We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem you must visit”
Review of Badgers Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badgers Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have previously stayed at Badgers Hall and it was great. Old style charm with great service. Rooms are quaint but really fantastic. If you want modern with air conditioning then this is not the place for you (please go and find a Premier Inn somewhere and leave great places like this to us).

My wife and I returned for a visit to the tea room on the ground floor yeterday afternoon at about 2.30pm. The place was very busy but we arrived, were seated and served within 10 minutes. We ordered one of their platters. This had a toasted teacake, cheese crumpets, a (large) slice of cake and a scone with jam and clotted cream. We also had a pot of tea for one and a soft drink. The total price for this feast was £15 and it was fantastic value. Service was excellent, warm and friendly.

Chipping Campden is possibly the most beautiful village in England so visit it for that alone but if you do make sure you call at this place for some refreshment, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ignore the idiot who didn't stay here because he couldn'y get a reduction for the traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited this tea room before starting a long walk. It was like stepping back in time. We had really good large coffees and my husband had a very tasty toasted tea cake. I went for a warmed scone and butter, what a treat! Iam very fussy about my scones and this one came out tops. It is definately worth popping into this place.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Called into the Badgers hall one lunchtime for refreshments. I was recommended by a freind to pay a visit as they had a good experience on their visit. The tea room were serving the most stunning sandwiches and cakes, the pot of tea was the best brew out I have ever had.
In an old town in the Cotswolds it is well worth trying it out . Was like the old tea rooms of time gone by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yetiman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed at this marvelous B and B for 4 nights in July. It more than met our expectations of a quaint, "old world" B and B. We used Chipping Campden as a hub to explore the Cotswolds on bike and foot. There is a wonderful bike rental place with good bikes just down the road. We did not have a car but the bus which stopped just across from Badgers Hall met our needs as well. The scones that Paul baked were the best I have ever had ever. The bedrooms were quite spacious and the bathrooms were large. The TV and the WiFi worked without a problem. I would recommend this B and B to all. Wish I could go again soon.
Nedra Simon

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This quaint bed and breakfast nestled in the heart of the Cotswolds was expectional . My husband I stayed there for four nights and had a marvelous experience mainly due to the wonderful ambience of this former dress shop that was built in then1600's. The room we stayed in was spacious and afforded us with an excellent view of the town square. The owners, Paul and Karen, added so many pleasant touches to our room such as the delicious shortbread cookies that were waiting for us daily. The breakfast they served could surpass any five star restaurant. I highly suggest eating the oatmeal that Karen prepares. It is wonderful beyond belief and the clotted cream that accompanies it is divine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Right on High Street, this B&B is the perfect location from which to explore Chipping Campden. Wonderful restaurants and pubs are steps up and down the street. You are right across from the iconic marketplace structure built in early 1600’s, and right next door to a co-operative store where you can buy newspapers and sundry groceries and other necessaries, if needed. Badgershill features a highly regarded tea house, with three rooms. Ours was up a few stairs that led up from the dining room floor. The other two rooms go up more stairs. Parking is on street, but was never a problem for us. Most of the time, I was parked in front or close to front.

When we arrived about 5, there were still many patrons enjoying tea and a myriad of cakes and sweets. Karen came rushing to the front, like it was old home week, welcoming us most warmly. She was super friendly, as was husband Paul, whom we met next morning at breakfast.

Our room was nice sized, with windows along one wall for lots of natural light. The bed was comfortable. The TV featured an iPod player attached to it. The bathroom was modern, and the shower had an electric water system and hot water was not a problem. Our room was in the back; no problem with noise, though things quiet down early in Chipping Campden, so I don’t think street noise is an issue.

The building is old; from the 1600’s, and though the bathroom has been modernized, there is a lot of years and character in the room. Exposed beams, Cotswold stone highlights, and a few steep stairs. Oh, yes, some creaky uneven floors. But don’t let that put you off. It is part of the wonderful character of this cozy place. I did miss the lack of lounge area, due to the tea room.

Breakfasts were from a simple menu, served at 8:30. Karen told us to speak up if we wanted earlier. Full English on request, ham and eggs cooked to order, in addition to a wonderful fruit mixture and granolas and breads. If you are into the afternoon tea scene, this is the best place to be. It looks scrumptious. Folks are lined up out the door, as this tearoom is quite famous.

I want to rate this higher, like 4 star, especially on value, but I can’t due to the wifi not working the entire time we were there, and lack of public, or lounge area, in which to unwind. I learned to go across the street to other hotels and pubs or bars and use their wifi while dining or having a cocktail. In all other respects, this is a great place to be in downtown old Chipping Campden.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaBillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

In the first week of wet July we had a very nice stay at Badgers hall . On our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Karen . Our room , overlooking the market place , was spacious and very clean . Although Chipping Campden is a very active village , there is little noise certainly not annoying . With a sense of humour Paul showed us the ‘standard ‘ drying facilities and his ‘high performance drying tool ‘ , a well kept secret , ideally for soaked boots …
The location of Badgers Hall is in the centre of lively Chipping Campden , therefore all facilities are nearby
Breakfast is superb and served on separated tables , fresh fruit salad , marmalades , eventually home made scones .
Paul and Karen know the North Cotswolds very well and were always prepared to give advice on possible walks , highlights in the region , where to dinner , briefly a second tourist information centre ( the original is also very good in Chipping Campden )
Staying at Badgershall is very recommendable , therefore we certainly are going back on the next visit to the Cotswolds

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jan-Nelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,074 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#2 of 28 in Chipping Campden
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Bells Inn
Eight Bells Inn
#5 of 28 in Chipping Campden
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Hall

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $176 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Badgers Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badgers Hall Hotel Chipping Campden
Badgers Hall Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing