensuite facilities. We offer 2 spacious guest bedrooms, both with super king size (US King)or Twin Beds on request. Breakfasts are traditionally English with locally sourced ingredients cooked to order. Any specific diet requirements catered for with prior knowledge. Laundry facilities are available & guests are welcome to borrow local road & footpath maps. Help is also available with cycle hire arranging Car Hire or Cotswold Tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chance Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing