We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Seriously great”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was a lovely luxury hotel in the middle of town - a town which, although in a touristy part of the region, was more low-key. With fewer tourists than most towns, it was a great place to stay and simply enjoy being there.

The room was quite large and luxurious; service and staff were attentive and friendly; and the restaurant - where we had both dinner and breakfast - was delicious. And the spa - simply the best treatment I've had. Sigh. What a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I have informed all the team of your comments as it means a huge amount to them. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    313
    134
    66
    18
See reviews for
107
650
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed with my best friend for a deluxe girls weekend of pampering, lovely food and the odd cocktail thrown in for good measure - all of the team from the moment we arrived to our departure could not have been more helpful, passionate and caring.
The eye is in the detail - to the gorgeous china mugs for a proper cup of tea in the morning, turn down service with homemade shortbread biscuits.
The weather was foul out so we spent all our time inside - apart from the mad dash to the spa and back - so we saw the place operate throughout the day - and even when they were busy, there was a real sense of being in the hands of people who value the customer experience.

We will go back again and I would recommend to anyone who wants some real quality downtime and to feel valued in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croft69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time write a review on your stay at Cotswold House. We are always looking to keep improving and I am about to add a few extras for the turndown service. It is fantastic to hear that all the team was so helpful - it is at the top of our priority list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

A lovely hotel in a lovely part of the world. Staff are great, Rooms nice, food good - both in brasserie and fine dining. The spa is also very good, friendly and professional. You could happily not leave the hotel for an entire weekend if you truly wanted a relaxing break, but you would miss the beauty of the area. One small gripe, wifi only in communal areas and very patchy signal. Cables supplied in room for free but iPads etc don't take cable!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabba70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Ash, Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I remember first staying in Chipping Campden about 10 years ago and looking longingly at The Cotswold House Hotel - at that time, it was probably at the forefront of the Boutique Hotel movement (and our traditional Inn looked, in comparison, much less glamorous).

Many years on, and the Cotswolds is packed with smallish hotels boasting a mix of gadgets and cashmere throws, contemporary fittings and traditional features. So, would The Cotswold House Hotel still be “one of the finest hotels in the Cotswold’s” (as described by the SLH website).

The answer is not quite: there were lots of lovely touches, like a member of staff coming to greet us outside as we pulled up, genuine friendliness and a lovely pool. However, if you equate fine hospitality with places such as an Oberoi or Babbington House, you will be left feeling that it’s not quite 100%.

However, I’d very happily return. I’m a coeliac and need to keep gluten free. This was no problem at all and I ate very well in their fine dining restaurant, “The Dining Room”. Breakfast too was a breeze, only afternoon tea stumped them - but to be fair the chef did provide a small plate of fruit instead of GF cakes and scones.

The menu in The Dining Room was unchanged during our stay, but the chef happily adapted some dishes so we weren’t eating the same food twice. Asked to select a wine for our meal, the restaurant manager offered a well-judged rose.

At approximately £450 for two nights I considered it good value (including two dinners, breakfast, a bottle of champagne and wine). The manager even refunded £25 for my absent afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was lovely, but very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Amazing room, exquisite food, very very kind staff. Would definitely go back. We stayed in a garden suite and the location was perfect to visit the surrounding area. 5*

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpot501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelalot75
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had stayed here a couple of years ago also to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was so good we decided to return. I love the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel and the service is always so great.

We ate in the bar restaurant and had a most exquisite meal. The menu had some really interesting choices and the food was delicious. It was a Sunday night and it was busy but the waiters were very attentive. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast as the porridge was really oats floating in hot milk but my husband thoroughly enjoyed his breakfast!

I have one regret with our visit in April and that was that we didn't book a suite! We were upgraded to one on our first visit and so although we booked a delux room this time, the bedroom was large and very comfortable but I felt that the bathroom was only standard. The shower cubicle was quite small and the hot water intermittent.

I think that we will return though, book a suite and allow more time so we can use the new spa!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monmouthshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My partner and I spent our 10th anniversary in the Maldives, but with a 5 month old baby that just wasn't happening for our 15th!! - We decided to visit the Cotswolds instead as it isn't to far from home so that we could get back to our daughter before bed time. We have visited Cotswold House and Spa before but not for a couple of years. I was a little nervous to find out that Temple Spa had left, but I needn't have worried - Our day was truly superb from start to finish. Lunch was delicious, the spa and facilities were fantastic, plus we had one of the best treatments EVER (and we have had a fair few) by a very nice therapist called Angela. The whole experience was outstanding and it made no difference at all that it was raining, Chipping Campden is stunning rain or shine. Definitely held it's own against the 10th anniversary in the Maldives!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jami&billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing