We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A must visit!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huxleys

Huxleys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A funky Italian Bistro in a 500yrs old Home serving food all the way through the day, from Breakfast to Lunch and Supper.
1 review
“A must visit!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am normally quite fussy when it comes to where i eat and drink as places rarely live up to expectations. However after hearing many good things i HAD to try huxleys. As soon as i arrived at the quaint cafe/bar i was instantly won over by the warm and welcoming atmosphere, chic decor,style,outstanding food and presentation and service. I will most definitly be reccomending this places to everyone!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raphellesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    62
    17
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bracknell berkshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

New wine bar opened a few months ago. Great refurbishment to this once upon a time shop. The staff are all very friendly upon arrival especially the two Italian gentlemen who run it (Marco and Danny). There is a plan B lookalike behind the counter so girls take a look!!!!
Lovely open fire in one half of the place which is great to sit next to on freezing cold days enjoying your tapas and wine.
Great coffee and wine selection even though slightly ltd so far but i feel new wines will be added as time goes on.
The food is very well made and presented by Danny and Marco.
Marcos mother makes all the cakes and biscuits so great home cooking.
The prices are reasonable but hey it is a town so town prices apply!
There is an Italian style feel about the food so if you are in the area it is a must to visit.
Great place for couples and also even if your not eating there and having a meal somewhere else in the town it is great for a glass of wine before moving on.
Well done lads!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redrum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful little piece of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a great place! Atmosphere is wonderful, great to have either a coffee, which I must say is lovely and strong, or sit by the fire with a bottle of wine or sit by the window watching the world go by. Marco and Danny are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home and extremely welcome. Love this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting food all day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Visited with my husband and a friend on our way to an early evening event. Huxleys offered a range of interesting light meals/snacks which proved a great choice. A delightful venue, warm on a chilly May evening with great antipasta boards, melted camembert, salads etc. Very welcoming staff. Great to be able to eat early, thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A romantic hideaway for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely courtyard garden with running water and lovely planting. Our sharing platters and bread basket were excellent and made a substantial lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grannypatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huxleys also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Huxleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing