We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome from every member of staff !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a superb stay in the garden apt . From the moment we made the reservation , firstly with carol and secondly with Michael we were made to feel welcome , a bottle of champagne in our room was a very generous gesture . We were shown to our cottage style room in the grounds by a very friendly receptionist .
The room was very spacious and well appointed with walk in wardrobe
And welcome tray . Lovely comfortable bed and fluffy robes . Good size bathroom overlooking the gardens .
Warmly greeted by David and his staff who gave us an Excellent breakfast .
We had dinner both nights in the sister hotel across the market square . Very informal , friendly attentive service , great bistro style food , very reasonable priced . Good buzz in the bar , mixture of locals and holidaymakers .

We met Michael , the manager , who was very pleased to make our stay as enjoyable as possible .
Most charming and always available supervising his team .

We also enjoyed the cottage style gardens , very relaxing
Unfortunately we didn t t get time to try the spa , but facilities looked excellent .
Beautiful village , great location on the town square with private parking .

We look forward to returning soon .
Many thanks to Michael , David and their staff !!!

Room Tip: We liked the garden rooms , two are cottages with hot tubs and private courtyard style garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear DavidH,

We all appreciate your wonderfully kind review. Its very rewarding to hear we made you feel so welcome, comfortable, and pampered during your stay. That is the type of service and attention to detail we truly enjoy delivering time after time and appreciate your kind feedback.

We never take our beautiful location in the Cotswold's for granted as it adds another special dimension to what we offer as a charming Cotswold Country Hotel. Sorry you did not get to experience our renowned treatments but at least now you have a very good excuse to return (if you needed one!)

With best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Chipping Campden is a stunning village and slap bang in the middle is the wonderful Cotswold House Hotel. The hotel itself has two good restaurants with helpful, friendly and attentive staff. We stayed in a cottage in the garden - amazing, so quiet and peaceful, yet just 35 metres from the very centre.
The spa is fabulous and the pool a real treat in the very warm summer. My partner had a treatment and said it was amazing, I didn't and wished I had, I think they can get quite booked - so reserve ahead. It's only a couple of hours out from London, but you really do feel on holiday and I could feel the stress fall away soon after arrival.
All in all, if you're looking for a short break (or a romantic night away) with lovely walks and stunning countryside Chipping Campden is a must, and so too is this hotel.

Room Tip: For a real treat, book a cottage room in the garden - just so great. One even has its own garden com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozboyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear ozboyOxford,

Thank you! It is wonderful to hear that you experience the peaceful atmosphere and felt the stress melt way. The spa is very popular and treatments do get booked up in advance so please do visit us again and and pre-book, you will not be disappointed!!

We are really grateful for your positive review and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Longborough Suite for our mini-moon in April. It was the ultimate, relaxing break and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. They really did make us feel very special. The Longborough is a beautiful cottage with a hot tub and cute garden. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather so were able to enjoy the hot tub and garden during the day and also when the nights got chilly, the amazing fire in the lounge. The hotel left us a letter and guide book to the area to welcome us which was a lovely touch. The turn down service was also very thoughtful, leaving little treats for us. We ate in the brasserie and the food was delicious. I had the tuna steak which was perfectly cooked. The Hotel also gave us a map of walks in the area starting from the hotel's front door - what a fab idea! We enjoyed he walks and also sampling the local pubs and tea houses. Overall, a relaxing, romantic break - if you want the ultimate luxury, this is the place to come.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Michelle R,

Thank you!

We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay for the food, service to the comfortable bed. Its also good to hear you were able to take advantage of the local walks. We are so lucky to be situated in such wonderful countryside location which is there for guests to take full advantage of and makes for a beautiful setting for romantic getaways.

Please do come and see us again when you feel the need to escape to the country for any sort of mini celebration or simply a romantic night away!

With best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I wanted to revisit this restaurant. I live in the town anyway but hadn't been for a couple of years. We booked the main restaurant only to be told the day before that it had been double booked for a function - don't the staff communicate? Anyway, we proceeded to eat in the Cotwold Grill. Firstly, the wine we chose wasn't cold so we had to wait, then we were told they actually havn't got that wine at all! Not a good start, especially as I'm now gagging for a glass of wine and had to wait further for a different bottle. The starter was pleasant but the main course - chateaubriand, was very average and quite tough. Not how it is supposed to be at all. We declined a pud. The atmosphere is good but the young staff could do with a personality transplant. If it wasn't for Anne, we would think all the staff were wooden and faceless.
Give it a try, but there are many other decent eateries around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaneFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear JaneFriend,

I am so sorry you found your dining experience "just OK". The staff as per many previous reviews have never been described as wooden and faceless, on the contrary many many guests had commented on how positive and attentive our staff have been so your experience was certainly an exception to the norm. Likewise with the food, many locals and hotel guests have written very positive reviews about Chefs cooking skills and the chateau briand is a firm favorite on the menu so again I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy it on the night.

I am delighted however that you have encouraged others to "give it a go" as many locals to visit us frequently for which we are most grateful.

We have a good wine list and usually have everything in stock but occasionally do run out of a wine. We also order some stock from a very local wine supplier in support of local businesses so I am pleased you have reciprocated with a visit to our restaurant and hope you will be back to give us another go, you will not be disappointed again.

With best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I treated myself to a relaxing spa day and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, the changing room and pool area are small, but they were perfectly adequate for the number of guests that were there today. The areas were all very clean and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. I had 3 treatments, all of which were perfect. Thank you so much, I had a wonderful day and shall definitely be returning. Jane

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jek197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Jek197,

We are glad you decided to treat yourself at our spa and even more pleased we lived up to your expectations and delivered three perfect treatments.

It is nice to hear your positive comments about our facilities as we often get guests preferring to see the spa as small rather than for what it actually is i.e. a lovely airy space with simple but excellent facilities and a lovely large hydrotherapy pool. We are not a corporate gym and will never try to be a resort destination spa but we are just right for pamper days and for those wishing to have a bit of relaxation time in a lovely environment with the option of excellent treatments available.

The spa team and I are so pleased you pointed this out. I hope you will return again for another day of pampering and relaxation.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We picked this hotel as, with the vagaries of the English weather, we couldn't know whether we were in for an indoor or outdoor break - the spa was our fallback for a wet stay! We were pleased to be upgraded on arrival to a Cottage Room, which was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. The hotel is right in the middle of a picture-postcard Cotswold village and is a good centre for exploring the area. We had booked a dinner , bed and breakfast package and everything was excellent. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is that communication could have been better. One of the hotel's two restaurants was closed for a wedding on one of the two nights we were there - not a problem in itself, but it would have been good to have been advised of this when we booked. Similarly, there was considerable confusion over exactly what contribution to dinner was covered by our package. However, all staff were courteous, helpful and knowledgable about their particular area. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Positive-pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Positive-pensioner,

Thank you for the kind review. I must apolgise about the confusion over the wedding booking and mis-communication of this nature is rare at Cotswold House Hotel. I am very pleased to hear however that the rest of the stay was perfect for you and we hope you come back soon to give us a 5/5!

Very best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a great time at the Cotswold House despite the stomach churning thought that the smug Mr and Mrs Smith reviewers were busy at it in the bedroom for the duration of their stay. Not very appealing when you're visiting (as I was) with your mother-in-law.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and our room was ready early which is a massive bonus. The room was at the front of the hotel and the sun coming through the old fashioned open windows was delightful (so much so that when the room was turned down on our return in the evening we felt the urge to reopen the curtains to make the most of the light!). The welcome/bedtime homemade cookies were quickly and happily sampled. The bathroom was my favourite part of the room - again with the loveliest natural light - and Ren products a quality touch. The bedroom was charming and quirky but would have benefited from the loss of the black metal eighties style floor light and massive TV wall bracket. Very amused by the sky paintings which were reminiscent of the Simpsons title credits. Bed extremely comfy and I had a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast was good although slightly weird to have Spa style music playing (maybe its a PRS thing?)- would have much rather had a bit of morning jazz, classical or nothing (just enjoyed the waking country town sounds). Half size croissants never a good idea in my opinion but the hot food saved the day. The upper section of the restaurant felt airy but the whole ambience of the hotel had a slight corporate contemporary feel when it came to the furnishings. Little things - the collection of mirrors, window shutters, the dressmakers mannequins, some nice (and cool) applique art hidden down a side corridor - make a huge difference and maybe more of these and less of the blander gift style decorations would be nice. At the back of the hotel restaurant (the grill?) is a huge plate glass window with a slightly garden centre style sphere water feature behind it which seemed a bit out of context to the country house style title of the hotel.

The little croquet garden was sweet to sit in (though a quick check for cigarette ends round the benches every morning would be good) and I had the good fortune to see some rabbits nibbling on the grass. We booked Spa appointments and they were heavenly - the staff great and extremely good. As is the practice nowadays there seems to be a "sell" on products used at the end which I could always do without (it brings you out of your relaxed state) and I would also do away with the sparkling lights in the relaxation room but overall would love to go back. Had a lovely swim with the pool to myself which was amazing.

You can park easily (and you dont need to pay in the centre just park in the streets or behind the hotel) , there's no need to leave the town - great walks, cute shops, cream teas galore. The restaurant wasn't open the night we were there but there's plenty of other options - we ate in the sister hotel opposite in the bar area and although they mistakenly gave me (a non-meat eater) a chicken dish they were very apologetic and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other travellers. There's an amazing little outdoor corridor at a Mediterranean restaurant down the road that I would have loved to have tried but that was closed on a Monday too. We had a lunch and a full on tea at Badgers which has kept its old school style while serving great grub - fantastic.

Theres a great circular staircase and the staff are very happy to tell you the history of the original features.

Pluses - staff lovely, exterior stunning, great bathroom, cookies
Minuses - a little bit too much corporate plum coloured decor, silly tiny croissants

Room Tip: Loooved our 1st floor front facing room but didn't get to see any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank bureaudechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear DP7657,

We are really delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us. I am pleased you found the staff charming (with that all important sense of humor where required too!)

Thank you for your kind review.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
491 reviews
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,414 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
163 reviews
2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $165 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. Fig restaurant offers fine dining and wonderful afternoon teas, whilst the Bistro has all day casual dining with wide selection of gins and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing