We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A proper pub in a town of smart 'hotels'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A proper pub in a town of smart 'hotels'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Chipping Campden has many places to eat and drink, many of them smart and advertising themselves as hotels, with associated prices. If however you are looking for a friendly, relaxed old-fashioned pub, with decent pubby food, a warm welcome and relaxed service, then the Red Lion should suit you. The warm bar area is comfortable, and there is also a back bar accessible from the sunny garden. The pub is dog and walker friendly, welcome in this area, and served good beer and good enough food, which is unpretentious, hot, tasty and filling. We ate fish and chips and smoked haddock fish cakes with new potatoes and fresh, well-cooked vegetables. The pub also offers rooms, and I have spent one night there a couple of years ago, which was comfortable and convenient. Any alarming noises you might hear from upstairs are just the talkative and versatile resident African Grey parrot, so don't be put off!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AHardToPleaseGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    82
    29
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice to be able to order as little or as much as you want on a Sunday lunch. Only wanted a snack as we were eating dinner later and was not frownd upon for not ordering a Sunday roast.
Staff very friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grahamn775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Welcomes muddy boots!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Having just enjoyed a circular walk taking in Broad Campden, Paxford and Ebrington, we arrived in Chipping Campden and were keen to find a bite to eat. Walking along the high street, we noticed the sign outside the Red Lion saying muddy boots welcome and knew this must be the place for us!

Entering the flagstone bar with real fire, we were shown to a table by the friendly staff and ordered Lamb Shank and home made fish cakes. Whilst we'd expected standard pub grub, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. And the sticky toffee pudding with real vanilla ice cream was especially good. Washed down with IPA beer. Very friendly staff made it an enjoyable stop before we prepared for our final trek back to Broad Campden.

Helpful?
Thank RichardT187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We sat by the fire which was lovely as it was freezing outside. We both ordered beef Sunday roast and it was delicious . 2 big pieces of meat, roast potatoes , mash, 2 Yorkshire puddings, plenty of gravy and selection of veg to share. The lady even noticed the fire was going out and added more logs. Lovely pub atmosphere, staff very attentive. Great value for money would have loved to sample pudding but could not fit it in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 242HAB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Red Lion, Chipping Campden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Warm, very welcoming Public House. The family run Pub offers a good Menu of plain home cooking. Bed & Breakfast is available.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing