We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quesential tea rooms a hidden gem”
Review of Badgers Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badgers Hall
Certificate of Excellence
banbury
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quesential tea rooms a hidden gem”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I called in for an early morning breakfast and was greeted and made very welcome
whilst waiting for my son who was visiting his girlfriend
the food was delicious , and the restaurant spotlessly clean chipping Camden is a great place to visit

Room Tip: checkout the wonderful cakes on selection wil be back fir afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BanburyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    32
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
139
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Karen and Paul have lovingly restored this beautiful Cotswolds Guest House. It is well positioned and convenient being walking distance to restaurants, pubs and shops in this charming town. Our arrival was greeted with the offer of a fresh pot of tea which we took in their garden. After a full day's sightseeing this was most welcome and I have to say unusual these days . Badgers Hall is tastefully furnished and full of homely touches. A lot of thought and care has gone into ensuring guests stay is a pleasant one. The little medley of fruit at breakfast is one example along with a choice of quality bread, toast and croissant and that is followed by a full English breakfast. Every set of keys is accompanied by a mini torch just to make sure you have no difficulties with accessing the accommodation on your return after an evening out. Our only regret was that we had only booked one night and did not have a chance to try the cakes for which Badgers Hall is also renowned for. These we will save for our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenruston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent three nights at Badgers Hall in May 2013 and it was our favorite part of our English vacation. Karen and Paul were warm and welcoming, quick to offer assistance and advice as we discussed our plans each day but also clearly very dedicated to giving us privacy and peace. I have no words for the scones--simply the best on the planet. All of the food and treats were delightful but I have a scone obsession and wow, these are going to be hard to beat. Paul has the touch! We had a room just a few steps up the stairs from the tea room, which sounds like it would be in the middle of a lot of noise but it wasn't--it was a cozy den and I enjoyed hearing the tinkling of tea cups when I was relaxing in the afternoon. We didn't have a car (took the train to Moreton then the bus) but were very well entertained by all that was within rambling distance. Some delightful pubs in town--so grateful that Paul and Karen recommended the curry at the Noel Arms. Rick Steves describes Badgers Hall as "pricey" but I think really what you get is VALUE. Not only did we have a huge breakfast every morning, but also tea and sweets each afternoon (delivered to our room upon request, even)--a cream tea that would easily cost 20 pounds for 2 each day--plus a great collection of DVDs to watch when we were ready to just relax.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs, see if you can reserve room #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneRFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our Hosts, Karen and Paul, really know how to take care of their guests! From the wonderful breakfasts, to the comfy room, we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. Every morning Karen brought me a fresh gluten free scone, which was like a bite of heaven. Paul manned the kitchen and offered a substantial menu to choose from. And the portions were not skimpy. Paul also offered some excellent suggestions for local restaurants as well as towns to visit. His first suggestion was to purchase an ordanance survey map at the TI next door and go get lost in the Cotswolds. We did exactly that. What a fabulous suggestion and fantastic way to see the Cotswolds away from the touristy areas. Thanks to both Karen and Paul for helping to make our trip memorable - in spite of the coldest spring on record!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingstar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having organised a trip to Hidcote Manor Gardens I thought it would be good to start our day with breakfast. I rang round and spoke to the delightful Karen at Badgers Hall, who was happy to feed beakfast to a couple of non-resident day trippers! Having risen early, we drove down to Chipping Campden from our home in the Midlands. We arrived hungry and in need of a shot of caffeine. Badgers Hall was a delightful find! The breakfast could not have been bettered We feasted on spankingly fresh fruit salad, helped ourselves to juice and coffee before being presented with the full english! Everything is locally sourced and the food was excellent. A basket was also set on our table, containing croissants, crumpets and toast, with butter and preserves. A wonderful start to our day, with a pair of great hosts in Karen and Paul. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GuzzlingGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webberville, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent two nights in this great B&B in the summer of 2012. It was a highlight! We stayed in the first floor room at the back (up a half flight from the tea room). It was roomy and the bathroom was great. The roof and floor had a charming unevenness like the rest of the room. The free daily tea and baked items were terrific. the breakfast were amazing! It is served in the tea room with just the B&B guests. Great hosts!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter4800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Tearooms are plentiful around this area but this one is worth seeking out! Chipping Campden itself is delightful and this was the icing on the cake for us (do not be put off by the slightly tacky signage outside!). Small and cosy, this place was pretty full despite being near closing time. On offer are crumbly scones (the best I've had!), lots of different cakes as well as crumpets and teacakes. Of course there are lots of different tea's too. We shared scones and also tried the parsnip cake - this was unusually moist as it also had pineapple and raisins in but was definitely interesting. Not your average tearoom!

Approx £5pp.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,023 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#2 of 28 in Chipping Campden
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Hall

Property: Badgers Hall
Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Badgers Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badgers Hall Hotel Chipping Campden
Badgers Hall Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing