We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay with Dinner”
Review of The Volunteer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Volunteer Inn
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Volunteer Inn on 31st January 2013. We entered the hotel via the bar where a roaring log fire was burning to match the warm welcome we received from Mark. We had a lovely Indian dinner in the hotel restaurant and ate the tastiest Peshwari Naan bread we have had to date. We had an enjoyable sleep in the Garden bedroom, with lovely stone walls and flooring. Breakfast was lovely and served by a sweet attentive lady. This is one hotel we will return to for another short break away sometime soon.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stovies1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for The Volunteer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 255 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very clean, comfortable and cosy environment. Lady bar staff very friendly and industrious, constantly cleaning and serving. Chef very friendly and produced a great breakfast. Owner also very friendly and industrious. In this day and age it is great to see people busy making their establishment in tip top condition for their customers. Chers for a great stay

ged murphy

Room Tip: number 2 was excellent, large bathroom
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ged m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for several nights whilst house searching in the area. The owners Peter and Mark own a beautiful Inn and the rooms are also beautifully presented and extremely clean. The beds are very comfortable and all staff involved are extremely helpful. Fantastic value for money when other hotels in the area are far more expensive and not as comfortable/friendly.
The Marharaja Restaurant attached to the Inn prepare some of the best Indian food we have tasted. The Bangladeshi chefs are very well trained and the menu will suit everyone.
We are now moving to the area and still travel over to eat there once a week. Can't give higher praise than that !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanbaxter02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights from the 19th October. We were part of a walking group finishing the Cotswold Way route. My partner and I stayed directly above the bar area in a good spacious room with a huge bed. The bed was comfy and the ensuite bathroom was clean and the shower had a good flow. Despite our being there over a Friday and Saturday night the sound coming up through the floor was not as much as I had feared. You could still here the general hum and music from the bar but it was reasonably well muffled. Breakfast was good with a choice of cereals and a full English to follow.
On the first night we ate at the Indian restaurant associated with the Inn. There were 12 of us at this dinner and the service coped pretty well. We ended up with one extra dish we hadn't ordered but the food was delicious and filling.
This accommodation was good value compared to the other places to stay so I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: If possible aviod the room directly above the bar.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and slept in the most comfortable double bed we have ever slept in in a hotel (room 1). The room was large, warm and comfortable with en suite facilities. The service was excellent and very friendly and the breakfats were also good - well cooked and very cheerily served. Parking is on the street (and therefore free) and we had no problems finding a parking space very close the the hotel on both of the nights we were there. We were made very welcome all round and we would certainly chose this hotel on our next trip to the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor so no steps involved - excellent for people with limited mobility
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerkat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Room3 was large with a kingsize and single bed.There was loads of storage space. The bathroom was clean with an excellent shower- lots of toilet rolls provided. Good quality towels,handwash,shower gel and shampoo /conditioner.Tea and coffee can be made in the room.TV, radio and hair dryer.The beds were comfortable and the room warm and cosy. The Indian restaurant had an extensive menu including some english meals both of which were very nice - large portions and reasonably priced.Breakfast was good - tea or coffee, fruit juice, tinned grapefruit and cereals.Make your own toast,butter,jam or marmalade. A lovely lady cooked a full English breakfast or scrambled egg and smoked salmon.A very enjoyable stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornaa114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night Saturday 20th October 2012. Couldn't fault it at all.
We had a warm welcome, friendly staff, the rooms were nice and clean.
We also booked the Indian restaurant at the back of the volunteer and couldn't fault that either.
Then in the morning there was a full cooked breakfast. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dmh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
3.1 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,223 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#2 of 28 in Chipping Campden
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volunteer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volunteer Inn

Address: Volunteer Inn Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Volunteer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Volunteer Hotel Chipping Campden
The Volunteer Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing