We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay in Great Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Late Spring at Sansome House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Late Spring at Sansome House Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Late Spring at Sansome House Cottage
Sansome House Cottage in Summer
Comfortable sofas to curl up on
Cosy winter fire
maps, guidebooks and area information provided
Roomy entrance hall, door to kitchen
Dining end of kitchen with doors to garden
Well equipped kitchen Coffee makers x 3
Afternoon tea laid ready
Superking bed made up as Austrian Twins
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Dressing room is off bedroom
Good sized singles in sunny twin room
Comfy mattresses, cosy duvets, fluffy pillows
Flowers by your bedside
Family Bathroom
Downstairs cloakroom/shower room
Early Spring in the small enclosed garden
Sit out,have a drink and or cook on the BBQ
Norman Church tower, Ilmington
Campden Hill- down to Ilmington
On the Upper Green
Sansome House Cottage in Winter
Wintry meadow next door to Sansome House
The Howard Arms - excellent village dining pub
Mr Robin single father of two (widowed 2013)
Spring lambs on Foxcote Hill Ilmington
Summer fruits and jam to share from the house garden
Autumn on Pig Lane Ilmington
Winter sledging outside our gate
Summer walking in and around Ilmington
On Foxcote Hill above the village
Ilmington village
Front Street Ilmington
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kitchi29
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay in Great Location”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great week staying at Sansome Cottage. The cottage is wonderful and had everything we could ever need whilst away on holiday. On top of this were the little touches provided by Felicity such as the flowers in every room, homemade bread and jam on arrival, and home grown tomatoes and courgettes.

The cottage is ideally situated for visits to places such as Stratford Upon Avon, Cotswolds Wildlife Park, Cotswolds Farm Park and the main lovely stone twons and villages across the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We have enjoyed having you stay too! We think (of course!) that we are in the perfect location for visiting all of the North Cotswolds as well as places of interest nearby, such as Stratford and Warwick, and a little further on, Oxford. We have many beautiful National Trust gardens and houses also within a short drive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnjoyingM...
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in gorgeous location”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We've just came back from a week's stay in this lovely, cosy and beautiful cottage in gorgeous location. The house was perfect for a family of four; it was equipped with everything you might need and more. There were lots of personal touches in every room like fresh flowers, bread, jam, chocolates. The location is perfect for exploring the Cotswolds and beyond, we had wonderful day trips to Blenheim Palace, Oxford, Kenilworth and Warwick castles and many more stately homes and beautiful places and gardens that there are plenty around. The children enjoyed the local village playground and walks in the countryside. We say big thank you to the owner Felicity for her warm hospitality. We'd love to return one day!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Full marks to you for managing to see SO many places in such a short time! Of course we would love to see you all back here and I am sure we can find even more attractions in the area which the children would enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHWR
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect Cotswold cottage”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our 6th visit to Sansome Cottage. It is in an idyllic village,Ilmington, and perfectly situated for exploring the Cotswolds and Shakespeare country.

The owners, Felicity and Tony, are helpful and friendly while also giving guests their privacy. Felicity welcomes guests with home-baked goodies and fresh flowers in every room.

inside, the cottage is lovely, very clean, and inviting. The kitchen is perfect for family cooking and dining. The beds are very,very comfortable.
Outside, there is a beautiful courtyard and also a private English garden in back.

Everything about Sansome Cottage is wonderful.They have many return visitors, which says it all. We look very forward to our next stay!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2017
We just love that you fly thousands of miles to come back to Sansome Cottage again and again! And you came at just the right time ( in March) for daffodils and skipping lambs! We look forward to your 7th visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyage540...
1 review
“Perfect, exceeded our quite high expectations.”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from a fabulous week in the Cotswolds. Sansome is a most charming English cottage offering everything we wanted and more. Felicity is hostess supremo-- which was obvious from our initial inquiry, followed promptly by a much appreciated information deluge. She and Tony are delightful people and were readily available for insider info on what to do, see, and eat. Our favorite outings were Blenheim/Oxford, Stratford, Chipping Campden, and Burford (Lamb Inn for lunch). Ilmington itself was perfect-- quaint, restful, wonderful walks and Howard Arms is a superb pub. We loved every minute of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2016
We love that you mention your highlights in order to help others. It is always gratifying to exceed expectations as our visitors are so kind with their reviews, making us always slightly anxious we will not live up to them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmassaro
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Great Cotswold Cottage with excellent facilities”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for one month and the cottage exceeded our expectations in every way. The cottage itself is beautiful, large enough for 4 people , well equipped and the location is excellent for visiting the Cotswolds and England in general. We were able to do numerous, easy day trips everywhere we wanted. Great pub in the village that you walk to called The Howard Arms and another 5 minutes drive away called The Ebrington Arms. The hosts, Felicity and Tony are wonderful people and made us feel like we were in our own home. Will definitely book the cottage again in the not too distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl K
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring the Cotswolds”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We rented this cottage for three weeks and had no idea until we got there what a great location this would be for the day trips we had planned around the Cotswolds and UK in general. The cottage was centrally located and oh so comfortable...quintessentially English with the courtyard in front and our own private patio and garden off the kitchen. It is totally equipped with everything you could possibly want or need. The owners anticipated our every need and were so helpful. Where could you go anywhere and have someone bake fresh bread and have homemade jam ready on the kitchen table when you arrive...every room had fresh flowers! Felicity even made sure that the hyacinths which I love were in pots in both the front and garden of the cottage! She even ordered and received the last season of Downton Abbey because my friend hadn't seen it yet! There is a good supply of DVD's and books as well as information and maps for almost anything you would want to do.

We rented a car and drove all over going to Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey), Blenheim Palace, Stonehenge, Avebury, Sulgrave, Lacock, Bath, Cheddar Gorge and an interesting day driving in Wales. I say this because all of these places are an easy day trip from this cottage. We also spent time visiting all the villages and places that were closer such as Stratford upon Avon, Bourton on Water, Chipping Campden, Moreton in Marsh and on and on. The village is lovely and everything in Ilmington is walkable. The locals are warm and welcoming. The pubs were great with wonderful food too. We loved walking in the village each night and chatting with the locals walking their dogs and we had so much fun watching the spring lambs in the pasture just a half block away! We were there for the Queen's 90th birthday celebration where we learned about the art of "pealing". The church bells are rung by hand for an hour. It was very interesting and lovely to hear them.

We loved this cottage and it truly was a home away from home. We miss it already and we just got home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fresh baked bread, jam and fresh flowers!
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2016
These two intrepid (they explored far and wide!) girls were a pleasure to have to stay in the cottage and I am truly grateful for this 'travelogue' of the area which will give people an idea of what there is to see around here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty W
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Of our two week holiday in England, Sansome Cottage and environs was our favorite. We were thrilled to be welcomed by freshly baked bread, homemade jam, sweets and fresh flowers in every room. Felicity is the ideal owner - prompt in reply to my many questions and concerned about our American comforts - like a top sheet for our bed! Thank you, Felicity!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing