We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”
Review of Seymour House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seymour House
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two-night mid-week stay with my brother and sister-in-law. Our rooms were on the second floor tucked away from the rest of the house - just what we wanted. Each spacious bedroom had a sitting area and a well-appointed bathroom. Fresh flowers, home-made biscuits and fresh milk in a thermos flask were just a few of the touches making our stay so special; cafetieres were the icing on the cake. A large drawing room on the ground floor is for the sole use of guests, doubling up as a dining room for utterly delicious breakfasts; this room alone would be the envy of 5* hotels. Although designated a B&B, Seymour House is a far cry what is usually understood by the term. Seymour House is a brilliant combination of enabling one to be (a) a guest in a friendly home and (b) an independent visitor able to come and go at any time. Sarah Taylor is a delightful host.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms have a couple of low'ish beams, but that wouldn't stop us selecting those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WharfRatNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
82
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Seymour House on probably the two coldest days in March but the welcome (and the house) were as warm as could be. Chipping Camden is the loveliest of the Cotswold villages - large enough to be interesting but mercifully not as commercialised as some of the others.

Seymour House has a stylish blend of traditional and modern. Our room up in the roof was spacious and very comfortable with a sitting area with two armchairs and a TV, a large bed with crisp white sheets (changed every day), a much appreciated tea making tray and a modern bathroom.

There is a lovely breakfast room and lounge area for guests' use where you are invited to light the open fire and help yourself to complimentary sherry or (honesty book) wine. We sat by the fire both mornings until mid morning, enjoying the magazines and complimentary newspaper. The breakfasts were delicious with home made granola and spicy compote as well as cooked options.

Sarah is most welcoming and friendly and was very helpful with walking directions and recommendations.

Chipping Camden is very well positioned for touring the North Cotswolds, with some lovely walks and drives. Hidcote and Kiftsgate Gardens are almost on the doorstep and Chastleton, Snowshill, Upton, the wonderfully eccentric Mogul inspired Sezincote House and Batsford Arboretum are all 30 minutes away. As is Stratford, if you fancy shopping, Shakespeare or a night at the theatre.

All in all, it was excellent and we definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only stayed one night but were greeted warmly with tea and toast and an open fire. Stacks of lovely books and an honesty bar in the living cosy living room. The beds are like sleeping in a cloud. A superb place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

First rate, luxury B&B in a delightful Cotswolds village. If you want to spoil yourselves, book Seymour House!

We took 3 rooms for a 2 night weekend stay to celebrate my Mother's 70th birthday, and our party included two people needing to 'rest up' due to pregnancy and a recent op, respectively.

Sarah Taylor was very easy to talk to in advance about our needs, and proved to be such a welcoming host when we duly arrived.

The house is stunning. I like the fact that it is also very distinctly the family home, but equally the family have their own space, and there is a separate, very comfortable sitting room / breakfast room for guests. The Taylor family were so friendly and welcoming.

All rooms are well appointed. Plenty of space, comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, dressing gowns, fresh milk for tea, bath bombs, hairdryer, hot water bottle and a nice touch - the DAB Roberts Radio. It's seriously the type of place you just chill out with some Classic FM on. I also like the fact that the rooms are in different parts of the house, so you don't feel as guests (especially staying as a party) that you are on top of each other.

The weekend we chose happened to coincide with a deluge of snow and mightily cold weather. Chipping Campden is great to explore, but on the Saturday, by 1pm we simply needed to hunker down, the weather was so bad. Sarah made us feel very much at home in front of a roaring fire in the front room (dedicated for guests), and we relaxed with tea, the newspapers (another nice touch that they are available to guests) and we simply put a log on the fire every now and then!

There is an honesty bar in the front room plus complimentary sherry, and a full games cupboard.

Breakfast is very relaxed. Great selection of fruit, yoghurt and homemade granola, followed by any option you like on the cooked breakfast front. And really well done.

In the evenings we ate at the Eight Bells and then Michael's, both very good.

In a word, outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canary10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Lovely warm welcome with tea and home made cake. The house is beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds and great bathrooms.We stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer to appreciate the beautiful house and breakfasts. The consistently excellent reviews say it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieatPictonHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

It's always tricky finding beautiful baby friendly accommodation. The coach house with self catering facilities at Seymour House was perfect for us and our nine month old. It's in a fantastic location for mooching around town and exploring further afield. Walking is slightly more challenging now with a baby in tow, but the shorter walks along the Cotswold Way were still stunningly beautiful. An additional bonus is that our daughter has now discovered the wonderful world of Hairy Maclary! The children's books in the coach house were a very nice touch. All in all a really lovely stay. We'll definitely be back. 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We self-catered in the Coach House which is situated at the end of the garden at Seymour House and it was the perfect retreat for a December weekend. The spacious downstairs area has a large comfy bed, lounge and dining area - all open plan - plus a well-equipped kitchenette and bathroom, including robes, fluffy towels and toiletries. Upstairs there's a mezzanine with a single bed. The kitchen had been stocked with milk, eggs, bacon, butter, bread, marmalade, tea and coffee so we had no worries about breakfast. There were also lots of cooking essentials such as herbs, oil, foil etc. The Coach House is comfortably and attractively furnished and although you're effectively sleeping and living in one big room it doesn't feel that way. The layout works well. In the summer, there's also a private seating area just outside the Coach House. There's parking and easy access to the property through a back gate so you can come and go as you please. We were also given a code to the front door of the B&B so we could walk through the house and garden providing someone was home. If you want to avoid going through the house, it's worth noting that the back entrance to Seymour House is about half a mile from Chipping Camden High Street so, while it's no big deal to walk round, you may prefer to take the car. We never found any problem parking in the town.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Coach House to anyone wanting a superior and value for money, self-catering property in which to relax in privacy and quiet for a weekend or more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seymour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seymour House

Property: Seymour House
Address: Seymour House High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seymour House, Chipping Campden, is the family home of Sarah, Peter, Daisy, Ellie, Marni the wire-haired Daschund and Ollie the yellow Labrador puppy. Seymour House has five bed & breakfast guestrooms, each individually decorated to the highest standard, and all have en-suite bathrooms. There is a guest sitting room and a garden to use in the summer. Parking available. We also have The Coach House, self-catering accommodation for up to three people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seymour House Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing