We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Popfosters Barn

The Barn from the outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn from the outside
The South facing private garden Main Bedroom with a view of the garden and meadow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Barn from the outside
The South facing private garden
Main Bedroom with a view of the garden and meadow
Popfosters
Christmas
winter Hide Away
scenes of the village
The view from the front
The Garden
The Garden
Relax
Welcome
Enjoy
Kitchen area
Open plan sitting room
Mezzanine Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beth A
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Popfosters is a beautiful place to stay whilst exploring the Cotswolds. The barn is stylishly decorated and was full of little touches which made our stay more enjoyable - a welcome hamper, a huge selection of DVDs, table tennis and a stunning country cottage garden! The location is great for country walks and exploring the Cotswolds villages. The local pub - The Seagrave Arms - is only a short walk and well worth a visit. Thanks for a lovely stay Lisa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abc123863
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a relaxing week at pop fosters barn,Lisa was really friendly and helpful .a lovely hamper awaited us, which was a lovely touch. The villages local to the barn are so quaint ,and well worth a visit, London and Oxford are easy to travel to by train or park and ride,
Would like to go back again.
Thanks f

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing. Simply amazing.”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We love the Cotswolds and have been fortunate enough to stay in many a good hotel but our short stay at Popfosters trumped all of our previous visits. Simply wonderful. Amazing barn, tastefully decorated and furnished, beautiful location and a friendly owner that helps ensure the stay is enjoyable. We'll be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J
1 review
“Beautiful holiday-absolutely faultless!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We are not the type to be leaving reviews but Popfosters is an exception! Credit where credit is due and this place is certainly deserving of this! It is such a gorgeous conversion done to an extremely high standard and set within such a beautiful location. If the views and the accomodation wasn't enough we arrived to such a friendly welcome by Lisa who made us feel like the barn was our own. The welcome tray included breakfast essentials as well as a Victoria sponge cake (which we polished off without a problem!). The barn was extremely clean and tidy with some nice extras such as Sky TV and a variety of DVDs. In the garden we had a little game of table tennis too and access to the BBQ. Lisa was always very accommodating managing to book our holiday in last minute and squeezing us in to stay an extra night as we didn't want to leave!! Cleanliness is a huge part of anybody's holdiay-and Popfosters will not let you down! The bed linen is so crisp and fresh and the towels are soft and smell lovely! It really is home from home! Not only did we enjoy ourselves our little dog (Millie) had a lovely time and became quite friendly with Lisa Dog Doug. If she wasn't running around chasing Doug in the garden they was following one another around the yard! I think they were sad to say bye to one another! It was lovely that we could be so relaxed with her knowing she was safely enclosed in yard and that Lisa was very welcoming of Millie- also not having to watch Millie's every move. All in all we had a fantastic few nights away to recharge the batteries and will definitely be revisiting again! Thanx again Lisa and you will be seeing us again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma F
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely love nest ”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at popfosters after our wedding as a little "mini moon". We were both exhausted after the wedding and needed to recover desperately. Lisa was amazing and supplied us with a welcome package of cake, bread, eggs, milk, croissants, cereal, jams, orange juice, fresh flowers and processo.
The barn itself is beautiful, had so many lovely touches such as heated towel rails, DVDs, table tennis, white company products, blankets, washing up liquid the list goes on.
The garden is so pretty too, Doug Lisa's dog came to visit and my husband fell in love with him.

Great location too, we went into nearby villages on first day and the gardens in burton on the hill. We cooked that night (easy to cook in kitchen with lots of equipment) and watched DVDs then on the Tuesday we went to Cotswold wildlife park. We live near whipseanede zoo and I have to say the Cotswold life park was very good for £15 each! Lovely gardens and lots of animals.

Only downside is we wanted more time there !! Thank you lisa xxx love the Boakes xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Ji...
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Cozy and luxurious barn with amazing garden”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here with my wife and two boys (one and four years old) and we absolutely loved it!

Lisa and Adam are perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome and really helped us find good day trips suited for the kids (don't miss Cotswold's Farm Park!).

The barn itself is beautifully decorated without loosing it's charm. Even though the barn is old the standard is high and we found everything we needed including perfect wifi reception and a really good stove.

The beautiful secluded garden soon became our outdoor living room. Here we spent most of our evenings, relaxing after doing short day trips to the villages near by. It is just gorgeous!

All in all one of the best places our family ever stayed at!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiljames...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect little get away”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the moment I decided to book my weekend away at the Popfosters Barn Lisa was very helpful and just the perfect host from start to finish.

When we arrived and finally got to see Barn the pictures really didn't do it justice, very cosy and comfortable and everything that we expected it to be. Lisa helped us with a places to visit and see to plan our days out.

It was the perfect location for Chipping Camden, Stow, Daylesford and Lower Slaughter, which are all within a 30 min drive away, then returning to relax in the evening sun in the garden with champagne was the perfect end to any day. A 5-10 min walk away is the Seagrave Arms, a lovely local pub with great tasting food and friendly staff.

All in all the Popfosters Barn was a great place to chill and relax an is set in the perfect location, there isn't much to say about Lisa other than she is the perfect host in everyway and an absolute joy to of met her, couldn't be more complementary on her personality and how she runs the Barn.

We will defiantly be returning and 100% recommending this place to friends.

Thanks for a lovely weekend!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host Lisa, just lovely!!!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing