We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the price”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good for the price”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My partner Angela and myself stayed here for one night 30th oct ,our room was the "old slap" if your tall our very large make sure you dont book this room .the room was good for the price lots of beams cosy bed ,it was in an annexe when i book olde worlde inns i really want the main building accommodation. the red lion is almost medieval it must be 15th century lots of character features ,the location is great the high st is full of eating and drinking establishments .as we were staying in the red lion we decided to take our dinner there it was a very good choice my partners garlic chicken was cooked to perfection and extremely tasty ,my old favourite is liver bacon and mash this was delicious couldnt be faulted .the owner and staff are very friendly and service is good .will stay again but in a larger room but for £69 including a very good full english cant complain at all !!!!

Room Tip: dont choose old slap room if you need lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the food we provided - our aim to provide well priced accommodation and good home cooked food. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    62
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
114
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked to stay a the Red Lion to celebrate a milestone birthday. The room was described as lovely but this was not what met us when we arrived after a three hour journey. The "lovely" room was horrible, very dark, and dingy and was in a separate annex backing directly onto a busy road. (The bed headrest in the room backed directly onto a busy road and was very noisy). In addition to this, the room was dusty, had mould growing in the bathroom and hair in the bath, had peeling wallpaper and threadbare carpet. Although we were aware that the room was old, it hadn't been refurbished for at least 20 years and was not worth £99 per night.
We left after 20 minutes as the room was so below standard and was not as described. We had to find another hotel at short notice and the owner still had the cheek to take payment from my credit card which I will dispute all of the way.

Room Tip: Go to the Crown Inn in Blockley instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations - the room has windows on all aspects and is therefore not dark, the room does face a road, but we are a country village/town and it is not noisy, we have a strong cleaning regime and the room was clean and not dusty, the room was checked on your departure - no hair or mould was found in the bathroom and the carpet is not threadbare. Having taken over last year we have made some improvements already and have a programme of works to decorate all rooms starting in January. The guests who stayed in the room as you left, gave a very positive review and did not not raise any of these issues (see the one bellow yours).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The owners Tracey and Reg gave us a warm welcome, on our first visit to chipping campden, we stayed in the best bedroom (Jethro) comfy four poster bed, open log fireplace, large bath for two, lovely room furnishings red and luxurious delightful. Perfect central location for visiting Cotswold areas of interest. See other review on Red Lion pub food.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltySeaDog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive response after your stay in our 4 poster room 'Jethro' - we are glad you enjoyed the facilities and the food and service provided and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have booked a room in the hotel in the evening, they asked for the credit card details and said that in this way the room was reserved. Then the day after called them to make the full payment and they told me they tried to call many times as the room was gone by somebody that booked online. Their booking system is not efficient! Very frustrating!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank t p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are sorry that our booking system was not to your liking - and take your comments on board. We have now had our automated booking system updated and can now check all bookings being made via the telephone against the automated system - therefore no delay is made before updating the paper system. This will now limit the chance of rooms being funavailable before the paper system is updated against the on line system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After a tour of the Cotswolds for our 20th wedding anniversary we stopped of at the village chipping campden where we stayed at the red lion inn. The owners and staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The themed rooms were very comfortable,clean and well equipped. The food was very good value for money and all home cooked. The Red Lion Inn is unspoilt with many original features and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The four poster room is very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a perfect Inn for a 25th Wedding anniversary. The Olde World features can been seen in all area's of the Inn, bar, restaurant and bedrooms. We had the 4 poster room and the features were amazing, original oak beams everywhere.Tracey and her staff could not have been more helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Spotlessly clean, and we stopped for 3 nights, and we had fresh clean towels every day. The breakfast is perfect, even to the point of picking your own time to eat. The menu is comprehensive, and has a good variation. We ate in the Inn all 3 nights, and all meals were hot and served promptly. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anybody. On our 25th anniversary, Tracey presented us with a bottle of champagne, what a lovely gesture.

Room Tip: All rooms away from Inn, so no noise carryover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for your very positive comments and glad you enjoyed your stay in our 4 poster room - we are glad you enjoyed the food we provide, as we try to offer good value home cooked meals. We hope you had a good 25th Anniversary and enjoyed the Champagne. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here last Oct. 2012 and we loved it. It was everything I wanted and hoped for. The Inn was on the main street in town and you could walk anywhere from there. The rooms were comfortable and clean. If you want more modern then please think of staying somewhere else. We enjoyed our breakfast and ate dinner there a couple of nights. The owners were extremely nice and most helpful. We also enjoyed talking to the parrot. He could be quite a talker. One morning we woke up to a horse being ridden in the street with the clop clop sounds of his hooves. Another time we saw an older couple driving a very old car in town. Would not hesitate to stay here again. History oozes all around you in this Inn and town. ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ko1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
4.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing