We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing honeymoon stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disappointing honeymoon stop-over”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have finally got round to leaving a review on the Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 5 months after staying there. It has taken this long to get over it.

We stayed over here for one night only (thank God) in a Junior Suite on our way back home from our honeymoon. We had intended to have a relaxing stop-over complete with spa trip to break up the journey. £400 later we wished we hadn't bothered...

The bedroom itself was ok, somewhat dated but clean enough. The big selling point of the suite was the bathroom, complete with walk in shower, giant limestone bath complete with TV. This was easily the biggest let down. The shower looked filthy and possibly the first shower ever invented. Ancient doesnt begin to do it justice. The bath did what it said on the tin and was beautiful however there was very little chance of watching much on the TV as the reception was beyond poor.

The spa itself was also poor. We have stayed at pretty much every spa facility up and down the country and this was closer to the bottom than the top. The treatments were average, the facilities dated and the staff not particularly knowledgeable in their supposed trade.

On the plus side the food was very good at lunch and the service in the restaurant area was efficient and polite. Dont think it was overly pricey considering the quality. Sadly we didnt get chance to sample the breakfast in the morning as our experience had been so poor we were just happy to get out of there so cant comment.

Also its worth noting that as highlighted in previous reviews by other guests, this mob like to ring every last penny out of their guests. Particular highlight was being charged for a newspaper. Dont think I have ever stayed in a hotel that hasnt provided complimentary newspapers but true to form the Cotswold House Hotel & Spa prefer the short term approach to monetary gain, completely oblivious to the damage it does to potential retention of guests.

In short, avoid.

Room Tip: Take a tent, stay in the lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
What a shame, obviously we are disappointed that you did not enjoy every aspect of your Cotswold House Experience, we will be looking closely at your comments to see if any improvements can be made, we are delighted that you found the room to be clean the staff polite and the food very good, and do look forward to you revisiting soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House and Noel Arms Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    310
    133
    66
    18
See reviews for
105
640
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Cotswold House for their Boxing Day dinner and were not disappointed. The hotel is a renovated period home located in the heart of Chipping Campden. Everything was done first class - rooms (we had two), food, service and the staff. Although there are plenty of restaurants to choose from, we recommend eating at the hotel - you will not be disappointed. We were fortunate with the weather & strolled the small but quaint english garden behind the property - also very refined. There is no parking on the property, but there is plenty of street side parking that is free. There is also a pay & display car park at the front of the hotel if you cant find a parking spot close by. We enjoyed this hotel very much and made a booking for the next Boxing Day special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Lawrence_Sasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Gregg Wallace evening was a complete extravaganza, made by the wonderful staff at the hotel and Gregg's marvellous larger than life character. Our five course dinner was superb and enjoyed by all the Shipston Home Nursing table enormously. Many thanks to Gregg, Julian, Paul and all the staff on duty that night for their fantastic support. Anyone who needs an auctioneer book Gregg Wallace, he is a star !

Room Tip: any romm is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
The Cotswold House hosts many Celebrity events alongside our Food Festival (BITE) we are delighted you had a wonderful evening, Gregg is back with us around the 1st of November, we do hope to see you again very soon at one of our many events (these are listed on our website cotswoldhousehotel.com)

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House and Noel Arms Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We won a competition to stay here and enjoy a special evening of food and whisky. We had a junior suite which was cosy,well appointed, with quality tea & coffee and a very large comfortable bed !The staff were very friendly and genuinely interested in our circumstances.Breakfast was well presented in the grill room and we had HOT toast.
Would love to stay again, it is well situated in the centre of Chipping Camden.Staying here would be a treat for anyone.

Room Tip: Quite a lot of stairs to some rooms ,check with hotel if this would be a problem to you.Lovely stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theluckype0ple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
The Cotswold House hosts many Celebrity events and Gala dinners alongside our Food Festival (BITE) we are delighted you had a wonderful evening, we do hope to see you again very soon at one of our many events (these are listed on our website cotswoldhousehotel.com) do contact us direct to rebook.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House and Noel Arms Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

fantastic location in a beautiful town.Staff very friendly and helpful, really made to feel at home. room was excellent never had such a luxurious bathroom...restaurant very adequate again with excellent service...definitely go again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, if you are looking for a great night to come back and maybe this time have a spa treatment? we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call and ask for Carol (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a fantastic evening at this great hotel, food was top class almost Michelin star standard.

Gregg Wallace and all the staff really put themselves out to make us all welcome, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review one of our many “Celebrity Chef” evenings I am delighted you had a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon to either one of our celebrity events or why not give our spa try it is wonderful !

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a last minute getaway weekend from London with my girlfriend. This place was in part chosen for the price special that was on (as the rack rates do look hefty, but maybe thats the norm in the Cotswolds). I have to admit, that I was pretty blown away how good this hotel is. From the room - which we were kindly upgraded to a suite on arrival - to the restaurant and spa. I really would have to think hard about where to find fault (which i normally can do quite easily as i am often away from home for work/pleasure). The service was non-intrusive but when speaking to the staff it was always a warm conversation and they were only too happy to help with anything asked or requested. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here, and for other 'non-uk' people living in London and looking to look at the country outside the M25, this is an ideal place to go stay at and explore the area. The town very pretty, and just a 1h40m train ride from central London. I will be suggesting to my parents that they stay here, and I guess there is no one more important than them right?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and we would be delighted to look after your parents, if you are looking for a great night to come back and maybe this time have a spa treatment, we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call and ask for Carol (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. You never know Carol might even offer your parents the discounted rate if they can make one of the return guest loyalty dates so do ask for her personally.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing