We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a lovely village”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Honeypot

The Honeypot sitting room with log burner (1st logs incl, TV, Laura Ashley sofas and curtains, DVD.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Honeypot sitting room with log burner (1st logs incl, TV, Laura Ashley sofas and curtains, DVD.
Bathroom with slipper bath and separate shower The Honeypot belfast sink
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
The Honeypot sitting room with log burner (1st logs incl, TV, Laura Ashley sofas and curtains, DVD.
Bathroom with slipper bath and separate shower
The Honeypot belfast sink
Single, twin or double bedroom.
The Honeypot kitchen
Sitting room
The Honeypot dining table
Log burner (with a basket of logs / kindling included in the rental price)
The Honeypot Double bedroom
The Honeypot, a delightful Cotswold self catering cottage.
Chipping Campden high street
Chipping Campden town sign
The old market hall on the high street and approximately 50 paces from the The Honeypot!
Grevel House, 14th century, the oldest house in Campden.
Chipping Campdens beautifully curved high street, taken from St James church tower
Old Campden House gate houses and gate which offers views of the East Banqueting House
Chipping Campden is surrounded by countryside and so there are many walks taking in stunning views
The Cotswold Way which begins and ends in Campden (the other end being Bath, over 100 miles away!)
View of Church St, gate houses, Court Barn Museum taken fron St James church tower
The workings of the St James Church clock inside the church tower!
Old Campden House: East & West Banqueting Houses and Almonry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Merri D
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very quaint cottage. Perfect location in Chipping Campden. A good base for exploring the surrounding Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the cottage and location
Liked least: Freezer door broken off and freezer needed defrosting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2014
Thanks for your review.

We're pleased you had a good time and liked the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: steep windy staircase.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We inform all guests before they book that the garden is not enclosed and if a secure garden is required, we recommend another of our cottages which allows dogs.

The cottage is at the back of Camminetto's Italian restaurant. As you would expect, there is an extractor fan but we have never ever heard it in 8 years! We have checked with our neighbours on both sides and they have also said that they have never heard any fan noise. We have only ever received positive feedback regarding the smells produced by the restaurant because there are only ever pleasant smells. Many guests book a table at Camminetto, based on the wonderful aromas which are produced!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jennifer...
severnlea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“different”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We specially chose Honeypot because it is so different to anything in Australia, its wonderful age was a drawcard.
The cottage was homely and comfortable and we stayed for six days - we felt right at home. It was well equipped, washing machine for laundry-mad Aussies, but no dryer or place to hang wet washing.
We found the double bed a bit small as we are both tall, so used the single bed as well.
It was a great position, right in the middle of town, but very quiet being off street. We always found a park either right outside or nearby.
There is a small grocery shop down the street which is open late, so no problem buying food locally. One of the nicer villages in the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: mostly everything
Liked least: trying to work the heating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're pleased The Honeypot is different in a good way! There is a clothes horse / airer in the under stairs cupboard. Campden has 2 delicatessens, a butcher,a french bakery, 2 newspaper shops and lots of independent retailers. We're pleased you loved Campden & The Honeypot and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie w
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“adorable cottage”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I visited Chipping Campden with my partner and my 83 year old father to visit some gardens in the area, Hidcote, Kiftsgate etc, the Honeypot was exactly as I imagined inside, small and cosy with everything you could want for a holiday break, we felt at home straight away, the kitchen is small but everything I needed was to hand. The home made cake was yummy and there was a lovely bottle of wine in the fridge to greet us. The little lawn and patio area was lovely too. Chipping Campden itself is the prettiest village we have seen, we will definitely come back and would love to stay at the Honeypot again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lovely cosy living room
Liked least: loved everything but would have liked a full length mirror but thats just vanity!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2013
Thanks for your lovely feedback. We hope you'll stay with us again.

We always offer returning guests a slightly discounted rate!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nell100
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Super sweet”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage for a weekend. Everything is high spec and beautifully presented especially the bathroom. The kitchen is tiny but works fine. We really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cake!
Liked least: I would have liked a bigger bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your review and for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmapeel
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“As pictured on the website.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Perfectly located just steps off the High Street of what must be one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds. The Honeypot has a welcoming feel and whilst small, has everything you need for a comfortable stay for 2 or 3 people. In my opinion, 4 adults is a push as there is trundle bed in what is a single second bedroom and the dining table seats just 2.

Good quality bathroom, curtains and bedding. The stair carpet whilst quite new is showing signs of wear on a couple of stair treds. This was fed back to the owners on departure along with a couple of other small comments offered as honest and constructive feedback.

The lady who makes the home made cakes is unwell, so no home made cake on arrival, but a nice shop bought lemon drizzle was very welcome, as was the bottle of wine chilling in the fridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Beds tight against wall on one side, galley kitchen very narrow
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The cottage is small and we try and make this apparent by the way we describe the cottage (as well as indicating on the front of our site it's a sleeps 3/4). We have had 4 adults use the cottage on many occasions and we do point out to people that the cottage is small. 4 people (whether adults or children) would struggle to sit around the small antique table.

The stairs carpet is now 6 years old and does need replacing soon. We replaced the windows 12 months ago and so the stairs carpet has had to wait for now. It is the vertical part of the carpet (not the part you tread on) that is starting to look worn on 1 or 2 steps. We renew linen and towels every 18 months or so and repaint the cottage regularly too. We feel this cottage is well above average but we also accept that everyone's expectations are different.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian101...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and secluded.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The property was located just off the main road in Chipping Campden so it was very quiet. The property was immaculate and clean. It was evident that' a lot of love had gone into making everything very personal. We travelled with our young son who had great fun . We would definitely return and promise not to take the hair dryer by accident this time. Even thou we had little contact with the owners, when we did speak they were very helpful and courteous. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's character and cleanliness.
Liked least: No explanation was found how to connect to the Internet otherwise no complaints at all.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2013
Thanks for choosing Honeypot Cottages for your holiday and for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to hear from you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing