We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for one night and chose to dine in the hotel restaurant. The whole experience was delightful. The room was well appointed, an extremely comfortable bed, tea and fresh coffee making facilities, lashings of hot water and a luxurious bathroom. The meal was good value, £50 a head for three courses, coffee, two g and t's and a decent bottle of wine (oh and two glasses of pudding wine and fudge!). The village is very pretty and not as busy as Stow or Broadway, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    156
    61
    25
    6
See reviews for
51
341
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here on 16th Feb in one of the Cottage Feature suites (Clifford). Huge room with deep, long bath on a pedestal in the room and a great wet room. Staff were good and friendly, nice decor in Brasserie and Restaurant. Very expensive (but it is one of the best in the Cotswolds) and overall a good experience. So why not 5 stars? Well, for what came to £410 for 1 night with dinner and breakfast, I look for attention to detail. Our room was nice but a few stains in the carpet, a bit if ripped carpet around the in room bath, and a dirty flannel left on the head of Neptunes statue in the wet room are not rally acceptable. Yes, there was a massive statue of Neptune in the wet room which on closer inspection was plastic and to be honest, a little tacky. Restaurant food was good but not outstanding. A starter of scallops was a little tasteless and the amuse bouche was evidently leftover soup from the lunchtime brasserie menu (I know, because I had it at lunch). Main course was excellent but pudding was stodgy (the accompanying ice cream was served on a flat slate and when it started to melt, left the slate quickly! Style over substance). One final negative was the car park, jam packed and very tight taking an 8 or 9 point turn to carefully get out.
All in all, pleasant but not superb, which for cost, was expected. Can do better very easily and quickly but I suspect there are better value, equivalent places to stay and eat in such a lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marky_Mark1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited the Kings Hotel last night and enjoyed a meal in the brasserie.
The staff were extremely attentive and the food excellent.
Extremely good vaue for money.
Lovely surroundings and I can thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, conveniently located in the centre of Chipping Camden. The rooms were reached by some pretty steep stairs but as we were at the top of the building it was very quiet indeed. The bathroom was in need of some attention as are some of the window frames but we were informed that a refurbishment project is planned during the course of this year.

The bar / brasserie had a nice atmosphere are we enjoyed sitting in the window seats. The dining room is very homely especially in the candle light. The leaf tables have character and fit into the style of the building. The pew type seating in the middle of the dining room is quite novel. There is also a small private dining room.

Dinner was really excellent - quite a compact menu but everything cooked to perfection. The olive oil was delicious and, having a salt addiction we also enjoyed the individually wrapped seasalt butter. Wines are reasonably priced. Breakfast is buffet style for cereals, juices etc but the hot breakfast order is taken at the table and served straight from the kitchen.

All the staff whom we came across were very friendly, helpful and professional. We had a quite lengthy chat with the assistant manager (he had also checked us in) who was most charming.

The car park entrance is quite tight with limited spaces but we had no problem parking directly outside the front door on the street.

Would certainly stay again during any future trip over the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are very quiet but beware if you do not like steep stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've stayed next door (at the Cotswold House hotel) before and were pleasantly surprised we could stay in virtually the same location but for a fraction of the price with a Secret Escapes (Telegraph offers) deal. The package included dinner on the first night and the food was excellent only marred by the staff laying up all the other tables for breakfast whilst we were still eating (we were the last in the restaurant but it was still only around 9.30pm). Otherwise a nice hotel and it was fairly quiet at the front apart from the occasional antisocial young driver with a noisy baked bean can exhaust using Chipping Campden High Street as a drag strip. If you're a light sleeper you may be better off at the back of the hotel. Lovely room (see picture) and very friendly service. We're sure to go back sometime.

Room Tip: Front for the town view, rear for peace & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for a two night break in the lovely little town and found the whole area full of character and very attractive. The Hotel was a delight and the food and service excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor at the front and we were not bothered with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Took my partner for a birthday treat spent two nights in a Queen room superb food and very friendly and helpful staff. During our stay we had very heavy snow which added to the romance but unfortunately there was no area were we could retire to relax in comfy sofas and chairs in front of an open fire read magazines and have a hot toddy lacked the rustic charm that we were looking for.

Room Tip: Booked through Secret Escapes.Com excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing