We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sense of history with a few drawbacks”
Review of Badgers Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badgers Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I chose Badgers Hall B&B because I wanted someplace with a strong sense of history, and this is it. Both in the half-timbered bedrooms and the public tea room downstairs the history was palpable. Occasionally too palpable. I knew there would be exposed low beams, and for the most part they were easy to work around with some ducking. However, there was a beam perhaps 4.5 feet from the floor that ran across the center of our small bathroom, so we had to duck quite a way to get to the toilet and stand up carefully. Again, workable except if you're a bit groggy in the middle of the night, when it gets distinctly tricky. Breakfast was excellent, but only served between 8:30 and 9:00. The complimentary tea and cake in the afternoon were a treat. The B&B was well-tended and the owners were professional. The beds in the twin room were fairly hard.

Two distinct negatives - the internet was very slow and kept cutting out. I'm not a heavy internet user, just a little web surfing and checking email, but it was a distinct nuisance. Parking is on the street and is described as easy, but I had to hunt around for parking spaces every time we went out on weekdays in June. Perhaps it's easy compared to London or NYC, but I haven't had to hunt like this in other towns in the UK. Those things made the difference between a nice stay and one which could have been superb.

Room Tip: The twin room has hard beds and some street noise issues. While the website says the second floor be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 270 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

My mom and I loved our stay at Badger Hall!

It was a charming B&B in a charming village. The owners were so kind and helped make the trip a great one. And, don't let me forget the food! They prepared the best breakfasts I came across on my trip. They even prepared a bagged meal when I had an early morning departure.

I can highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmerness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a weekend break in Chipping Camden in the Cotswolds We stayed at Badgers Hall for 2 nights and could have stayed longer!
Badgers Hall is run as a B&B by Karen and Paul who do a 1st class job in looking after their guests, from a hearty breakfast to afternoon tea( served in the sunny garden).
We have already arranged to go again and will recommend Badgers Hall anyone going to the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which is at the back and would recommend this spacious en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kainhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed at Badgers Hall in May. It was exactly what we were hoping to find - quaint, cozy and comfortable. The owners are so friendly and welcoming. And the food - oh my goodness! Would love to stay there again in the future, and even if I don't stay, I'll definitely drive out of my way to have afternoon tea there.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AnnW769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Great host from start to finish, very attentive . Always plenty of tea on offer. Flavoursome sandwiches aswell as sausages, salmon, haddock, sausage roll , goats cheese quiche, butternut squash and pepper volevonts , beet root and cheese.

For pudding there was lemon posset, ginger and walnut fruit cake, choc moussee, sherry trifle, amoretti ice cream , scones.

Was so tasty and full of flavour. We was all stuffed so got to take home in doggy bag!! Can't wait to go again great place!
Highly recommend !

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better Yee Olde England experience. The couple who run this place and their dog are what make it...although the dog did have a tendency with me to get a bit over friendly! The rooms are very comfortable and the dining room just under the rooms is lovely. Breakfast next morning was better than any 5* Hotel i have stayed in. it was cooked to order with locally sourced ingredients. Stated only one night but came away refreshed like we were away for a week!

Room Tip: we stayed in the first room ahead of you when you go up the stairs. Little bit of noise when the tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvanTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived just after 3:30 pm and were shown to are room just above the tea room. The room was very spacious and homely, overlooking the main street and war memorial garden, we did like the carafe of sherry and wonderful homemade shortbread biscuits on the side table, very welcoming. We returned to the tearoom for our afternoon cream tea and, what a surprise greeted us the fruit scones were huge and with plenty of jam and clotted cream.

Our first nights sleep was rudely disturbed at 5 o'clock in the morning by the person living next door to the B&B above the Spar shop, you could hear every manner of sound emanating from their rooms, it rather ruin the tranquility of the Badgers Hall.

After spending a day walking, (Broadway Tower) we were again pleasantly surprised when arriving back at the B&B, Karen asked us if we would like our afternoon tea and cake in our room, Paul's homemade pear and lemon cake was wonderful with the added bonus of a couple of shortbread biscuits.

Karen asked if we were eating out and had we booked anywhere, we said we had decided on Micheal's the Greek restaurant across the the road, Karen phoned the restaurant on our behave and confirmed a booking.

Paul looks after the baking and cooking side, his breakfasts are second to none, all the items on the menu are locally sourced, or are delivered daily. The smoked haddock and poached eggs were out of this world, thank you Paul.

Karen and Paul run a remarkable establishment and we will be retuning, thank you both again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vince1seatstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#12 of 28 in Chipping Campden
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Hall

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $187 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Badgers Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badgers Hall Hotel Chipping Campden
Badgers Hall Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing