We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely B & B with welcoming hosts”
Review of The Chance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chance
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really lovely B & B with welcoming hosts”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We spent one night at the Chance. The owner, Sally was very warm and welcoming, and immediately put us at ease. She brought us delicious homemade mince pies, still warm from the oven, within minutes of us arriving. The Chance is lovely, peaceful, beautifully presented house with interesting ornaments everywhere. Sally's full English Breakfast was delicious, and somehow not too oily. It was even served with fried bread.

The house is just 5 mins drive or a short walk from the village. The
driveway easily accomodated our car. We stayed in the Broadway Room which was wonderful, absolutely spotless, with plenty of thoughtful touches like flannels, luxuriously thick towels and two robes in the bathroom. The water pressure is very high in the shower, just like a 5 star hotel! Very warm room, easily opened windows.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iphoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
137
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in The Cotswolds. The Chance, Chipping Campden was our base and we could not have picked a better one. The rooms and house were immaculate, quiet location a few minutes walk from the centre, the food excellent but best of all was warmth and hospitality of our hosts. They also have a 3 legged cat but we didn't see much of him unfortunately.

We were extremely lucky to be the only guests, breakfast was delicious and more than generous. We ate so well in the evenings that we struggled to take advantage of it. Chipping Campden was a good base for us to visit Broadway etc but we came back to the village to eat and we recommend Joules (French restaurant) and The Eight Bells for food.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed by any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked this B&B as it was close to town and we were not disappointed. Sally was very welcoming and she looked after us really well.Breakfast was a feast to behold... lovely fresh fruit to start followed by a choice of cereals and an amazing cooked breakfast.
We went out for a lovely long walk and returned to find a homemade chocolate cake waiting for us....perfect. The room was lovely and Chipping Campden is a great place to visit as it is very pretty and full of really nice pubs/bars and restaurants.We will definately return as we really enjoyed ourselves and felt pampered.Thanks Sally.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed at The Chance with friends for a weekend; could not fault the effort that the hostess Sally put in to make our stay as comfortable as possible .. Rooms were spotless & the breakfast kept us all going until tea time ..
Chipping Campden is itself a charming town, one of the most picturesque I have been to & I would certainly recommend both The Chance & Chipping Campden as a place to stay & visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Sally and her husband have created a warm and inviting home away from home for travelers. Prior to our arrival Sally answered numerous questions about the area and put us in touch with a driver for one day of our stay. She also made dinner reservations for us.

We stayed in the Broadway room which was perfectly cozy. We appreciated the MANY personal touches such as robes, fresh flowers, DVD library, bottled water, wash cloths, Taylor of London toiletries,etc.

We relied on public transportation to get to Chipping Campden and the B&B was a comfortable 15 minute walk to town (which is no problem when the weather is good).

Their home and our room was tastefully decorated. We had an extremely comfortable bed.

Sally was accommodating to our schedule and served us daily a piping hot breakfast that was filling and had satisfying vegetarian options.

Upon our departure Sally sent us off with a packed lunch for our train ride to York.

We are so pleased with our selection of this B&B. Thank you Sally for all the special things you did just for us. Your kindness will long be remembered.

Last tip: strongly encourage dinner reservations at ANY spot in town; we saw many people turned away at Eight Bells ad Michael's.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirstytoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I can only reiterate what most posters have written, and that this is an absolutely fantastic B&B. From my earliest email communication with Sally, she has gone above and beyond my expectations. She sent me a list of places to eat and booked us in for the first evening, and also on subsequent evenings. She provided a map and ideas for touring the area and always enquirer how our day had been.
Then of course the breakfast each morning was extensive and delicious - there was even vegemite for us Aussies.
We had the Campden room, as I specifically wanted a bath. Both the bathroom and bedroom were well provisioned, with everything you could possibly require, even a clothes brush and torch. The bed was comfortable, the toiletries high quality and the provisions included not only tea, coffee and hot chocolate, but bottled water as well.
One thing we really appreciated was how well lit the outside of the house was at night. It was easy to see when returning in the dark.
I really cannot say enough good things about The Chance. It is an absolutely first rate establishment, and I only hope that the rest of the B&Bs we've booked on this trip are at least half as good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonlady2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Sally was terrific, meeting us at the door and having her family help with luggage. Near the door were fresh baked cookies and cakes. Our small room (front 2nd floor) had a desk/dressing table, chair, and well-appointments. The ensuite bathroom was very small but had cubbies everywhere stuffed with towels, wash cloths, hand towels, soaps, etc. Sally had menues and recommendations for many local restaurants. Parking area in front of house, while the owners parked on the side or rear, for the convenience of their guests. The only negative was the lack of a lounge or sitting parlor. Only the dining room was available for that purpose.

Room Tip: Small room, clean, warm and fuzzy! 2nd floor, front room right is largest. 2nd floor, 2nd room on le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maries66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.4 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
682 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#2 of 28 in Chipping Campden
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chance

Property: The Chance
Address: 1 Aston Road, Chipping Campden GL55 6HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Chance" is a family home offering traditional Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the beautiful town of Chipping Campden. Built in 1921 of Cotswold stone quarried from the surrounding hills and situated less than a 10 minute walk from the centre of one of the most beautiful and interesting high streets in the North Cotswolds. Guests are guaranteed off road parking, free wi-fi and comfortable guest accommodation, both with private ensuite facilities. We offer 2 spacious guest bedrooms, both with super king size (US King)or Twin Beds on request. Breakfasts are traditionally English with locally sourced ingredients cooked to order. Any specific diet requirements catered for with prior knowledge. Laundry facilities are available & guests are welcome to borrow local road & footpath maps. Help is also available with cycle hire arranging Car Hire or Cotswold Tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chance Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing