We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping the night fpr the breakfast”
Review of Eight Bells Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eight Bells Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worth stopping the night fpr the breakfast”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for just one night on a special deal through booking.com. The pub itself is charming and the owners are very friendly. When checking in we were given a form to complete with the promise of a free drink once done. A very nice gesture. Our room was quite large although a bit on the chilly side to start with as the radiators had been turned down. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. The bathroom was lovely but as with all old buildings the water pressure wasn't great. Our room was above the bar and there was some noise (as to be expected) but the pub isn't open late so it wasn't a problem. We ate in the bar in the evening. The menu is quite small and slightly on the pricey side however we enjoyed our meals. The cheese and biscuits we ordered for dessert was a little disappointing. The three cheeses served were a bit boring (cheddar, stilton and brie) and the homemade chutney had been replaced by a very sweet sort of fruit jam. However the kitchen was due to close a couple of days later for a refurbishment so this may have had something to do with it. The highlight of the stay however was the breakfast. The fresh fruit salad and yoghurt was delicious and for the main course there was plenty of choice and it was all freshly cooked to order. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    25
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
106
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The meal was poorly cooked. Cous cous was hard - no water had been added. Lamb was tough and unpleasant. No-one asked why we left our food. Frozen chips had been cooked so many times that they were black. We had looked forward to eating here and it was such a shock that it was so bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Brilliant stay,staff are so pleasant and helpful,room excellent, food terrific , the whole package was a night to saver, a event to remember throughout 2014 , and we look forward to the next time with eager anticipation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed six nights in October - comfortable room and bed - the restaurant is always top notch and staff are very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast as well - If you like staying in Pubs (Inns) rather than hotels as we do, the Eight Bells is a wonderful choice. Enjoy. If you can't get a room and are in the neighborhood, call for a dinner reservation and enjoy a great meal or just drop in for a pint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkandMary42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed out visit to the pub. It is very large with a beautiful courtyard when you can eat and drink....I imagine its is very popular in the warm months. My son and I sat near a wonderful warm fireplace and was pleasantly surprised by the menu choices, many of them untraditional (they had some traditional fare as well.) I am a foody so when I saw a lamb burger with tzatziki sauce I was quite excited. My son had a pasta dish with warm melty goat cheese and pesto. I would have given the pub a 4 star rating but I found both dishes to be extremely under seasoned. I would however still give it another shot!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Darla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silly suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

EIGHT BELLS INN, CHIPPING CAMPDEN

We stayed Fri and Sat nights in Room 3 for a wedding on Saturday afternoon.

The room was tiny, barely space to get around the bed. No chair nor table, merely one stool. No shelves or chest of drawers to put clothes or belongings. The advertised “ironing board” was six inches high, so I had to iron my wedding outfit squatting on the floor! But there were plenty of hangars in the wardrobe, and an iron, hairdryer, alarm clock, tissues, shower cap, soap and body wash as well as tea/coffee/chocolate/biscuits and 2 bottles of mineral water.

The window looked out onto a concrete wall, and there were no curtains, only a slatted blind. The window opened wide, so for security we had to keep it closed at night.

There is no car park nor reserved parking for guests, although the on-street parking outside is free and unlimited – if you are lucky enough to find a space.

The décor was grim and the lighting dim, and the toilet seat was broken. But on the plus side the wifi was free.

Breakfast finished at 9.30am, even at weekends, which we thought rather early for a holiday area. My grapefruit had been very roughly prepared – I had to re-cut it with a teaspoon and my fingers. And the mushrooms appeared to have been out of a tin and boiled – revolting! There were a number of overseas visitors in the dining room who were no doubt bowled over by the historic ambience of this lovely old building, but we felt quite embarrassed that they were being taken for a bit of an expensive ride and would get a poor impression of English hospitality.

We strolled round the charming town in the morning (don't miss the lovely wool church!) and when we returned to shower and change for the wedding, the room had not been made up: there was no “do not disturb/please do the room” card to hang on the door handle, although we'd handed our key in, so the management knew when we were out. The poor little girl wanted to come in while we were showering and was about to go off duty for the weekend, so we had to do without.

This room cost £85 per night: even half the price would have been poor value. How it got its 4 stars baffles me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lornemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Eight Bells on a 3 nights for 2 offer. It was excellent value for money ,room was comfy ,food and drink to suit all tastes, service brilliant with friendly staff !We ate twice in the restaurant and were served well cooked tasty food, breakfast was equally good. The staff were excellent and professional, special thanks to Sarah who could not do enough for us, including relocating us from restaurant to the pub for our last night meal - due to the behaviour of 2 over indulged brats with a bright LED torch ,(part of a large family group) ,we were moved with no fuss at all. The pub is vibrant and a major part of the community, we happily rubbed shoulders with the locals who were all very friendly. We can recommend the Eight Bells to couples and families alike. The only reason I ve not given it an excellent score is the fact that the bathroom in our room though quite large, was a little dated , it has so much scope for a refit, that's the only slightly negative comment I can make about this very good establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
2.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
623 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Inn

Property: Eight Bells Inn
Address: Church Street, Chipping Campden, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eight Bells Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Bells Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing