We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings

Kings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ashford Middx
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From when we booked to the last sip of coffee the service was great. Even though the restauant was full the service was good, the food hot and of a high standard.
Not cheap but good for the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hongkongandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Bistro @ The Kings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate in the Bistro section of the Kings. Smart pleasantly appointed area with an attractive bar, which seemed popular. It was a Friday night so the Bistro, despite it being early, was quite busy. We opted for the Friday Night Fish and Chips, which includes a small glass of wine, a small beer or a soft drink. The wine was good quality for a house wine. Decent portion of fish in rather too much batter served with a tasty pot of pea purée. Hand cut chips which were poor, slightly under cooked inside, a touch greasy and definitely not crisp. Not rocket science these days to serve good chips, so this was disappointing hence the lower rating. Other than the chips the meal was good value for money. Service efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A cold night in Chipping Campden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently I had to travel with colleagues to an urgent meeting in Chipping Campden. Our hotel was cold and cheerless so we decided to eat at the Kings Hotel in the middle of the town. As we walked in from falling snow, we were warmly greeted and ushered smoothly into the restaurant. The menu is always interesting here and that night was no exception. After very filling starters, I opted for the cod with leek risotto and unusually a braised beef jus.This really worked extremely well. My colleagues tried the lamb which looked equally delicious. With a good bottle of wine to hand,the evening passed very quickly and by the end of the meal we were extremely mellow.
What a pity we hadn't been able to stay at the Kings in the first place. If there is a next time you can be sure we will be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
584 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and myself were visiting Chipping Campden and decided to have the lunchtime special (2 course £12.50 3 course £16.50)at The Kings in the bar section.
I had the Smoked Mackerel Pate,Smoked Salmon Rillets,Horseradish Coleslaw and Watercress for starter followed by Fillet of Salmon,Saffron Linguine and Wild Rocket and finished with Apple Frangipane Tart with Clotted Cream.
My wife started with Sauted Chicken Livers and Confit Wings,Bread Sauce and Crispy Capers then Roasted Vegetable Tian,Butternut Squash Puree and Beetroot Arancini for main course and finished with dessert of Assiette of chocolate,Tart,brownie and Mousse.

We found the lunch most enjoyable and would visit the Kings again when in the area

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Sunday Lunch well executed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After a surfeit of turkey, my wife and I were in the mood for a good old fashioned Sunday roast.
We hadn't been to Chipping Campden for a while and had had a very good dinner at The Kings previously - so we thought we would try their Sunday lunch.
The restaurant is a long rectangular room with open fires at both ends. The Christmas decorations were not overdone and in keeping with the decor. The seating is comfortable and the centrepiece of the room is a curved wooden pew type structure which seats two or three people.
The set lunch was under £20 for three courses with a choice of four for each course.
We both opted for Seafood Chowder to start (warm bread preceded it) and, although not the biggest portion, it was very good. As it happened, a smaller portion was a blessing given the size of the main.
Eschewing the Roast Leg of Lamb, the Pollock and the Vegetarian option, we both opted for the Roast Ribeye of Beef cooked medium rare - three beautifully cooked slices of excellent beef arrived accompanied by potatoes roasted in duck fat, greens, red cabbage, cauliflower cheese and an enormous Yorkshire pudding brimming with gravy. It was first rate and made a third course impossible.
Service was also very good and I'm sure we will return...

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRGSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing