We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the standard expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not quite the standard expected”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a group of friends for the weekend to celebrate a special birthday. We had booked an Autumn package which included one evening meal. The rooms were OK with antique furniture and a huge bed. Which was rather on the soft side for me and my back. But on the whole the room was clean and warm with tea/coffee making facilities and cookies and bottled water. The bathroom was on the small side but clean with a good range of toiletries. We could however hear the bathroom next door being used due to the noisy plumbing and no doubt we disturbed them using our shower!
Rather strangely it had an anti slip bath mat with the alphabet on. Note: you can buy plan ones!
The evening meal was OK if a little long in arriving. It is also novo cuisine size, especially the sea bass. We had a better evening meal at a local inn the night before.
The spa was pleasant and the treatment I had was enjoyable whilst my wife and friends used the hydro pool. Note: its not a swimming pool due to its size!
Be aware of the service charge, which is totally optional and also the exorbitant cost of drinks (even for a hotel!).
The staff were attentive and helpful and on the whole we had an enjoyable stay. We choose this hotel because it was a special occasion but the next time we will probably seek out somewhere of the same star rating at a manor house hotel.


Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NichFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear NichFS,

We are delighted to hear you had a good stay with us. Sorry you did not like our quirky bathmat though. The beauty of the building is in its age and features which add character so very occasionally you may hear background noises from other bedrooms but this doe s not usually occur to the point of being called a disturbance.

You will also be very pleased to hear we have adjusted our bar prices and improved the offer in both dining rooms since you last stayed so I hope this may entice you back one day for a wonderful stay.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    313
    134
    66
    18
See reviews for
107
650
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Cotswold House to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Delighted to be upgraded to a Junior Suite on arrival & a note in the room wishing us a happy anniversary. Nice touch! The room was lovely and the bathroom amazing. We had stayed in a luxury hotel just months earlier, costing twice the price, and can honestly say that the accommodation at the Cotswold House was far superior! All the staff were really professional but friendly & we enjoyed a good meal in the Cotswold Grill which has a nice relaxed atmosphere but delicious food and service.
The hotel is situated in the pretty town of Chipping Campden, well worth a look around, and the gardens at the hotel were lovely. We visited in November so only walked through but would imagine it would be a gorgeous place to relax in the warmer months. Sadly didn't have time to use the spa during this visit but I'm sure we will be back! Thank you Cotswold House Hotel for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brand1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Brand1971,

Thank you! We truly appreciate the fact you liked our beautiful Cotswold Contry House Hotel. We love the fact you enjoyed our good service and warm hospitaliy. We are delighted you loved the food too. In fact we love the fact you enjoyed everything about us!!

Now... we really look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy the fantastic spa too!

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hotel is situated in the pretty town of Chipping Campden in the Main Street. There is a Spa which offers treatments, which I recommend. Went out for Evening meal to the Lygon Arms which was across the road. Would recommend

Room Tip: Room overlooked street but was quiet. Lovely bathtub. Room very comfortable. The staff were very he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chablis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Chablis54,

The Team and I are very grateful indeed for your kind and positive review. We will settle for "Fabulous Place" each and every time and indeed if every guest left feeling that sentiment we would have truly achieved our goals because that is what we are here for and that is what we enjoy doing!

Kindest regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a wonderful Spa Day here. They were offering a Groupon deal at this spa which we took up, including a treatment with sorbet after, use of the facilities, robes + slippers, vouchers for a free spa salad at the cotswold grill or £10 off the main menu each, goody bag of Ren toiletries each and 2 x glasses of bucks fizz each! Only costing £44.50 each for the whole day.

What a gorgeous place, all staff really polite, helpful and welcoming.

The spa is great, very high end feel, great showers and has heated floors in the changing room.

The thermo pool is to die for! 35 degrees approx its like stepping in the bath theres also a fragrance difuser releasing wonderful aromas which gives it that relaxing spa feel.

The Cotswold Grill staff were very welcoming, had a gorgeous Spa Ceaser Salad which came with 2 grilled chicken breasts ample anchovies and bacon very light but filling.

Also order tea for 2 and there was ample in the pot and extra water amounting to about 3 small cups each. Restaurant staff were very accomadating to our needs.

All round a wonderful day visit, Chipping Camden looks like a wonderful village too definately worth exploring in future.

I would like to thank the Spa receptionist especially she was so helpful and really made us feel comfortable and welcome.

Lastly there is a very spacious car park at the back of Cotswold House but your sat nav may take you to the front which is payable short stay parking only so try looking on google earth first and locate the free parking within the grounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear VickyT,

We really appreciate your kind review so thank you for taking the timre to write those encouraging words.

The team in the spa have recently undergone some changes and the staff there now, and always have felt a true sense of pride in the service they provide which is reflected in what you say. However we don't take anything for granted and always work hard to ensure our Guests get the best spa experience possible so it is always delightful to hear such positive and objective feedback.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you once again!

Kind regards,

Michael, Lee and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having been upgraded to the "finest room in the hotel" what couldn't possibly be perfect. Just a couple of things, but I'll do those last.

The room was amazing. Living area downstairs with open fire and comfortable sofa. Huge comfortable bed upstairs, Elemis products, lovely linen, huge towels, robes, and REAL COFFEE, CAFETIERE and MILK in the fridge. Such a simple thing but more hotels should do this. The room was beautiful and the private hot tub was a treat, we stayed in there til late.

Some things this hotel could do better: small things but considering how wonderful the room was but you pay big $$$ for a night here so these are the things that count.

- no flannels/wash cloths in the bathroom
- underpowered shower that didn't keep temperature
- no bath mat (we had to use a towel)

and finally, the kitchen closes early so if you want chips at midnight .... we did... then you're out of luck. They brought us some sandwiches but it wasn't really what we wanted and they were very expensive.

We didn't use the pool, it is very small not a real swimming pool at all and the steam room was out of action when we were there so we didn't experience that either.

The restaurant is very good: although disappointing to have run out of eggs benedict by 9.30 in the morning, and breakfast finishes WAY too early.

Check in and Check out was a little slow. Only 1 person behind the desk also trying to man the phones.

Room Tip: The hot tub rooms are great for a romantic night away
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear JMuk,

Thank you for objective review. Reading your comments I must agree - "almost perfection" sums it up well. However I wish yo assure that we are working hard at getting rid of the "almost" bit and concentrating hard on getting to the "perfection" bit so that all of our guest experinence nothing but the best during their stay at Cotswold House Hotel.

Your knowlegeble comments are appreciated and have been taken into consideration in our efforts to get to Cotswold House Hotel back to the very top.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team

Ps - the new steam room is amazing so please do visit us again soon as the spa now has one of Cotswolds largest Hydrotherapy Pools as well as a first class steam room for all of our guests to enjoy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday. We normally escape to bournmouth for our child free treats but Cotswold House is our new treat! We just loved it here, we had a open fire in our room which was just lovely after an hour in our private hot tub. We then got ten undisturbed hours sleep in the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. After a lovely breakfast we spent a few hours in the spa relaxing. Our only regret is that we didnt have a babysitter for another night so we could stay! We will be back! Thankyou for a lovely stay cotswold house.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebrazebrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Zabrazebrano,

WOW indeed - Thank you for your lovely review!

We are so delighted to have made your getaway such a wonderful experience. I understand how rare opportunities like these can be where children can be handed into someone else' care to allow for an escape into a different world. So it is good to know that we made your precious time count and that you were able to relax and enjoy.

Do come back and stay a little longer when the babysitter is available for at least two nights!!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great stay at this hotel where members of staff know your name: fab old style customer service. Dining choices include The Grill and The Dining Room. Both good value. Last night's dining experience in The Dining Room was exemplary; great service and outstanding food. The sous chef, Chris Brown, ran the kitchen with Sam managing the dining space. Well done all. Go before the local folk book this treasure out every night

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Acciano,

Thank you and we are all delighted with your kind review. It is very rewarding feedback for our new team who are passionately committed to providing genuinely warm and professional service to all of our guests.

The service and ambience during your stay typifies our ethos as a boutique hotel without pretence and its acknowledgement is warmly welcomed!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing