We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding weekend”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding, with the hotel being booked exclusively for the Saturday and Sunday morning.

A pleasant little country hotel, with great staff - they all went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble: genuine service with a smile. Really helped to make our weekend.

The breakfasts were great, with a mixture of continental and full English - the latter is not as hearty as is sometimes the case, but the ingredients were all very tasty (locally sourced?). Anywhere that includes black pudding in the cooked breakfast will get a favourable vote from me ! Staff really accommodating about changes to orders as well - extra beans, no sausage, kippers instead of eggs, etc, etc - nothing too much trouble.

We had two rooms in the main hotel - one for the kids and one for us. The rooms in general were clean and comfortable, but - as it's an old building - they're quirky: bumpy floors, low ceilings, uneven steps. All part of the charm for me, but worth bearing in mind if you're used to modern five star perfection. There is also some issue with noise - our room was on the front of the hotel, overlooking the street, and we were conscious both of noisy late night passers-by and early morning coach parties. Some of the guests stayed in rooms in a cottage out at the back - they seemed really nice as well, and likely quieter.

Not cheap, but then very little in Chipping Camden is !

All in all, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 107 is two mini - rooms behind its own door, up a steep little staircase. Kids loved the privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    159
    63
    27
    9
See reviews for
55
348
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a beautiful, typically Cotswolds, property which the tourists love. Even in the pouring rain you can see cameras being pointed this way. It really is at the centre of Chipping Campden and looks directly over the town Square and parking. The downside of this, if you are a light sleeper, is late night and early morning activity. No fault of the hotel of course but consider this when booking.

The service is excellent, the staff most helpful and the food is really very good. It is a charming hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've stayed here a few times now and each time the accommodation, staff, food, and service has been first class.

We stayed last week as a birthday treat from my husband, and we were lucky enough to stay in the feature cottage suite which is huge, with a lovely shower/wet room and a beautiful bath, sofa, king-size bed and chaise longe in the main room.

When we got there our room wasn't quite ready as we arrived just before 3pm but we were more than happy to have a wander around the village - but we were treated to a free drink of our choice in the bar, which is quiet and cosy. A brilliant start!!

Our package included dinner, which was just gorgeous - we both agreed it was the best meal we have had in a long time.

The room was so comfy and cosy, as well as being luxurious - we slept like logs! Breakfast was delicious and the chef was accommodating with our requests.

The staff were all so helpful and friendly, service at dinner and breakfast was very efficient which made the stay ever better.

We will be back!!!! :-)-

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWurmli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have eaten in the main restaurant which is obviously more formal than the bar, however, I prefer eating in the bar as it has a cosy feel about it. The food is very good, and atmosphere is great. The waiters are professional, one in particular (Josh) is friendly and excellent. Will definately go back as I am fairly local and love eating in Chipping Campden and so this is one place to frequent time and time again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December 2012 whilst on mini moon via an internet deal on secret escapes. On arrival, there appeared to be no where to park but the hotel has a separate parking area for patrons at the rear. Our standard double was cosy and little snug but we did have a king sized bed. Our room faced the high street but we experienced no disturbance by way of traffic noise. Be aware of deliveries to hotel early if you do like to sleep. As the building is listed all windows are single glazed so we kept the curtains closed to keep the heat in. The curtains were also thick so no drafts. Bed comfy and very soft, sheets a very good quality cotton. As far as I could see, there were no lifts in the hotel so stairs only.

As part of our deal, we had a three course meal in the restaurant for one of our night's stay. Food was lovely and service prompt but we did eat early (6pm). Good selection of local produce but definitely check the menu first if dietary requirements apply. I'm not veggy but didn't see much in the way of non meat dishes. If eating here at weekends, booking is advisable as it got very busy when we were finishing and a few people were turned away as the restaurant was full booked. London prices apply here. Breakfast also great, good choice (both cooked and continental) together with good service in the same location as the restaurant.

As much as we had a great time here, I would recommend a deal if possible. On paying £262 for two people including welcome drink, three course meal on one night and two morning's breakfast, if normal rates had applied, our stay would have been about £450.

Room Tip: Note wheel chair access is limited and as the hotel is old, some floors are uneven, doorways low and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fers1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay in Chipping Campden and the Kings Hotel looked ideal. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on our 2nd night as we were at the RSC on the 1st evening.
The food is just excellent if a little slow in being served. Similarly the breakfast was lovely but a little chaotic in terms of service.
The senior staff need to provide a more mentoring role for the youngsters who are very willing but a little lacking in experience. Recruit a more experienced 'head waiter' type who can train on the job and provide a role model.

Room Tip: Choose a queen which we were upgraded to as we were booked in for 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannypatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We decided to have dinner at this hotel whilst staying nearby in the town.
We were not disappointed. The ambience was lovely, staff friendly but not overbearing, food excellent. Thank you Chefs.
Should we visit the town in the future we out definitely stay here.

Room Tip: We weren't staying here we cannot comment on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,023 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
642 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,190 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing