We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what the Doctor Ordered!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Studio

The Old Studio showing a glimpse of the sunny dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Studio showing a glimpse of the sunny dining area
Dining table Chairs in the living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Old Studio showing a glimpse of the sunny dining area
Dining table
Chairs in the living area
Living area
The old pine sideboard hides a 40' flatscreen freeview TV and dvd, book and board game library
Kitchen dining area
Fresh coffee & locally baked croissants in your welcome hamper
Drawers and vases
Shelf details
Lemons and limes
Bath and shower rooms
Kingsize bedroom
Bedroom chair
Kingsize bed
East Banqueting House and St. James Church, Chipping Campden.
Bathroom detail
Landing
Twin bedroom
Twin room
Flowers
Sunny landing area between the two bedrooms
House front
The Cotswold Way starts in Chipping Campden and follows the Cotswold escarpment all the way to Bath
Chipping Campden High Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thetravel...
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
1 review
“Just what the Doctor Ordered!”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I truly could write a novel about everything we loved about the Cotswolds. Staying at the Old studio was the perfect location to go out and explore or to rest and enjoy the countryside! We felt as if we lived there. Helen and Michael were wonderful and made us feel as if we had friends in town. A very nice feeling when you're far away from home. Helen made herself available for all of our questions and assisted us when we needed to seek medical care during our journey. We felt safe & taken care of. Not to mention the cottage itself is spacious, very well equipped and check out the views from the windows! You will not be disappointed when staying here! It was perfection. Make sure to make dinner reservations in advance for most of the pubs in town, they fill up fast. Lygon arms was our favorite! Thank you again! Oh, and don't forget to check out Sarah's deli for pastries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Antoinette - we loved meeting you! So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a safe journey home. Best wishes Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
341billie...
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This little studio inn Chipping Campden was well located to explore the area. It was a short walk to the high street with some good pubs.The studio itself was comfortable but little things let it down. Unstable kitchen table, wobbly kitchen chairs and I don't do a lot of self catering but 3 toilet rolls for 2 people for 5 days is inadequate. Dishwasher cubes provided but no laundry powder. Odd supply of kitchen utensils i.e., no tongs. The boiler, if on at night was directly under the main bedroom and was noisy. Freezer in the bathroom????? The music speaker system is one with a fitting for an iPod/phone which haven't existed for some timed therefore unusable. The parking was OK but occasionally a tight squeeze trying to get in beside the other 2 cars.The welcome hamper was Ok, some milk, waitrose croissants, jam and butter. Helen very nice and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Hi Libby
I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with some elements of your stay.
I'd like to address each point for the benefit of future guests.
Thank you for drawing our attention to the wobbly table and chairs. The table is new and the slate floor is slightly uneven so it just needed repositioning slightly to not wobble. Thanks for also letting us know about the chairs - we will certainly get them looked at as some of the joints are a bit loose and we apologise for the inconvenience.
Reference the washing powder and toilet rolls we said hello to you on quite a few occassions and would have been more than happy to provide you with additional toilet rolls and washing powder if we'd known of your requirements. We have also been very happy to share our tumble dryer for those who need it.
Our kitchen is often complimented for being well equipped. So I checked to see where the tongs were. You are quite right there were no tongs. A previous guest must have taken them by accident so thanks for pointing that out and we will certainly replace them.
The cottage is very warm & cosy so it would be very unusual to need the boiler on through the night when you are in bed.
The freezer is in the understairs cupboard the door of which is accessed from the shower room. We thought it was more important to have plenty of space in the kitchen dining area and hide the freezer away because most people only need occasional access.
Good point about the ipod speaker - time for an upgrade.
Parking is always a bit of an issue in the Cotswolds - it is a symptom of living closely to neighbours and being in a popular tourist destination.
Sorry that you didnt think much of the welcome hamper. You should have had waitrose croissants, organic milk, nice strawberry jam, butter, freshly squeezed orange juice and some nice biscuits. Please let me kow if you didn't get them - that would have been my responsibility and maybe I was having a senile moment!
Thanks for your comments and I hope you enjoyed visiting Chipping Campden
Best wishes Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRNH
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean and perfect for our family of four”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great place to stay with easy walk to the shops and pubs. We chose several different ways into town past beautiful homes and lovely gardens. Amazing views out the second floor windows (this comment from my 12 year old) We had everything we needed and appreciated the welcome basket of breakfast items from the hosts, as we arrived late on the first night. The cottage was very clean, beds were comfortable and we appreciated the on site parking. We never needed the car to explore the town. Chipping Campden proved to be the perfect town to stay in. A little quieter than other towns we explored. Many great walks on public footpaths and the Cotswold Way. Great food and extremely friendly people at the Tourist Information and businesses we visited.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We feel very lucky to live in such a beautiful place and it's always lovely to hear that our guests think it's a special place too! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! Best wishes Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally70Ke...
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful & cozy retreat”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Very well equipped self catering retreat. Directions were spot on and a lovely welcome back of milk, butter, croissants, jam, orange juice and biscuits were delivered by the owner Michael who was happy to recommend places and give directions to get to the town. Parking was immediately next to the studio and the great location meant it was only a 5 minute walk into town and perfectly located to visit other Cotswold villages. Everything worked, the kitchen was well equipped, the bed comfortable and the front room cozy. I loved the decoration of the bathroom and shower room with the fantastic rain shower. It was so peaceful and had a lovely view from the upstairs. If you want a centrally located, quiet, well equipped place to stay this is perfect. Thank you Michael & Helen we will definitely come back if we visit Chipping Campden again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Hi Sally
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to welcome you back! Best wishes Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

So comfy warm and cosy-high quality linens and towels-better than photos on here. Beds so comfy-just what we needed before the Christmas madness. Nearby Cotswold villages all gussied up for Christmas. Lovely! Would like to come back in spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room
Liked least: The pans
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Best wishes Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollygasc...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cotswolds cottage”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A beautiful little cottage, which has been decorated to a very high standard with everything you need. It was an ideal place for a relaxing family holiday with a travel cot and stairgate provided. I would 100% recommend to anyone visiting the Cotswolds. Thank you very much for a much enjoyed stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Only sorry we weren't around to welcome you personally - maybe next time?! ; )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet property with off street parking.
Liked least: All to our satisfaction
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing