We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a beautiful village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in a beautiful village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed there on a friday night for our anniversary. We had booked our night for an earlier date, but due to a illness we had to rearrange the date. The service at CH in dealing with this was excellent and they put my mind at ease that it was all rearranged. I received emails within an hour to confirm this. On the day we arrived at 2.30pm for some spa treatments. Our room was ready so we off loaded our bags and went to the spa. The service, cleanliness and ambience of the spa was perfect. We both headed off to our treatments and met again by the swimming pool. There is a limit on loungers by the pool, but in no time a couple of loungers became available. The pool was relaxing and the steam room is a bonus.

Our room was at the top of the hotel and had a large freestanding bath. The views over Chipping Camden were lovely and the size of the room was excellent. There wasn't a shower but i believe one was been added shortly. The fixtures and fittings in the room and all over the hotel add a contemporary feel to a very rural location. The bed was huge and comfortable - i'm 6,3 and had plenty of space. The room was quiet and we didn't hear any noise from outside. One improvement would have been a black out blind on both windows and not just one. We both found that our mobile reception wasn't great. No 3g and we couldn't get wifi in our room. A good thing though.

For supper we ate in the Grill. We had a drink in the front bar and then the called us to our table. One of the aspects of CH that attracted us was the online sample menu of the grill. The food didn't disappoint us. We both had the tiger prawns to start with, followed by cote du boeuf and puddings, all of the dishes were well presented and tasted great. Thomas the general manager guided us with a different wine for each course. He was kind in letting us try a couple before making a final choice and his knowledge on the wines was very useful. We finished with coffees and relaxed back in the front bar after dinner.

The next day after a good breakfast we walked around Chipping Camden and found the shops, galleries and general setting very relaxing. Chipping Norton doesn't offer this level of character and charm. The local people we met were very inviting and the hotel experience and staff from start to finish was excellent. I look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: room 18 at the top is very quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxedcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    309
    134
    67
    19
See reviews for
103
632
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was our 1st visit to the hotel. Arriving we found the High Street to be closed due to Jubilee Celebrations (possibly could of been mentioned on booking just so we knew) ,a minor hiccup and managed to find the parking around the back although not very well signed.
We were early for check in which was fine and needed to come back at 3pm. We came back at 3pm and were told to come back in 20 minutes. We came back and in the end had to wait till 4pm to actually access our room. When we accessed our room it was lovely and really was an amazing suite. It seemed to be worth the wait!
Room service that night was 2 salads and I can honestly say the worst salads I have ever eaten. Tiny portions and quality very poor. We had our breakfast delivered every morning to our room & there were problems every morning. We found that we had no selection of pastries for 2 mornings, no butter, no milk, missing items from our cooked breakfast and when I called they said they didn't have the items. I asked them to add another item to make up for this as my husband would starve with the size of breakfast! In fairness they always brought the added item to us but one morning we waited 40minutes and our breakfast was well and truly over by then so a waste.
The spa was lovely and the best part of our trip we had an amazing treatment each and really enjoyed our afternoon. The spa rang down to the hotel to make us a sandwich and have it ready before our treatment. We ended up waiting 30 mins for a cheese sandwich & chicken sandwich; bread stale & charged us £14 for this!

On check out we did mention the above problems and the manager refunded our food. Although when we arrived home he had only refunded the room service not the sandwiches. (not going to break my bank but still....)

I just felt really dissappointed by the fact that we spent with treatments the best part of nearly a £1000 and this was our special trip away (honeymoon) and we weren't really made to feel all that special. If you are going to charge these kinds of prices then everything needs to be perfect from the minute your customers walk through the entrance.

I am not sure we would stay again really as it all felt a bit unprofessional at times and food being a very big let down. We went next door to the Kings Hotel and I have to say absolutely amazing food!

Room Tip: The suite had an amazing bath & would totally recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is the 3rd visit to the Cotswold House Hotel in 6 years and probably the last.

Having reached Chipping Camden it was apparent that you could not park outside the front of the hotel due to the High Street being closed due to Jubilee celebrations going on. This was ok as I knew that the car park was to the rear of the hotel. Having parked we decided to wonder through the beautiful manicured gardens to the reception. I knew something had changed as we were ignored by no less than 3 members of staff whilst waiting to check in. Finally checked in we headed for our room. We were staying in the "Ashbee" suite within one of the many cottages in the gardens. The room was a good size but is in need of refurbishing, painting, carpets and a new bed were all required. Whilst the room had a B&O TV and TV in the bathroom, it still felt dated.

Dinner - We decided to try the fine dining option of the newly opened "Dining Room" restaurant. I noted that the restaurant decor had not changed since my last visit 3 years ago. We were informed that the newly appointed chef who had spent the past 8 years working for Raymond Blanc in Le Manoir was on a mission to win awards with his food. The menu was rather strange which had no separation of starters, mains or desserts? You could basically choose anything off the list not knowing what size of meal you were about to embark on? Very odd.

Service was not to a standard of a fine dining restaurant. Following the starter (I think starter?) our table was almost completely cleared except wine glasses and then swept for any crumbs??? Something I would expect following our main course maybe. Food was very mediocre and not very impressive. I remember from my previous reviews that the restaurant served great food and service excellent. Our desserts were terrible and when asked by the young waiter what we thought, my partner let him have it with both barrels. We were then informed that the award winning chef was actually off that night! Restaurant closed for 18months, opened again for 2 weeks and chef needed a weeks holiday?

Breakfast - Keep this bit simple as I have rambled on too much. Decided to have room service and to be honest it was one of the worst breakfasts ever received from a hotel. Toast/Croissants/Pastries not enough for 2 people, yoghurt and berries turned up warm, fruit juices warm, only one plate and due to the weather persisting heavily, soggy wet toast and pastries as no lid/cover placed over items!

£550 was paid for this 1 night, poor breakfast reported back and nothing done about it. Staff are a miss-match of ages and dress style. Appeared certain staff such as receptionist had a nice grey suit on, another guy behind reception had black suit on with white handkerchief and the General Manager of which is all of maybe 20 years old was in a cotton jacket and jeans? I might add that the GM made no effort to say hello or make eye contact with us during our stay.

Room Tip: I am guessing all rooms are need of an update now?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Mr Waldron,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, it is very helpful to receive feedback. All the team here puts a huge amount of effort into offering are guests the best possible experience so I am very sad to read your review. I can only apologise for not getting the chance to meet you - I make a big effort to chat to everyone staying at Cotswold House but I sadly missed you.

Ashbee has a cottage feel to it and is no where near as modern looking as some of our other rooms. I do, however, have a lot of requests from regulars who always want this room.

Most of our savoury dishes in The Dining Room are of the same size therefore we want the guests to have complete control of what order they wish to eat there food in. We have received fantastic comments on the menu and also the puddings. We will of course keep monitoring this.

I will investigate fully regarding your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April. It's set in a beautiful town, and the hotel itself is nicely decorated with decent rooms. It charges premium prices and for that you expect premium service. The booking process, particularly for the spa was chaotic - some treatments not booked, calls not returned etc, and a booking for the restaurant also went astray. On arrival the staff were helpful and sorted things out. Sadly the theme of chaos continued over breakfast - not everything ordered turned up, the cappuccino maker was 'being cleaned' (seriously-during breakfast?) , tea came with juice and was completely cold by the time the remaining items turned up. Room service was abysmal...the bed was made but nothing was replenished and bathrobes were left strewn around the room. The experience was redeemed somewhat by a very charming staff...they just need training in how to manage a hotel and all will be well. We also had a nice meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary_b2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was a lovely luxury hotel in the middle of town - a town which, although in a touristy part of the region, was more low-key. With fewer tourists than most towns, it was a great place to stay and simply enjoy being there.

The room was quite large and luxurious; service and staff were attentive and friendly; and the restaurant - where we had both dinner and breakfast - was delicious. And the spa - simply the best treatment I've had. Sigh. What a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I have informed all the team of your comments as it means a huge amount to them. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed with my best friend for a deluxe girls weekend of pampering, lovely food and the odd cocktail thrown in for good measure - all of the team from the moment we arrived to our departure could not have been more helpful, passionate and caring.
The eye is in the detail - to the gorgeous china mugs for a proper cup of tea in the morning, turn down service with homemade shortbread biscuits.
The weather was foul out so we spent all our time inside - apart from the mad dash to the spa and back - so we saw the place operate throughout the day - and even when they were busy, there was a real sense of being in the hands of people who value the customer experience.

We will go back again and I would recommend to anyone who wants some real quality downtime and to feel valued in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croft69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time write a review on your stay at Cotswold House. We are always looking to keep improving and I am about to add a few extras for the turndown service. It is fantastic to hear that all the team was so helpful - it is at the top of our priority list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

A lovely hotel in a lovely part of the world. Staff are great, Rooms nice, food good - both in brasserie and fine dining. The spa is also very good, friendly and professional. You could happily not leave the hotel for an entire weekend if you truly wanted a relaxing break, but you would miss the beauty of the area. One small gripe, wifi only in communal areas and very patchy signal. Cables supplied in room for free but iPads etc don't take cable!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabba70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing