We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had heard that an annual event in Chipping Campden called the 'Dover's Games' was worth experiencing so added this charming Cotswold village to our itinerary. On arrival in the afternoon traffic was diverted by an officious local who was terribly rude when we explained that we were guests of the hotel and if possible, be able to park until we checked in. He refused to allow us parking and directed us to a car park 20 minutes walk away. On checking in at the hotel we were told that the car parking area reserved for pub patrons and staff was full and there was no reserved parking for guests. The young lady at the bar was helpful and called the owner/manager to provide a solution as we had heavy luggage. A non caring attitude by her was more than surprising. We were shown to our room which was clean and tidy given the age and history of the building. The beds were uncomfortable and the ensuite bathroom was tiny and needing an update. A sheet in the room with breakfast times and basic menu choices was required to be left at the bar the evening before. breakfast was to be served in the bar area. At our chosen time we went for breakfast and the owner/manager was still setting up so had to wait a good 10 minutes or so. There was no attention by the her as to how we would like our eggs cooked or any other requirements we might like. It seemed that fried was the only option. Usually there is some interaction with guests during the meal with top ups of tea or toast or a cheerful conversation but from the time the meal was plonked on the table we did not see the manager again. No plates were cleared so we had to juggle room on the table. Other guests were equally surprised by the comments we overheard. On departing she just took our key and just kept walking without even a comment as to how we enjoyed our stay or time spent visiting the town. Overall, quite a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank la_rain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments - I am sorry you had a disappointing stay with us and found local parking attendants for Dovers games rude. I did however pleaded your case and spoke to the parking attendant on your behalf - and arranged street parking for you on the busiest weekend of the year for the town. Breakfast includes cereal, juice and a range of cooked food - which can be varied to meet specific needs if requested. Your comments will be taken on board and reviewed.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
116
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived to the coldest British Easter since 1962 - which is a challenge for an old drafty house like this. Our room was cold when we arrived late at night, and it took a while to get it comfortably warmed up. Like so many old English houses, the windows don't provide much isoation, and we could feel the cold coming in throughout the night. Other than that, a decent room with not much to complain about.

Chipping Campden is a charming little market town, and the Red Lion is right in the middle of it. They have a nice pickup service if you're arriving by train at Moreton-in-Marsh, which we had to use as we were walking the Cotswold Way down to Wotton-under-Edge. Quite nice breakfast in the pub, which also seemed like a decent place for a few pints, had we arrived earlier the night before.

All in all, not a bad place to stay on our Cotswold walk, though we had better experiences further south along the path.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stesath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from a hen weekend staying in beautiful wellacres near chipping campden. 14 middle aged welsh ladies in england for the finale of the rugby six nations. To our horror on saturday morning try as we might we were unable to find any taxis to take us into chipping campden to watch the match at a local hostelry.......then a local told us of Reg.....the landlord of the red lion who also provides a taxi service
We enjoyed prosecco and bowls of crispy chips at the red lion with tracey. Reg was a lifesaver and ferried us between various locations making the day run smoothly and a major success....on top of wales winning the six nations. Thankyou Tracey and Reg

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
578 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all, this is an old place, with creaky floors. You will hear people walking about above you if you are on the ground fllor like us. Luckily after our neighbours arrived home at midnight, we didnt hear another sound till morning. You're also right on the road, but at night there's no cars noise either in this quiet village.

We stayed in the four poster room, which was on the ground floor. We were given a space in the car park, useful as even in March there were few places on the main road to par. The bed was very low, but comfortable enough, and the room spacious but obviously made from parts of an old house, not designed as a "hotel room". The bathroom was big, but we were told not to run the bath too quickkly as it woudl end up cold. Quite mixed up decor and furnishings, but nice enough. Nice stone walls inside.

Good breakfast, the pub itself looked nice enough, pricey but average for the area, but we would stay again no problem...

Room Tip: if youre a light sleeper, maybe upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive response - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just got back from a long weekend stay at the Red Lion Inn at Chipping Campden, to sum it up in a phrase, "A wondeful Inn that has good quality food, drink and superb rooms".

I have visited the Cotswolds many times and have stayed either in hotels or cottages, but decided to book a room at a comfy inn for a change, one of my better decisions!!

After reading the many positive reviews on here and ignoring the rather odd review "Very Disappointing New Years", (who after comparing my own experience, the author is clearly either from the competition, after a free stay, or is used to a modern travelodge style hotel rather than a traditional 400 year old Inn), my partner and I chose to book the Red Lion.

From the point of booking the staff could not have been more helpful, emailing personally to confirm the booking, checking how we would like the room set up (twin or double), and had no problem with my changing the arrival date after getting this wrong when initally completing the on-line booking form.

The Red Lion Inn is a traditional pub with B+B rooms that are to the side of the pub so you can come and go without having to walk through the bar. The rooms are just as you would expect from the Cotswolds, comfy, well equipped and are as shown on the website.

Of a morning the breakfast was to die for, I don't think I have ever had such fresh sausages or bacon. For a drink of an evening there is a choice of bars, from younger type to the traditional pub with roaring fires. The pub has an excellent atmosphere, unlike the other 'zero atmosphere' hotel bars or locals 'stare at you when you walk in for 30 minutes' pubs you'll find in the town.

Food. Good honest fresh food, I enjoyed every meal, and its quality shows by its popularity and how many residents from other hotels come for dinner whilst the various other restaurant's in town sit empty. (Although busy, you can book to reserve a table).

Finally the staff, the best part of the Red Lion friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 78Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feed back - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we do try to make guests stays as nice as possible and hope to see you again in the near future. We work hard on creating a friendly, welcoming place to visit, offering good home cooked local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for one night and was great. They allowed us to bring our dog who stayed in the room with us which is a bonus. The room was spacious and comfortable. Had all you would expect, tea, coffee biscuits, fresh bottle of water and toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was to die for. Very comfy in deed. The staff were very polite and friendly and couldnt do enough for you. We had a meal in the pub and the standard was very high. We had a great night in the hotel

Chipping Camden as a village is just perfect with lots of pubs to choose from

The Red Lion is definatley one we would return to

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments - we aim to be a family and pet friendly establishment where people can come and enjoy our local produce and open fires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We walked down the High Street and was drawn into the Red Lion Inn when we looked in the window and saw a roaring Log Fire in the Bar. We sat hogging the fire, and was made most welcome by the staff that we ended up staying for more drinks than intended. I made a comment that the basket of chocolates behind the bar looked lovely, and was promptly given one by the Landlady to taste - that chocolate did it for me, and I now can't wait to return to this wonderful cosy friendly pub. This pub is home from home and one to visit when you want to experience a Country Pub, a Log Fire, and friendly locals. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stovies1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for you lovely comments - glad our open fires and friendly staff could be of service - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing