We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxhill Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charingworth Manor(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
92
68
26
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
68
26
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnice large showerfour poster bedsteak and ale piesticky puddinglong weekend stayseparate entrancecreaking floorsopen log firenice place to stayreally enjoyed our stay herefish and chipsold buildingwould stay againhotel guestsate heretea making facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 198 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at The Red Lion on New Years Eve, we were warmly welcomed.
The staff were all very friendly and so accommodating.
Our room was an absolute gem, really quaint and was just beautiful, very comfy bed.
We had dinner in the restaurant, it was fantastic. There was music in the stable bar to see in the new year, it was a great night.
Really nothing bad to say, will definitely return in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Wanted to stay in a traditional inn and found it in this gem. Chipping campden is like something from a BBC period drama and the Red Lion Inn is very much in keeping with the surroundings. Christmas market was on with Carol Singers in the street all adding to the wonderful winter atmosphere. Beautiful shops open late selling lovely Christmas gifts and every shopkeeper so friendly. The Red Lion is in a perfect position. It's a family run inn. and everyone we dealt with was lovely, friendly and so eager to please. Room was a small double but was perfect although my 6ft 2 husband had to duck as the ceilings were low. Decor was nice and spotless. Roaring fires in the lounge made it a pleasure to come in from the cold. The ample breakfast was tasty and again nothing was a bother. I hope that we will be able to return to this gem.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renfrewbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your very positive comments. Owners and staff at the Red Lion try our best to accommodate all guests needs to our full potential. We hope to see you again in the future - thank you for your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely friendly oldie worldie hotel with great food. Met the owners in the street, who made a great fuss of our Brown Newfoundland dog Dusty. We went in for dinner that night and had a lamp shank, which was excellent. Loved the African Grey parrot upstairs who kept us amused all night with his impressions of the dog barking etc. They made us all very welcome including Dusty who enjoyed the sausage sent out from the kitchen for her. Lovely night out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogshow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments - we are glad you decided to come and make a visit after meeting in the street. We pride ourselves on being a family and pet friendly establishment and are glad we could be of service. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights very recently and were very happy with our stay. The place is one of the oldest inns in the town and as such you have to expect there to be creaking floors and old rattle windows, which really doesn't detract from the character of the place and rather adds to it. The rooms had been nicely decorated and although the furniture was a bit tired a lot of effort had been made to ensure that the rooms were cosy, warm and had some nice touches, eg tea making facilities and bottled water at no extra cost. Yes, you can hear other people moving about in the rooms above and the plumbing does make a noise but it didn't stop us from sleeping at all. The Red Lion is on the high st so expect a bit of road noise but it's hardly the M4 outside so it's really no problem. The food was pretty good for the price and we were more than happy to fill in our breakfast request the night before. The owners and staff are really friendly and this aspect of any trip away from home is always the most important for us. Our Jack Russell was allowed to stay and she was made to feel very welcome, which included treats at the bar and a sausage for breakfast. The owners are working hard to bring the place up to a high standard but it is certainly more than comfortable and good value for money, so we would gladly recommend. It isn't 5 star but then you'd be paying a lot more if it was!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazzaanddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay with us. We appreciate your understanding that you are staying in a listed building - and the fact that you appreciate the effort made to make your stay enjoyable. You also commented on our work programme - this is our first year here and we are working slowly to upgrade and update all facilities available to our customers. However while doing this, we aim to give a positive and comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

i recently stayed at the red lion for 4 nights as part of a business trip / course. tracey and sam were absolutley brilliant and made us feel very welcome and at ease. Nothing was too much trouble and their friendliness made the week away from home go really quickly. The room was warm and comfortable and the whole place oozed character. We ate in the pub every night - the food was excellent and well priced.i would defintely stay here again - for business or leisure!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews