We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and a cozy atmosphere”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Thornton

...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Histroic Market Place
Broadway Tower nearby
Bennetts Fine Wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jord7
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My brother and his partner stayed here last year and recommended it to my husband and myself. We absolutely loved staying here. Nice and cozy. Perfect location ... right on the corner with the main street. Walked to many pubs, etc. for dinner (Eight Bells was excellent, also liked Huxley's). Very close to Campden Coffee House which had excellent coffee and lemon/honey/ginger tea. Porridge was excellent there as well. Back to the flat .... lovely upgrades throughout, heated floors and a lovely small wood burning stove. A++++

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARAH B
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location.”
Reviewed November 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just arrived back home after our 4th stay at the beautiful ground floor apartment known as "Thornton" in Chipping Campden. Had an amazing time. We had recently got married and stayed at the apartment as part of honeymoon. On arrival we received a gift from the Landlords, a bottle of prosecco. I thought that was a lovely touch towards our honeymoon and a nice surprise. The owners make the accommodation feel relaxing, and their attention to detail is spot on, otherwise we wouldn't keep returning as we do. 5th time next year!! . I would highly recommend staying at the apartment, it's central for visiting the surrounding villages and there is ample on street free parking, and it's right next door to the Red Lion Pub which serves very good food. I would recommend the Chilli con carne, and a nice glass of red! Then back to the apartment right next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home from home.
Liked least: I think the mattress might need replacing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you Sarah, it was our pleasure as always to host you both and delighted that you came back to Thornton as part of your honeymoon - it is a special place. We look forward to seeing you again in 2017!

Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aidanh
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment in perfect Location”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in this lovely Cotswold apartment for 3 nights. Everything about it was great. The rooms were pleasant and cozy, everything worked, and there was a very nice ambience about the place. Getting the key for the apartment was a breeze. Everything was well explained and access was very convenient. The location was terrific. Right in the heart of Chipping Campden. Easy walking throughout the whole village. Parking was no problem on the street.
Being right on the main street I was worried about noise, but it was never an issue. We would highly recommend this apartment to anyone planning on visiting the pretty village of Chipping Campden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, but also the ambience of the place.
Liked least: We have no complaints.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica c
1 review
“Lovely cottage but dont expect to sleep much”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was lovely and the surrounding village is very picturesque. Unfortunately we found very quickly that if you are dark skinned, you get some intense staring action. We decided to eat and get back to the cottage which is very well decorated. Its nice and cost and has been very well presented.
Unfortunately thats where it ended for us. The bed was so hard that i was in pain most of the night, and we got no more than an hours sleep at a time. Between the noisey tenant upstairs and the noise outside the bedroom we woke from one of the worst nights sleep in a long time. The bedroom windows are obviously listed, so i can understand that they cant be replaced, but they 100% need some secondary glazing as you can hear everything as if the room was divided iff by nothing more than a curtain. All this combined ment we didnt even stay the second night. We packed up and went home first thing and didnt look back. If you are light skinned and are fine with hard mattreses and a heavy sleeper im sure you'll have no problem. For us, this was a total waste of money, and considering this was my birthday gift, i was extremely disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
We are very concerned to read these comments and so sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay at our cottage. This is totally contrary to virtually every guest that has enjoyed staying at Thornton, many often on repeat visits. The bed that we have installed has a 4 star hotel grade mattress and we have had several comments from previous guests as to how comfortable it is. However I totally appreciate that some people like a soft or very soft mattress and so based on your comments we will purchase a mattress topper for those guests that wish to have something softer. We have also decided to install secondary glazing to the bedroom. We would point out though that other reviewers have commented that whilst traffic noise can occasionally be heard, particularly during rush hour, it is no worse than one would expect in a small rural town located on the high street with all the convenience this brings. When we renovated the property we were not allowed to change the windows but with secondary glazing installed this will address any issue on that front directly. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but we are sure that if you were to visit us again you would share in the delight that virtually all our guests feel after a restful break at Thornton.
Yours most sincerely
William Adams
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R
London
2 reviews
“Gorgeous Cotswolds Stay ”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful cottage with stunning surroundings. Perfect location. Would recommend walking via Cotswolds way to Broadway Centre stopping off at Broadway Tower. Lunch at Huxley's and dinner at The Chefs Dozen both just across the road from the cottage were lovely too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you Jessica, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There are some gorgeous eateries in Chippy, which you obviously found! Hope to see you again soon.

Lucy
Whitehorse Estate Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely character close to all services”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very lovely presented Cotswold stone cottage, Modern facilities but still with character. Is in the centre of the town so you must expect to hear people walking past at night and deliveries to shop a few doors away in the morning. But if you are really risers like us it is not an issue. Great breakfast just over the road at Huxley/s and the Sunday roast at the Eight Bells was a real treat. The property was very clean and had everything you need for a cosy stay away. Was able to park right outside and it was very easy to locate the keys from the safe box two doors down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating was not on when we arrived
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Thank you Bob, so glad you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again!

Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie51...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect winter retreat!”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have stayed here for the last two Christmases and couldn't have wished for anything better. The cottage is ideally located in the high street (near the start of the Cotswold Way) and is just a few minutes' walk from shops, restaurants and pubs. It's warm, cosy and comfortable, and is very nicely furnished. The bed is particularly comfy and the bathroom is very well laid out, with a very large shower. The lounge is spacious yet snug, and it's lovely watching the world go by from the window seat. The cottage is perfect for the dog, too, with an enclosed yard. There is some noise from traffic, but as we live on a main road at home, this wasn't an issue for us at all. We cannot recommend Thornton highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2016
Thanks Jean, we look forward to seeing you again and so glad you love our cottage as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing