We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huxleys

Huxleys
High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AL, England
+44 1386 849077
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A Cafè-Wine Bar in a 500yrs old Home serving food all the way through the day, from Breakfast to Lunch and light Supper.
bracknell berkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

New wine bar opened a few months ago. Great refurbishment to this once upon a time shop. The staff are all very friendly upon arrival especially the two Italian gentlemen who run it (Marco and Danny). There is a plan B lookalike behind the counter so girls take a look!!!!
Lovely open fire in one half of the place which is great to sit next to on freezing cold days enjoying your tapas and wine.
Great coffee and wine selection even though slightly ltd so far but i feel new wines will be added as time goes on.
The food is very well made and presented by Danny and Marco.
Marcos mother makes all the cakes and biscuits so great home cooking.
The prices are reasonable but hey it is a town so town prices apply!
There is an Italian style feel about the food so if you are in the area it is a must to visit.
Great place for couples and also even if your not eating there and having a meal somewhere else in the town it is great for a glass of wine before moving on.
Well done lads!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redrum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful little piece of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a great place! Atmosphere is wonderful, great to have either a coffee, which I must say is lovely and strong, or sit by the fire with a bottle of wine or sit by the window watching the world go by. Marco and Danny are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home and extremely welcome. Love this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting food all day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Visited with my husband and a friend on our way to an early evening event. Huxleys offered a range of interesting light meals/snacks which proved a great choice. A delightful venue, warm on a chilly May evening with great antipasta boards, melted camembert, salads etc. Very welcoming staff. Great to be able to eat early, thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A romantic hideaway for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely courtyard garden with running water and lovely planting. Our sharing platters and bread basket were excellent and made a substantial lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grannypatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Whilst in Chipping Camden we decided to ave a late lunch at Huxleys having read a few reviews on it.
It was a fine but blustery day and we were feeling a wee bit chilly. How fabulous to find proper log fire roaring away. The room was very inviting and cosy whilst staff friendly, helpful and smiley. We like this! We chose a baked Camenbert with toast and a selection of roasted veggies. They were huge! Delicious too. We spent ages there at never felt that we were overstaying our welcome.
Thank you to all staff.
I highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huxleys also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Huxleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing