We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant anniversary stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I booked a night here including cream tea and a two course meal for our anniversary . We had our tea in the garden and booked an early evening meal which was excellent. Service was good and friendly. The room was spacious and overlooked the square and we had a good night's sleep there. Definitely worth a return visit especially as we now know where to park!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely cottage (Ashbee). Pro's; quiet and comfortable, especially the beds, wonderful peaceful garden and friendly accomodating staff. Con's; curtains in the cottage -blind didn't fit the bedroom window! and curtains too thin, both letting in light very early. Spa treatments are overpriced (they do have offer days so check this) and sadly the spa closes at 6.30pm meaning the facilities (spa pool area) are not accessible after this time which is a huge shame. Overall a relaxing and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adjsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Only used the spa this time in this lovely hotel in middle of perfect Chipping Campden. Started with car park. There is one which is vital in this town. Small spa with great pool that is one big jacuzzi. No sauna but a good steam room. Efficient and friendly staff. Therapists know what they are doing and are v professional. Bucks Fizz readily available. Not crowded. Great way to chill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night after our wedding. The service was so good I have been compelled to write my first Trip Advisor review! We were given a fabulous suite; impeccably clean and very comfortable. The bathroom contained an incredible egg shaped tub and we also had our own private outside space. We ate in the Cotswold grill, the food and service were wonderful. It was the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateHeath9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a brief one night stay in room 11 of this hotel. Unlike other recent reviews we found all members of staff to be polite, efficient & helpful. Our room overlooked the garden & was very quiet & peaceful. Comfortable bed, pillows & bedding ensured a good nights sleep, also aided by good, quiet & efficient a/c. Bathroom had an enormous limestone bath & a steam shower. Tried the former but not the latter. There was a television tv in the bathroom but the signal was too poor so there was only a very fuzzy picture.

The room also had a fireplace, which we had no cause to use on account of the hot weather but it was a nice feature in the room & I imagine it would give a lovely cosy feeling in winter. Double doors opened on to a small patio area, which was screened off slightly from the main garden, giving a little bit of privacy. There were a few things in the room that needed attending to eg the tv in the bathroom, a light fitting that wasn't attached securely to the wall plus a few other minor things that needed fixing.

As we had only a brief stay, we never got a chance to visit/experience any of the spa facilities.

We dined in the grill as the dining room was fully booked. Choice & prices were reasonable and once again we had nice service. Breakfast was also served in the grill & that was sufficient for our needs. Overall an enjoyable short stay. The prices are not outrageous for that part of the world, but I do think they need to attend to minor cosmetic problems around the hotel/bedrooms which will leave guests with a better overall impression of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent two nights at Cotswold House and loved it! Beautiful gardens with plenty of space to relax and unwind. Our room, the Ashbee Cottage, was gorgeous and had a great soaking tub. The bed mattress was soft for my taste, but it wasn't too bad. Unfortunately the pool in the spa was out of commission the entire 2.5 days we were there, so I can't comment on that. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was terrific. Easy, on-site parking. Would happily stay here again should we find ourselves in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: The Ashbee cottage was beautiful! Very nice view of the street, but far enough back to be very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birche02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

No one at the desk when we arrived. Had to wait at least 10 minutes to be assisted while i could see the staff in the office on the phone and chatting amongst themselves about their rotas. We were not allowed access to the spa from 5.30 on the day off arrival due to a private event. Considering this was a spa break we booked i think it is awful that nobody informed us of this either prior to or on our arrival. Team were really dismissive when we complained about this. Also when returning to the hotel on our first evening the girl on reception was really rude and shouted "Can I help you?" across the corridor in an aggressive manner. We were paying guests of your hotel, holding our room key and expected to be welcomed rather than treated as intruders. Overall a very poor experience and over priced for the service provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jenimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Jenimh,

I am truly sorry you perceived your experience at our wonderful hotel as such a poor one.

Unfortunately as a small hotel we do not have 3 or 4 receptionist sitting behind the desk as you may find in a big city hotel. This is part of the charm of being a small Country House Hotel and one that is committed to always putting our guests welfare first. In fact on the day you arrived the receptionist had offered to take an elderly ladies case up to her room to assist the porter and get the lady comfortable in the room. This did unfortunately take about 4 minutes and I do apologise you had to wait to be attended but it was not though ignorance or negligence.

We very rarely host private events in the spa however we did not inform you so please accept our sincere apologies. I also apologise for you being "shouted at" as this was in fact the Deputy General Manager who was not attempting to bark at you but genuinely help you as we do with all guest who walk through our doors. Customer service and making our guest feel very comfortable and at home is a very important priority to us and I assure you we always and without exception do our very best to make all of our guests feel welcome.

I note in your headline you stated we are "run down" and I am delighted to stay we will be investing in the fabric of the building as and where required however we are fortunate in so far as the building, grounds and bedrooms remain those of a luxury hotel with a little TLC required here and there.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to state this in response to your feedback.

Best wishes,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,077 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
14 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $175 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing