We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Nearby Hotels
The Seagrave Arms(Chipping Campden)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
$178
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
$305
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charingworth Manor(Chipping Campden)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eight Bells Inn(Chipping Campden)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Seymour House(Chipping Campden)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badgers Hall(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Norton Grounds(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Red Lion Inn(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Volunteer Inn(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
313
179
63
29
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
179
63
29
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfudgequeen roomlovely hotelthe main hotelcottage roomssuperb foodduty managerbooked this hotelmain coursetwo nightsevening mealkippersbottled waternight breakone night staycooked to perfectionsmoked salmon
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 590 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I accompanied by four friends took advantage of a secret escapes deal at this hotel. The deal had the usual free evening meal on the first night and unlike some previous hotel deals where your free meal comes from an inferior menu this was the real deal.
The young staff could not have been more friendly, helpful, polite and cheerful. They held over our free champagne until the following evening as we had brought our own for the first night. They even brought up some champagne flutes to our room so we didn't have to use our tooth mugs!
The food was excellent, easily as good as a first class restaurant in London. The rooms were clean if a little on the dark side - all the ladies said a make up light would have been useful.
Chipping Campden itself is a typical Cotswold town with lots of tea rooms, eateries and boutique shops. A most enjoyable two days. I could not recommend the Hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Bed sizes do vary so be specific when booking.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have just come back from two nights at this lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The staff can not do enough for you. We had a light snack in the bar and then the most magnificant meal in the evening. The chef is exceptional, everything we ate was perfection.
We ate on the two nights we stayed in the restaurant and could not recommend it highly enough.
Every member of staff from the young people behind the bar, the front of house and housekeeping made you feel at home.
There is so much to do in the surrounding areas, or just chill out and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Despite a few minor issues with heating that were dealt with shortly after our arrival, we had a very pleasant stay here. The hotel looks out over the main square and is ideally located for exploring the Cotswold towns and villages.
Dinner was very good and reasonably priced wines available.
The breakfast is plentiful, and based on local produce.
The staff were always on hand and very helpful.
Happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyLeMasurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

On arrival we asked whether there were the past Champagne Happy Hour offers and were told not. We later (too late) discovered from a neighbouring table that all Champagne bottles were half price; a pity for us and for the establishment. I asked for a pint of the only hand pump ale 'available' and was informed that it was unavailable (rather poor stock management and why not keep a barrel in reserve). The glass of Tempranillo that was ordered resulted in a glass of white wine! (irritating for us and wasteful for the restaurant). The de-caf espressos took fifteen minutes to arrive and were effectively small dilute filter coffees (we were informed this to be the norm when ordering such coffees). The glass of Champagne that had been earlier requested was at room temperature due, it transpired, to the cooler having been left without ice for seemingly many hours prior (despite bar staff having time to chat to one another at leisure) the response to which, rather than acquire a cold bottle from the refrigerator, was to offer to transfer the Champagne to alternating glasses with ice; - one way of ensuring an £8 glass of dilute, sparkle free but indeed chilled fluid!! Food was otherwise OK. A pity as it is otherwise a nice place and nice staff.

Room Tip: From our experience, visit the restaurant on a night you don't plan to drink!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of 16/17 Feb 2012. We found the hotel online as I'd previously had some very enjoyable stays at one of its sister hotels, Buckland Tout Saints in South Devon. All in all, our stay at The King's Hotel was very pleasant. The building has a lovely atmosphere, with a real blend of historic and boutique. The staff are courteous and professional and the location is ideal for Cotswold tourists, helped by the private car park. A few details were less ideal - our room was right up in the eaves and, whilst spacious and full of period character, wouldn't have been much fun for anyone taller than my relatively average 5'10. Lots of potential for bumping one's head on the rafters. The lack of a 'proper' stand-up shower might also have annoyed some people, although allowances have to be made for such an old building. Ditto for the bed, which whilst on the slightly small/creaky side (ours was a Queen Room), turned out to be very comfortable in practice. A double-booking error was also made with our dinner reservation, with the result that we had to eat in the brasserie instead of the formal restaurant. I was a bit annoyed by this oversight at the time but the food and service were great so not the end of the world. All in all, I would recommend The King's Hotel to anyone planning to visit this particularly beautiful Cotswold village. Just make sure if you're any taller than me that you don't specify a bedroom up in the eaves!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor if you're above average height!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews