We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cosy hotel”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, cosy hotel”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

It is a nice, small and cosy hotel. Rooms are well equipped, however I found my room a little bit outdated and there was quite strong, strange smell which reminded me naphtalene smell.
The hotel's staff was lovely, very helpful and kindly. The restaurant food (both dinner and breakfast) was great, not a huge selection, but I think everyone should find something nice for him. Restaurant interiors and furnishing are impressive: raw walls, open fire, stylish, old accesorries on the windowsills... all these details make really special, rustic atmosphere. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorotkaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review - I would like to take the opportunity to respond - during your stay we started a refurbishment programme. All of the rooms will have new bathrooms, flooring, carpets and furniture within the next 6 weeks. We have just completed the top 2 rooms and start your room in 2 weeks - all rooms will be completed by end of March. The smell you mention may well have been from the decorators paint/varnish and new carpets. We hope you return in the future to the revamped rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
116
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
357 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Red Lion is a tradition English inn with heaps of character and open fires ideal for a weekend winter break. The rooms are clean and comfortable, even though they could with a bit of updating cosmetically, they still represent excellent value for money.
The breakfast was good quality and set us up for the day ahead. We also ate in the bar/eating area on our first evening and the staff were kind enough to serve us past 9:00 as our son had been held up in traffic, the menu was varied and our meals were well prepared and of good quality.
The staff are very friendly and efficient in a relaxed manner, making you feel very much at home.
Chipping Campden is a lovely village with good pubs, restaurants and some interesting shops, it is an ideal location for touring the Cotswolds.
Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review - I would like to take the opportunity to respond - since your stay with us we have started a refurbishment programme. All of the rooms will have new bathrooms, flooring, carpets and furniture within the next 6 weeks. We have just completed the top 2 rooms and start the others in 2 weeks - all rooms will be completed by end of March. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Red Lion and was made to feel really welcome. The breakfast was excellent - you only had to ask and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable, full of character and clean. The evening menu was varied and each dish I had was prepared and served with style. All in all an really great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boulonois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The Red Lion Inn is comfortable and the owners/staff are very welcoming. Breakfast was generous and well prepared. A great spot to stop in the Cotswalds. Chipping Camden appears as a classic "chocolate box" setting and the Red Lion fits perfectly.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Chipping Campden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

inexpensive inn, great spacious room, ate dinner and breakfast - both very nice and large meals.
very cozy- large fires - old English pub- wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Really enjoyed our stay.
Large bathroom, nicely heated. Lots of character- large pub, heaps of parking

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent one night at the Red Lion Inn and really wished it was a longer stay.

We were in town for a wedding and had arrived around 3 hours before checking in time. We were welcomed by the team and although only one of our rooms were ready, we were shown up straight away. Our other room was ready within 20 minutes.

The rooms are in a separate part of the inn, which requires you to leave the pub and walk around the corner. I quite liked this as it meant we were away from the pub noise.

We had rooms on the top floor which meant our room was somewhat affected by the sloping roof. I think this added to the charm of the room and made it felt really cosy. The room itself was extremely comfortable, nicely decorated and spotless.

We also had lunch before we got ready for the wedding. The food was traditional pub food and was very good. It took a while to arrive, but i guess it must have been because we were the first people of the day to request food. Breakfast the next day was perfect!

The team were extremely lovely and friendly and were always up for a bit of banter. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Also, look out for Oscar- he is quite the character!

Downsides were that i would have liked a full mirror in the room, and the double doors to the bathroom were quite noisy which meant we were woken up by other guests opening and closing their doors.

Overall, loved this place, just sad that we only stayed for one night.

Room Tip: Old Slap and Dover might not be good rooms if you are super tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was one of our favorite hotels, and it was very inexpensive. It has been an inn since being built in the 1600's. It has a wonderful looking, cozy pub, a great beer garden, and parking. The pub has local ales and good wine. We love our cozy room with slanted timbered ceilings. The parrot, Oscar, adds a lot of atmosphere with his talking and sound effects!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendySanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,326 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing