We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Thornton

...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Histroic Market Place
Broadway Tower nearby
Bennetts Fine Wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian H
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 30, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Great location in a lovely city. We really enjoyed the quietness and history of Chipping Camden. My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. The home does need a little better maintaining, but overall was a good value for the price. It worked out well having a washer and dryer on location.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARAH B
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn’t stay anywhere else.”
Reviewed September 22, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Absolutely love this ground floor apartment. Have been coming here for the last 4 years. It’s convenient located, everything you need is in the cottage. The landlord caters for all your needs, they have thought of everything. Love Chipping Campden. Got engaged here. Would recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2018
Thank you Sarah for your kind comments. We love having you as our guest and we are delighted to see you returning each year - hope to welcome you again some time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huw D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very nice & cosy, the location is perfect, right on the high street but it is very quite. We love the fire place and the bedding is extremely comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped. We'll come back soon. Thank you

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinslide...
Folkingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Central Location”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cosy, well appointed and ideally located for Cotswolds country walking and exploring the lovely town. You will not go hungry in Chipping Campden and we would recommend Michaels Mediterranean. You should also visit Morton in the Marsh.
The apartment is very old but has been done out in a modern country style. Could not fault it however wifi not working and no logs for the fire which was a shame but didn't take away from our stay. Very clean and had everything we needed - no noise from the pub next door either.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Thank you for your kind and helpful comments which are much appreciated. Many apologies again for the lack of Wi-Fi which is unfortunately out of our hands due to an external fault but we are chasing BT daily to get it sorted as soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thornton again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarAway67...
1 review
“Great place and location”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location close to local shops, spacious rooms in a cosy setting. Unfortunately the wifi was down which couldn't be helped but when you are in the Cotswolds that's the least of your worries!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
We are sorry the Internet was down. There was a fault on the line outside our property which I am please to say has now been fixed.
best wishes
Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojoxxx20...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location ..lovely place for a couple ..great communication. Would happily book again if in the area

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torim942
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, cozy retreat!”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from our 12 day England vacation, with two of those nights spent at Thornton in Chipping Campden. What a treat! The cottage had so much character, but with nice modern amenities. We had just spent a week in London, so we appreciated the privacy, the washing machine, and the kitchen to make our own meal one night. We ate at Eight Bells the first night and it was delicious! We had no issues with road noise and my husband is a very light sleeper. The bathroom was great with a wonderful shower, heated floors, and heated towel rack. It was a little difficult to find a plug to dry my hair in front of a mirror (but I had that problem at every place we stayed in England. I guess there may be some kind of issue with putting plugs in the bathrooms there?) We also did find the bed a little hard for our liking, but nothing we couldn't live with.

Thanks again for sharing this beautiful place with us! We hope to return one day!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. Delighted that you enjoyed Thornton and Chipping Campden. We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Best wishes

Jayne
Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing