We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Seagrave Arms(Chipping Campden)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
$181
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Badgers Hall(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Norton Grounds(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Eight Bells Inn(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Inn(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Volunteer Inn(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveler rating
624
358
148
63
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
358
148
63
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitefig restauranthot tubturn down servicesteam roomsorbetsmall poolhomemade cookiescottage roomeggs benedictprivate gardenhuge bathbreakfast servicebottle of champagnesister hotelspecial occasionmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I visited the hotel for a birthday treat. We planned a day in the spa, then an evening at the restaurant etc.

The website looks very impressive, but the spa facilities are extremely limited! I should have realised something was wrong when no one on reception offered to show us around - there isn't anything to find! There is one very small pool that doubles up as the hydrotherapy pool and the jacuzzi. There is a small dingy steam room with corroded pipe work (space for two comfortably). We asked where the rain shower was, and were told it was in the changing rooms. Changing rooms are very small, but quite clean. The pool area was such a disappointment. The jets weren't working properly, and the antislip mats needed a good clean! There are comfortable loungers by the pool, and we were finally shown the relaxation room after our treatments. The one positive about the spa were the treatments. I was really pleased with my massage, and so was my husband. Although, he did say that it didn't last the allocated time, and was about 10 minutes short! A nice touch was some fruit sorbet and a chilled water in the relaxation room after the treatment. The most misleading thing is that there are no food/drink facilities at the spa. You can walk through the gardens to get yourself a drink from the main hotel, but this wasn't really something that I fancied doing in the rain, and in my dressing gown. I looked back at the website, and in fairness to them it doesn't say that they have facilities on the spa site; however, the assumption was made as there are many references to their restaurants at the hotel. I wrongly assumed that one restaurant was affiliated with the hotel, and the other with the spa. I was wrong! If you are staying at the hotel it might be worth a treatment, but please don't book this hotel expecting to be able to spend a day/afternoon at the spa. You will be disappointed.

As for the hotel. We stayed in one of the garden rooms and were pleased with the facilities. We had a hot tub in the garden area which was great, but not the cleanest again. Staff were pleasant, and happily brought a drink to the room when requested. It was noisy at night - I think as we were close to the kitchens you could hear staff leaving and clearing down. It was still very noisy at around midnight, so we had to close the windows to get some peace. We used the Cotswold Grill for breakfast and dinner, and were pleased on both occasions. Breakfast is good quality with lots of choice. At dinner we both had a steak, and were pleased with the cooking and quality of produce. It was really popular, and it appeared lots of locals use it too. This is normally a sign that the hotel restaurant is good!

Great central location in Chipping Camden. The car park is around the back, so pull up in the small car park at the front (don't pay), then they will give you directions to the back car park as it isn't obvious!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smijyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear smijyrick,

I am pleased you found your hotel experience to be pretty good. I equally sorry you did not like the spa but delighted you thought the treatments were commendable.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I had booked this as a Spa day as a treat for a sick friend. We had found it online and were impressed with the pictures and description. Where it was described as luxury, award winning and offering superb facilities. The reality is it only offers a hydrotherapy pool (That was not fully operational), a small steam room and treatments. There was no shower in the pool area meaning people went directly from the steam room sweaty and into the pool. The loungers were dirty, we asked for tea or coffee and were informed that only water or bucks fix was on offer (in plastic glasses). In the changing rooms, there was no shower gel in the showers, one had hand wash. The body lotion containers would not dispense any body lotion. No additional towels were on offer. We were given a £10.00 voucher towards lunch in the grill, the food was good but the service slow. All in all, very disappointed and felt that it was not a Spa 'day' mainly as the facilities are far too limited for you to be able to spent more than a couple of hours there. It cost £95.00 each which was not value for money considering limited facilities and limited luxury. Simple things would have made the day more enjoyable like:- leaving piles of clean towels in the spa area, -using glass glasses, -offering tea and coffee, -cleaning the facilities thoroughly, -Including lunch, -filling up lotion and shower gel, -hydrotherapy pool working, -alternative magazines than heat and glamour, -Made aware of facilities and parking prior to arrival, providing shower head to pipe in the steam room, -We could not find the 'rain' showers or the 'relaxation suite'. Overall we felt you would find more facilities in most branded gyms and we wish we had just visited our gym and saved ourselves the money. Its a shame as the staff are friendly. It certainly isn't worth going out of your way to visit, but perfectly acceptable if you were staying in the hotel and it was free to access.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Charmaine,

I am truly sorry to hear your remarks about our very popular, well acclaimed and award winning spa.

With kind regards,

Muichael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

we went to the spa as a birthday treat, we had a massage and facial, which was excellent. I was very disappointed with the pool area, the pool was very murky we had to feel with our feet to find any steps, the jets weren't working, the top of the water on the tiles was very dirty and needed a good scrub also the plastic walk ways were also dirty for a expensive spa I was very surprised.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Debbie H,

I am sorry you had a poor experience. This is not the norm. Our hydrotherapy pool is never ever "dirty" or cloudy so I am truly sorry you found this to be the case on your arrival at the spa. The matter of a tripped pump was soon rectified and water was back to normal within the hour.

In addition to this our spa is always exceptionally clean and standards of pool maintenance and spa hygiene very strictly controlled so again I am sorry you may have experienced a "blip" in normal service.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvsor and we hope you visit again to experience the normal and exceptionally high standards we deliver at the spa.

Your in good faith,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a superb stay in the garden apt . From the moment we made the reservation , firstly with carol and secondly with Michael we were made to feel welcome , a bottle of champagne in our room was a very generous gesture . We were shown to our cottage style room in the grounds by a very friendly receptionist .
The room was very spacious and well appointed with walk in wardrobe
And welcome tray . Lovely comfortable bed and fluffy robes . Good size bathroom overlooking the gardens .
Warmly greeted by David and his staff who gave us an Excellent breakfast .
We had dinner both nights in the sister hotel across the market square . Very informal , friendly attentive service , great bistro style food , very reasonable priced . Good buzz in the bar , mixture of locals and holidaymakers .

We met Michael , the manager , who was very pleased to make our stay as enjoyable as possible .
Most charming and always available supervising his team .

We also enjoyed the cottage style gardens , very relaxing
Unfortunately we didn t t get time to try the spa , but facilities looked excellent .
Beautiful village , great location on the town square with private parking .

We look forward to returning soon .
Many thanks to Michael , David and their staff !!!

Room Tip: We liked the garden rooms , two are cottages with hot tubs and private courtyard style garden
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear DavidH,

We all appreciate your wonderfully kind review. Its very rewarding to hear we made you feel so welcome, comfortable, and pampered during your stay. That is the type of service and attention to detail we truly enjoy delivering time after time and appreciate your kind feedback.

We never take our beautiful location in the Cotswold's for granted as it adds another special dimension to what we offer as a charming Cotswold Country Hotel. Sorry you did not get to experience our renowned treatments but at least now you have a very good excuse to return (if you needed one!)

With best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Chipping Campden is a stunning village and slap bang in the middle is the wonderful Cotswold House Hotel. The hotel itself has two good restaurants with helpful, friendly and attentive staff. We stayed in a cottage in the garden - amazing, so quiet and peaceful, yet just 35 metres from the very centre.
The spa is fabulous and the pool a real treat in the very warm summer. My partner had a treatment and said it was amazing, I didn't and wished I had, I think they can get quite booked - so reserve ahead. It's only a couple of hours out from London, but you really do feel on holiday and I could feel the stress fall away soon after arrival.
All in all, if you're looking for a short break (or a romantic night away) with lovely walks and stunning countryside Chipping Campden is a must, and so too is this hotel.

Room Tip: For a real treat, book a cottage room in the garden - just so great. One even has its own garden complete with spa bath - I could have stayed for a month!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozboyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear ozboyOxford,

Thank you! It is wonderful to hear that you experience the peaceful atmosphere and felt the stress melt way. The spa is very popular and treatments do get booked up in advance so please do visit us again and and pre-book, you will not be disappointed!!

We are really grateful for your positive review and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews