We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Thornton

...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Histroic Market Place
Broadway Tower nearby
Bennetts Fine Wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kanderson...
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed our stay. Cottage was lovley and in a great location, really cosy.
Will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and tidy
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khammo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend away in the beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Gorgeous cottage in a quiet village. Loved the challenge of trying to find the key safe initially. Parking is ideal, we parked right opposite Thornton on the street.

The pictures don't do this place justice. The property is spacious and clean. Initially the property was very cold but putting the heating on soon warmed the place up. The log fire was a nice treat however no logs were left. A quick phone call to the owner soon sorted this out. The cottage does have wifi however very hit and miss doesn't work in the lounge.
The bed is super comfy!! One point to note is that the windows are single glazed as to be expected so traffic can be heard. Various pubs and restaurants locally for food.

Two negative points.
1) the hard carpet throughout the property hurts bare feet.
2) the toilet, there was a memo stating the plumbing and toilet were very old as expected. Therefore sometimes the toilet doesn't flush that well.

We went on a lovely long walk from the cottage in chipping campden to Broadway tower then off to the centre of Broadway. Highly recommend just don't get lost like we did.

Would happily go back to this place! Value for money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Traveller...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“real birthday treat”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

a lovely Cotswold break in this cute village, with multiple pubs and restaurants. Parking was fine we were never more than 100 yards away. Great log burner belted out heat but easy to use gas heating too so we were never cold. Took while to work out under floor heating (switch on floor by bathroom door) and WiFi code on front of the owners book about the house rather than in it (bring your glasses). Bedding and bed was soooooo luxurious. All you need was in kitchen and really well laid out for small space. The funniest thing is looking at the tourists stooping to look in your front room and have a good nose at the historic house on the high street. I loved smiling back at them smugley but you can lower the blinds! Lots of lovely local walks, we did archery at Batsford Aboretum, brilliant 2 hour experience for £19, search. Good takeaway at Chinese on same road (although reviews on TA awful) and we had great Ploughmans lunches and liver and bacon at the Red Lion. The coo band I am sure very hard wearing carpet through lounge, hall and bedroom I found quite painful to bare feet so take some slippers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location location location
Liked least: carpet but all other soft furnishings more than made up for it!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect destress getaway”
Reviewed November 22, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

High quality yet homely accommodation. Slept a dream, relaxed in the house. The village is beautiful, charming and historic. A real gem supported by a wonderful open friendly community. We'll b back soon

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cma5543
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful little cottage”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Fantastic location in the centre of Chipping Campden with its lovely pubs and great restaurants. The cottage is lovely inside and extremely comfortable. I am reluctant to criticise anything but I understand that these reviews should be as helpful as possible. The cottage is very noisy in the mornings and even though I live in London I still found myself being woken early each morning. Presumably, the windows are necessarily single glazed because the building is listed? The only other thing is that the wifi does not extend to the lounge (I presume the router is in the cottage upstairs). You will have to sit in the bedroom or the hall to be able to access the Internet. That said, I would recommend this place in a heartbeat. It's lovely!!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing