We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Country Town Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We wanted to get away for a mini-break in the Cotswolds and so we booked 3 nights at the Kings Hotel (Mon-Fri). My first impression was "this is perfect". The garden with a lovely patio greets you before entering a stylish interior which is in keeping with the building's historical character.

The rooms were just as welcoming and were spotlessly clean. You will have a comfortable stay as everything you could require to make it so is provided, down to crisp white bath robes.

The food is very good. The breakfasts are especially good, as you can enjoy a vast selection of continental eats and/or a good old English breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled egg etc. The restaurant offers a set menu or you can dine in the Brassiere. Try both, I would say, as their menus are the most interesting compared to the other options in town and they are reasonably priced too.

I would definitely go back to the Kings Hotel as it represents value for money for those looking to treat themselves on a relaxing mini-break down in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyC915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed for two nights in an atic room. Traditional with all mod cons. Staff were excellent, friendly & very helpful. Great location for touring other places in the Cotswolds & in the centre of town. We thoroughly enjoyed it here. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Went on spec first time and liked it so much cameback with some friends. It was an enjoyable evening in lovely surroundings. food was wellpresented and tasty in the restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Flint77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed for two nights and really loved it. We had a wonderful room in the cottage annexe. It was very large, well decorated and quiet. An extremely comfortable bed made the visit perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and couldn't fault the food or the service. I only had the continental breakfasts on both mornings, which was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at The Kings. Lovely decor and beautifully equipped plus a good deal on Laterooms which included a superb breakfast.

It was good to be able to walk around the quaint town and we ate in the bar - good food, lovely atmosphere and it didn't break the bank.

Breakfast was a relaxed affair with a good choice and served in a beautifully characterful room which is their restaurant in the evenings.

We would certainly stay again when next in that area of the Cotswolds and would recommend this hotel for anyone looking ofr stylish character at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscarposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This was our second stay although we have had lunch in the bar on a few occasions with family. We requested a room change which was accommodated without question. The new room was bright and airy overlooking the square. Fresh coffee was a nice touch.
The new bar area is very welcoming for a drink before dinner. The restaurant is cosy, warm and atmospheric. The menu is excellent value for money, with the food well presented. Tables are not too close together and the staff attentive and service excellent.
We like this hotel very much, it is warm and welcoming and we will visit again. I would highly recommend for a good value short break.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at The Kings for just one night but wish it had been longer, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very good and it was an ideal base for touring the Cotswolds we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,102 reviews
0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,116 reviews
3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
491 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,198 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $101 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing