We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Poor service, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cotswold Grill

The Cotswold Grill
Price range: $11 - $65
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the luxurious Cotswold House in the centre of Chipping Campden, The Cotswold Grill is the hub of the hotel, serving drinks and meals throughout the day. The more laidback sister of the elegant Dinning Room, The Cotswold Grill boasts the same kitchen team, under the expert guidance of Head Chef Dave Watts, winner of the Good Food Guide Chef to Watch Award. The Cotswold Grill has its own street entrance, an open fire and bar, and a separate area for private dining overlooking the stunning glass sculpture. The epicentre of The Cotswold Grills chic and contemporary decor is the sweeping bar, which is the perfect place to read the papers and enjoy a cocktail or coffee before sitting down for your meal.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Basic menu with pretty average food. When you get over charged and then under charged you feel like you are doing them a favour by pointing it all out, and being honest. I would not eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    39
    25
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate at the Grill during our stay at the hotel and overall enjoyed the food and experience. We had mains and dessert and both my wife and I enjoyed it. My only negative comment is the decor seems a little tired and could do with a face lift to give it a more impressive feel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank welshwaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsclere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not supposed to be a fast food restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went here as part of a package with the Cotswold House Hotel, within which the Grill resides. We had an acceptable meal from a menu that was brief but interesting and fairly priced though the steaks at £25 were on the high side. The steak was good as was the sea bass.
The only down side was we felt we were being rushed through the meal with staff constantly trying to move us on to the next phase!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The waiting staff was very attentive and presentation of the food lovely. We had burgers and fish and chips, which were good, but not great. Still, the atmosphere and staff made up for it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate here after the day at Cheltenham races. The food was superb and the service without fault. Nice wine list and all in congenial surroundings with open log fire

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NettyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cotswold Grill also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Cotswold Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing