We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxhill Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charingworth Manor(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redesdale Arms Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveler rating
574
346
142
63
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
346
142
63
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitefig restauranthot tubturn down servicesteam roommood lightingsorbetspiral staircasesmall poolhomemade cookiescottage roomeggs benedictprivate gardenthe cottagesspecial occasionsister hotelmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night after our wedding. The service was so good I have been compelled to write my first Trip Advisor review! We were given a fabulous suite; impeccably clean and very comfortable. The bathroom contained an incredible egg shaped tub and we also had our own private outside space. We ate in the Cotswold grill, the food and service were wonderful. It was the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateHeath9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a brief one night stay in room 11 of this hotel. Unlike other recent reviews we found all members of staff to be polite, efficient & helpful. Our room overlooked the garden & was very quiet & peaceful. Comfortable bed, pillows & bedding ensured a good nights sleep, also aided by good, quiet & efficient a/c. Bathroom had an enormous limestone bath & a steam shower. Tried the former but not the latter. There was a television tv in the bathroom but the signal was too poor so there was only a very fuzzy picture.

The room also had a fireplace, which we had no cause to use on account of the hot weather but it was a nice feature in the room & I imagine it would give a lovely cosy feeling in winter. Double doors opened on to a small patio area, which was screened off slightly from the main garden, giving a little bit of privacy. There were a few things in the room that needed attending to eg the tv in the bathroom, a light fitting that wasn't attached securely to the wall plus a few other minor things that needed fixing.

As we had only a brief stay, we never got a chance to visit/experience any of the spa facilities.

We dined in the grill as the dining room was fully booked. Choice & prices were reasonable and once again we had nice service. Breakfast was also served in the grill & that was sufficient for our needs. Overall an enjoyable short stay. The prices are not outrageous for that part of the world, but I do think they need to attend to minor cosmetic problems around the hotel/bedrooms which will leave guests with a better overall impression of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent two nights at Cotswold House and loved it! Beautiful gardens with plenty of space to relax and unwind. Our room, the Ashbee Cottage, was gorgeous and had a great soaking tub. The bed mattress was soft for my taste, but it wasn't too bad. Unfortunately the pool in the spa was out of commission the entire 2.5 days we were there, so I can't comment on that. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was terrific. Easy, on-site parking. Would happily stay here again should we find ourselves in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: The Ashbee cottage was beautiful! Very nice view of the street, but far enough back to be very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birche02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

No one at the desk when we arrived. Had to wait at least 10 minutes to be assisted while i could see the staff in the office on the phone and chatting amongst themselves about their rotas. We were not allowed access to the spa from 5.30 on the day off arrival due to a private event. Considering this was a spa break we booked i think it is awful that nobody informed us of this either prior to or on our arrival. Team were really dismissive when we complained about this. Also when returning to the hotel on our first evening the girl on reception was really rude and shouted "Can I help you?" across the corridor in an aggressive manner. We were paying guests of your hotel, holding our room key and expected to be welcomed rather than treated as intruders. Overall a very poor experience and over priced for the service provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jenimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Jenimh,

I am truly sorry you perceived your experience at our wonderful hotel as such a poor one.

Unfortunately as a small hotel we do not have 3 or 4 receptionist sitting behind the desk as you may find in a big city hotel. This is part of the charm of being a small Country House Hotel and one that is committed to always putting our guests welfare first. In fact on the day you arrived the receptionist had offered to take an elderly ladies case up to her room to assist the porter and get the lady comfortable in the room. This did unfortunately take about 4 minutes and I do apologise you had to wait to be attended but it was not though ignorance or negligence.

We very rarely host private events in the spa however we did not inform you so please accept our sincere apologies. I also apologise for you being "shouted at" as this was in fact the Deputy General Manager who was not attempting to bark at you but genuinely help you as we do with all guest who walk through our doors. Customer service and making our guest feel very comfortable and at home is a very important priority to us and I assure you we always and without exception do our very best to make all of our guests feel welcome.

I note in your headline you stated we are "run down" and I am delighted to stay we will be investing in the fabric of the building as and where required however we are fortunate in so far as the building, grounds and bedrooms remain those of a luxury hotel with a little TLC required here and there.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to state this in response to your feedback.

Best wishes,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good rooms and food, but indifferent or bad service. Given be service, the price to value proposition is not good. Had to wait for hours for a room with no one making an effort to advise housekeeping. A simple one course dinner took over one hour.

Room Tip: Will recommend finding an alternative.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkeronearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews