We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but pricey for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Eight Bells Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eight Bells Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok but pricey for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Visited on Friday 5th October and made mistake of accepting a booking at 6.30pm in the restaurant. We were the only ones there... No space to move us to bar. Service was over attentive with too frequent checks and chase ups possibly because waiting staff had nobody else to deal with. Food was reasonable enough but wine by the glass at over £4.00 for 175ml? Desserts at minimum of £6.00? Appreciate Cotswolds location gets a premium but this was over the top. This place needs an early bird 2 or 3 courses at lower price and sensible drinks pricing. Maybe that will get more visitors on Friday evenings?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qualitycounts64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    25
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
104
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the eight bells inn.Fantastic room,really quirky,the bed was comfy and the room spacious.The breakfast was amazing,and the staff were friendly,helpful and very efficient.We had 2 evening meals which were also fantastic and good value for money,the service was brilliant.I can't think of a single negative.Keep up all your hard work

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed for one night in this lovely old traditional pub, staff very friendly & helpfull. The room was overlooking the beer garden but very quiet on a night. The food was fabulous & very good value. It is definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NelsonGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have recently returned from a four day tour in the Cotswolds.

As to be expected this involved several pub visits in as many villages.

None too the Eight Bells in Chipping Camden. It is a fabulous period property with an idyllic garden an outstanding menu offering something for most and friendly efficient service.

They set the bar high and it was no one off.i have been before and it was just as good. Chipping Camden is also well worth a look round in its own right.

Mitchell
The london&englandtourguide

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mic239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stopped here for a course at work and really enjoyed it. I arrived in the evening and was shown to my room in the old part of the building and was pleasantly surprised by the decor, I was expecting a basic room with double bed and shower and found a suite with bath and sofa! :) the staff were friendly and helpful and food in the restaurant although expensive was delicious. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahmearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this cute, historic inn. It's a good idea to book a table for dinner in advance as the pub/restaurant was full every evening. Food was delicious, especially the sticky toffee pudding! Very friendly and helpful staff made our stay comfortable. We found Room 2 to be quite sufficient for our brief stay. It was clean and had a view of neighboring rooftops. Breakfast was plentiful and filling enough to give you energy to walk on the Cotswolds Way which begins here in Chipping Campben. The village is tiny and very quaint with the typical English charm that makes you want to return!

Room Tip: Room 2 is comfortable and offers a view of neighboring rooftops and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avid_traveler_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our room was tucked in the back which was partly underground, it did seem a bit damp. It was clean enough, but could have been better. We did eat in the pub which was good food. As for the price, everything just seemed to be pricey in Europe so I don't know if it was considered more than average. The service was good and friendly, the breakfast was delicious. The building does have character and the location was very good with parking on the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbqLBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
2.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
4.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Inn

Property: Eight Bells Inn
Address: Church Street, Chipping Campden, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eight Bells Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Bells Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing