We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, clean, very friendly staff, roaring fire”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“quiet, clean, very friendly staff, roaring fire”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

inexpensive inn, great spacious room, ate dinner and breakfast - both very nice and large meals.
very cozy- large fires - old English pub- wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Really enjoyed our stay.
Large bathroom, nicely heated. Lots of character- large pub, heaps of parking

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    63
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
117
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent one night at the Red Lion Inn and really wished it was a longer stay.

We were in town for a wedding and had arrived around 3 hours before checking in time. We were welcomed by the team and although only one of our rooms were ready, we were shown up straight away. Our other room was ready within 20 minutes.

The rooms are in a separate part of the inn, which requires you to leave the pub and walk around the corner. I quite liked this as it meant we were away from the pub noise.

We had rooms on the top floor which meant our room was somewhat affected by the sloping roof. I think this added to the charm of the room and made it felt really cosy. The room itself was extremely comfortable, nicely decorated and spotless.

We also had lunch before we got ready for the wedding. The food was traditional pub food and was very good. It took a while to arrive, but i guess it must have been because we were the first people of the day to request food. Breakfast the next day was perfect!

The team were extremely lovely and friendly and were always up for a bit of banter. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Also, look out for Oscar- he is quite the character!

Downsides were that i would have liked a full mirror in the room, and the double doors to the bathroom were quite noisy which meant we were woken up by other guests opening and closing their doors.

Overall, loved this place, just sad that we only stayed for one night.

Room Tip: Old Slap and Dover might not be good rooms if you are super tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was one of our favorite hotels, and it was very inexpensive. It has been an inn since being built in the 1600's. It has a wonderful looking, cozy pub, a great beer garden, and parking. The pub has local ales and good wine. We love our cozy room with slanted timbered ceilings. The parrot, Oscar, adds a lot of atmosphere with his talking and sound effects!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendySanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My partner Angela and myself stayed here for one night 30th oct ,our room was the "old slap" if your tall our very large make sure you dont book this room .the room was good for the price lots of beams cosy bed ,it was in an annexe when i book olde worlde inns i really want the main building accommodation. the red lion is almost medieval it must be 15th century lots of character features ,the location is great the high st is full of eating and drinking establishments .as we were staying in the red lion we decided to take our dinner there it was a very good choice my partners garlic chicken was cooked to perfection and extremely tasty ,my old favourite is liver bacon and mash this was delicious couldnt be faulted .the owner and staff are very friendly and service is good .will stay again but in a larger room but for £69 including a very good full english cant complain at all !!!!

Room Tip: dont choose old slap room if you need lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the food we provided - our aim to provide well priced accommodation and good home cooked food. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked to stay a the Red Lion to celebrate a milestone birthday. The room was described as lovely but this was not what met us when we arrived after a three hour journey. The "lovely" room was horrible, very dark, and dingy and was in a separate annex backing directly onto a busy road. (The bed headrest in the room backed directly onto a busy road and was very noisy). In addition to this, the room was dusty, had mould growing in the bathroom and hair in the bath, had peeling wallpaper and threadbare carpet. Although we were aware that the room was old, it hadn't been refurbished for at least 20 years and was not worth £99 per night.
We left after 20 minutes as the room was so below standard and was not as described. We had to find another hotel at short notice and the owner still had the cheek to take payment from my credit card which I will dispute all of the way.

Room Tip: Go to the Crown Inn in Blockley instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations - the room has windows on all aspects and is therefore not dark, the room does face a road, but we are a country village/town and it is not noisy, we have a strong cleaning regime and the room was clean and not dusty, the room was checked on your departure - no hair or mould was found in the bathroom and the carpet is not threadbare. Having taken over last year we have made some improvements already and have a programme of works to decorate all rooms starting in January. The guests who stayed in the room as you left, gave a very positive review and did not not raise any of these issues (see the one bellow yours).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The owners Tracey and Reg gave us a warm welcome, on our first visit to chipping campden, we stayed in the best bedroom (Jethro) comfy four poster bed, open log fireplace, large bath for two, lovely room furnishings red and luxurious delightful. Perfect central location for visiting Cotswold areas of interest. See other review on Red Lion pub food.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltySeaDog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive response after your stay in our 4 poster room 'Jethro' - we are glad you enjoyed the facilities and the food and service provided and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have booked a room in the hotel in the evening, they asked for the credit card details and said that in this way the room was reserved. Then the day after called them to make the full payment and they told me they tried to call many times as the room was gone by somebody that booked online. Their booking system is not efficient! Very frustrating!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank t p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are sorry that our booking system was not to your liking - and take your comments on board. We have now had our automated booking system updated and can now check all bookings being made via the telephone against the automated system - therefore no delay is made before updating the paper system. This will now limit the chance of rooms being funavailable before the paper system is updated against the on line system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,190 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#2 of 28 in Chipping Campden
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing