We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Seagrave Arms(Chipping Campden)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$106
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Inn(Chipping Campden)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charingworth Manor(Chipping Campden)
$206
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eight Bells Inn(Chipping Campden)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Badgers Hall(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Norton Grounds(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Volunteer Inn(Chipping Campden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
629
358
148
63
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
358
148
63
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitefig restauranthot tubturn down servicesteam roommood lightingsorbetsmall poolhomemade cookiescottage roomeggs benedictprivate gardenhuge bathbreakfast servicebottle of champagnesister hotelmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

i recently went for a day spa and loved it . from moment we walked in the staff was exceptional in greeting us,very polite and really took care of us . the spa was very relaxing with a lovely pool area.the massages and treatments were terrific.i would definitely go back again and highly recommend it if you need a pampering day

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank MariaM2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, our has recently won UK spa of the year 2012/13 ! so we are delighted you as well as the judges enjoyed it, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon don’t forget the best prices are always available by picking up the phone , so do call us direct.
Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having just returned from the Cotswold House Hotel, I thought it important I write my first review. The hotel rooms and food, especially the afternoon tea, were perfect, we had dinner in the grill restaurant and all the staff were attentive and gave great customer service.

The best part was by far my experience in the spa. As soon as we walked in it was instantly relaxing, they did have a slight problem as many of the lights were not working but me and my friend were advised that they were waiting for an electrician and the receptionist apologised for the inconvenience. This was not great but I accept there is not much they can do, they give a great massage, they are not electricians.

However when we got to the changing room it was full of candles in glass lanterns so looked very pretty and actually gave more than enough light, the only negative, and it is quite a big one, was that due to the power failure the hair dryer was not working, but there was a hairdryer in our hotel bedroom so we did not have wet hair for too long.

The pool is small but beautiful and is very warm, the steam room again a little small but was spotless. I have to admit the spa is not huge but we were relaxed. We booked 11 days in advance and struggled to get treatments on the first day. Even though our treatments were spread apart they were, as both agreed, the best we have ever had. I enjoyed the bespoke shea butter massage that Sam gave me. we are both avid spa users and are used to high standards in 5 star hotels. I would say that the Cotswold House is a 4 star hotel with most definitely a 5 star spa, it was so good we booked in for a final treatment each the next day before we left.

Room Tip: My top tip would be if you book early morning treatments on the day you are due to leave, ask for a late check out, we booked a 10 am spa treatment and asked for a late checkout to allow a little extra time to use the pool before checking out and the very professional staff gave us a late check out until 1.30pm. We hope to go back in January as it was all just perfect.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

What a wonderful review thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments, please contact us soon as we have some amazing winter offers coming up don’t forget the best prices are always available by picking up the phone , so do call us direct.
Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3 years in a row, mainly for the phone reception (no interruptions) oversize baths, and fantastic village, however on our latest trip we opted for the Grevel Suite and were rather disappointed.

On check in we were quickly shown to our room and not remembered as returning visitors. On arrival to the room we started to unpack and found 20 (ish) live wood lice’s within the main seating area, which the hotel staff cleaned up very fast. However as we checked out the bedroom the woodlice were found with the bed and enough was enough. I understand woodlice tend to like warm places and that 1 or 2 could be missed on cleaning but this was disguising.

I spoke to the receptionist who appear unapologetic to the issue, and asked to move rooms in which they agreed to. We end up in the Sezincote Suit and have to say this suit was much bigger, airier and much more looked after than the Grevel suit and would suggest anyone thinking of staying in one of the suits to aim for the Sezincote, a much better experience.

The room is 3 adjoining rooms, lounge, bathroom then bedroom. The oversize bath and bathroom is fantastic, however there is only a curtain between the bathroom and the bathroom, so if you like your personal space watch out!

It was disappointing to see that the hotel has now taken way the mini bar drinks that used to be complementary in the room, mini bottles of wine, coke etc. I asked about this and they said they stopped some time ago, this was a real same as it did provide that added value to the hotel that others within the area didn’t offer… I guess the hard times and money cost had a part to play.

The hotel as a whole needs some TLC, it has worn over the years and needs touching up in places and in other areas needs a complete makeover.

The staff attitude was mixed and there was no sense of control among the team, which created an uncertain in within the hotel operation. I would have expected a higher standard for the price for and hotel ranking.

Overall this could be a fantastic hotel if some attention to detail was spent on the rooms and staff re-trained to understand true 5 star service. Given the average stay we had this year we won’t be going back and instead seek out a new hotel to explore within the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment obviously we are disappointed that your stay was not 100% perfect but are delighted you found some aspects fantastic, regarding the mini bar these can be stocked with whatever products you would like at an extra charge.
Rest assured your negative points will be actioned.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just stayed at the Noel Arms in Chipping Camden and have to say the hotel was brilliant. Great food and lovely atmosphere but as part of the deal we had access to , so say the best spa in the UK. Well not sure how they got this award because it was appalling. We arrived only to be told there were not enough lockers for all 3 of us so we would have to share one.....between 3 of us. The changing room was a joke with about 8 women trying to change in a space of about 2 foot square. Then when we asked for towelling robes we were told only one of us could have one as we weren't all having treatments! The pool had a black grimy corner on the floor and looked nasty, the steam room smelt stale and the light in the changing room showers was not working. When we asked reception about this they just said 'oh well it has been working all day!' The bin in the changing room was overflowing and the final straw was when we left the spa to walk back to the Noel Arms there was no outside lighting. Literally it was pitch back and we ended up have to feel our way ahead.....walking into a bush first! Really poor service so would not go back to the spa.....stick to Calcot Manor if you want a spa that really deserves an award!

Room Tip: Stay and eat at the Noel Arms but don't bother with the Cotswold House Spa
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmmaH853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, unfortunately at the time you visited certain areas were experiencing a part power failure,most guests took this in good spirit and understood this did cause problems and that until a electrician arrived there was very little we could do, I think the majority of the areas you mentioned relate to this unfortunate problem. Regarding the Spa of the year please see below the reasons we won, we are not flash we don’t promise waterfalls and mud baths, just great spa treatments in a wonderful setting- why we won the UK spa of the year award

While at some Spas, you find yourself elbowed out from your peaceful swim by a noisy aqua aerobics class, or jolted out of some quiet contemplation by children in armbands, at Cotswold House Spa we believe small (and exclusive) is beautiful. We don't promise mud baths, fancy gadgets and false promises - our speciality is peace and quiet, in the idyllic surroundings of our Cotswold garden; hydrotherapy pool,steam room and restorative and reviving treatments given to you by our expert, caring team, and the space to unwind and really let the rest of the world slip away. Which is why we've just won the Best Kept Secrets Award 2013 for Best Spa - because the people that know about us, would rather everyone else didn't.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Cotswold House at beginning of November and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had chosen it through Mr & Mrs Smith (having been given a voucher as a gift). The location is lovely, being in the centre of the village, in the heart of the beautiful Cotswolds. Our room was spacious with a large window which looked over the roof tops to the countryside beyond. I was impressed by the tea making facilities which included a fridge with a small bottle of fresh milk and decent sized mugs. The room was a bit over warm and we had trouble keeping the sash window open. The bed was large and comfortable, and we had a good night's sleep.
Dinner was unusual with a menu from which you could chose 3 courses, in any order. There was little choice by the time we had eliminated the foods we are not keen on like: pork belly, grouse & venison - a couple of more ordinary meats/fish would have improved it eg beef or chicken. However, we did enjoy everything we ate and the service was excellent.
Breakfast was delightful and freshly cooked, again excellent service. On the downside, as we had booked with Mr & Mrs Smith we should have been offered either a complimentary afternoon tea or a bottle of champagne. In fact, it was several hours into our stay that I enquired about the complimentary gift - too late for the afternoon tea as we had had lunch over the road. The champagne couldn't be drunk in the bar as 'corkage' would have to apply. In the end we asked if we would be able to take our champagne with us when we checked out - the answer was yes so we were delighted! I would recommend this hotel for a stay in the Cotswolds as long as you are adventurous with your choice of food.

Room Tip: Good - third floor looking out over the village but beware there are a lot of stairs and no lift.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment, regarding the champagne we have now contacted Mr & Mrs Smith to ensure they do check what extras the guest would like to order so instead of having to ask / us ask you it will be ready on arrival we are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon, don’t forget the best prices are always available by picking up the phone , so do call us direct

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General manager
Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews