We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, just perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Silk Mill Cottage

Silk Mill Cottage front garden and entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Silk Mill Cottage front garden and entrance
Silk Mill Cottage, Chipping Campden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Silk Mill Cottage front garden and entrance
Silk Mill Cottage, Chipping Campden
The gravel path to the cottage from the parking spaces
Sitting room with sofas, TV and a delightful little log burner
Spacious, open plan kitchen / dining room / sitting room
Bright dining area with table and chairs
Modern, bright kitchen with utility room and w/c
Twin bedroom with en-suite bathroom
en-suite bathroom with shower over bath (option to share with single bedroom)
3rd bedroom with sofa bed
Entrance and front garden / patio
Lovely log burner with initial logs / kindling provided
Open plan sitting room and dining room
Peaceful courtyard with table and chairs, part open and part under cover
Table and chairs on the front patio
View of the front garden from the kitchen
Fresh bread, fruit & veg, cheese & wine shops only a short walk from the cottage
A well looked after garden awaits!
Chipping Campden's beautifully curved high street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pollyrevi...
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, just perfect”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the stunning Silk Mill Cottage for February half term break. As soon as we parked in the designated parking space and walked up the gravel pathway, lined with winter flowers, we knew we were in for a treat. The cottage was instantly warm and welcoming; large comfy sofas, beautiful fireplace and relaxing lighting, as well as an enormous home baked cake on the side. Everything was spotlessly clean, which is so important for a holiday let. The children instantly felt at home in their twin bedroom and our baby in her cute, single room. We were lucky with the weather and explored Chipping Campden (coffee at Huxley's is a must), the local walks, Broadway, the Slaughters and Boughton on the Water. The evenings were cosy and relaxing with a warm crackling fire in the wood burner. We hope to be back in the summer to enjoy the garden and all that summertime Cotswolds has to offer!

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

The owners of Silk Mill Cottage go out of their way to make the cottage so welcoming and will be pleased to know you had such a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky M
Milton of Campsie
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Very comfortable and well equipped, the cottage is central but secluded, and has the bonus of 2 parking spaces. This was our 4th stay in Chipping Campden, and was by far the nicest cottage we have stayed in.

Downstairs is spacious, comfortable and just a nice place to relax. It really feels like a home, unlike so many cottages which only provide the basics. We'd recommend to friends and would have no hesitation in renting it again.

A special thank you to the owners who took the trouble to obtain our details from the letting agents and return a pair of pyjamas which we inadvertently left behind

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2015
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for Silk Mill Cottage which has been well received by all guests. It is such a spacious property and so convenient for the town.
We hope to hear from you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1234Berry...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful property, fabulous location, couldn't be more perfect!”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely loved our stay at Silk Mill Cottage. Wonderfully presented and instantly homely. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to hear from you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cargraze
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 ⭐️ Cottage in a 5⭐️ Location”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Disaster ! We managed to lock ourselves out of the cottage within less than 5 mins of arrival. Andy was straight round with another key and a smile on his face. We were simply delighted with the cottage, very well equipped, clean, warm and tastefully decorated. A very handy location for the high street yet extremely peaceful and quiet, we couldn't have asked for more.
When Andy rescued us he suggested that we pay a visit to the traditional silversmith on the upper floor of the nearby silk mill. It was such a treat and something we could have easily missed, they still use all the 19thC tools, we had a warm welcome and enjoyed the visit. Eating in was easy as the kitchen contained everything but we also paid a visit to Michaels Mediterranean restaurant which has a fabulous atmosphere and delicious food, the four of us enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely atmosphere in the cottage
Liked least: we like the window open at night so would welcome a thicker blanket to throw over the bed.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments! Pleased you love the cottage. It was good to meet you and we look forward to haring from you again.

The Harts workshop really is a must see isn't it! It's like stepping back in time and they're so welcoming. The work they carry out really is stunning. They are the only original surviving business of the 'Arts and Crafts movement' back in 1902 when Ashby moved his Guild Of Handicraft from London to Campden.

Micheals has always served the best steaks in Campden and he also has a great selection of fish dishes. We love it there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJW2309
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply perfect in every way”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My friends and I had the pleasure of spending a weekend at Silk Mill Cottage recently.
Perhaps the best way I can sum it up is to say that we all wanted to move in and stay for ever. We didn't want to go home. It is quite simply the most perfect place to unwind and relax, with everything you could wish for, both inside the cottage and outside in the surrounding area. We have stayed in several cottages over the years, all have been lovely, but Silk Mill Cottage is in a class of its own. I advise anyone not to hesitate, just book it, go and see for yourself.....you certainly won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We feel exactly the same. The owners of Silk Mill Cottage put so much time and thought into everything to ensure guests' have a memorable holiday. Thank you for booking with us again. See you in June!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could have just one wish for the New Year - it would be to return to Silk Mill Cottage for another stay.”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at Silk Mill Cottage in August. We have traveled throughout the world and stayed at many 5 star locations, but our favorite stay of all time was here. Perfectly located in the heart of Chipping Campden, but so secluded and quiet – you would think you were down a long country lane. The cottage is completely new inside with every accommodation and guest comfort satisfied. Chipping Campden is a perfect Cotswold location with a great co-op grocery, butcher, baker, and even a wine and cheese shop. Pubs and restaurants enough to try a new one every night of the week, but we found it difficult to leave the comfort and pleasure of Silk Mill Cottage in evening – opting to cook in, which I never do! A regular stop to browse and shop at Frankie Doodles is a must. Our home in Phoenix, AZ is a long way from Silk Mill Cottage, but we will return someday and fulfillment my wish.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention taken by the owners to ensure the highest comfort and pleasure of their guests.
Liked least: Leaving - I could have stayed for months.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Dear Connie & Bill,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Silk Mill Cottage and Chipping Campden. When we read reviews like this, it reminds us and our cottage owners of why we are in this business. To hear about how wonderful a holiday was because of the cottage (and traditional Cotswold town of course) is truly lovely and so thank you to you both for choosing to stay with us; we really look forward to welcoming you again in the future. The owners of the cottage have also asked us to thank you for taking the time to review and for your kind words.

Andy & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrises
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a relaxing and enjoyable week at the Silk Mill Cottage and really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our group consisted of myself, my husband and our two year old, as well as my parents. The accommodation suited all of us, having two bathrooms was great and my son enjoyed the open plan living area.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything you could want, the under floor heating downstairs was lovely.
The cottage is situated close to the heart of chipping campden, there are plenty of amenities within walking distance, fantastic bakery, green grocer, butcher and cheese/wine shop as well as a great selection of restaurants.
Would definitely recommend and would return.
Thank you for having us.

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2014
We really appreciate your review. Glad you loved the cottage and Chipping Campden. Hope to hear from you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing