We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely piece of Old England” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Noel Arms Hotel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely piece of Old England”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Chipping Campden is probably my favourite place in England and the Noël Arms offers a lovely place to stay in the heart of this small and special town. We've stayed here previously and have happy memories and this two night stay did not disappoint, although it is noticeable that the hotel is looking a little frayed around the edges and in need of some talc and a bit of money spending on it!
The staff are very friendly and helpful and our welcome was warm. Being linked to the hotel across the square adds some benefits (we ate in their Grill on our first evening and had a wonderful dinner). The car parking is very convenient although it does get very full.
We had a lovely room overlooking the square which provided atmosphere; although not cheap we had everything we needed (including two fans which helped with the very warm atmosphere during our stay).
Breakfast is excellent as were the serving staff (although the tea and coffe arrangements seemed to challenge some of the guests!). We also had dinner in the restaurant on our second evening which was superb and very good value for the quality of the food. A nightcap in the bar was also very good!
Chipping Campden is a beautiful place steeped in history and an excellent base for touring the Cotswolds or just visiting a whole host of nearby attractions. We also enjoyed a lovely walk up to Dovers hill with spectacular views over the Vale of Evesham.
We will certainly go back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    418
    123
    46
    18
See reviews for
115
598
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
286 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Noel Arms hotel on a recent holiday to the UK. The hotel is very conveniently located on the main street in Chipping Campden.

The hotel has an old world feel but I didn't find it to be run down. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was nice and spacious. The bathrooms were huge and had been recently renovated, so were looking really nice. As earlier reviewers have mentioned, a couple of more toiletries would have helped!

We ate 2 meals at the hotel and both were very good. And the staff was always extremely polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back, so you can escape the noise on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Before moving to the area we stayed here and other hotels in Chipping Campden many times and of all the hotels I would recommend this one. The rooms are a bit tired and you do have to get your own toast/juice at breakfast but for value for money for this area this is the one you should stay at. 10 years ago as a specal occasion and splashed out for the 4 poster room and that was fantastic.

Now we live here we often go down for a drink and a meal. The staff are very friendly, the food is very good and never mind what time of day you visit there are always people either having a drink, reading paper by the fire, sat outside. Very laid back relaxing place. If I was visiting the area now and wanted to stay in Chipping Campden I would stay here. On the wall there are 25 things to do within 25 minutes of Chipping Campden so there is plenty to do if you stay here without exhausting yourself at the end of the day

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade from the basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ENGLANDUKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked for 2 Nights. Greeted by friendly staff, shown to our room and all Hotel plus sister hotel explained to us. We were given a back door key to help us bring our luggage in via the car park but it didn't fit the back door so had to walk all the way round and found we had been given the front door key ! Room was small and in need of a re-decoration so came across rather dingy. No clock by bedside or fan to keep us cool. Shower head did not fit the holder and shower rail was loose, probably with everyone trying to fit the shower head into the holder ! Food was excellent, ate in restaurant both nights, bar was good too. I ordered scrambled egg on toast for my breakfast and was asked to make my own toast to help the chef out, the menu states Scrambled Egg on toast ! Plenty of parking at the hotel. Chipping Campden is a very nice village and made a good base for visiting other surrounding areas. I doubt we will stay at this hotel again as the room was pricey and was not good value for money, in our opinion, considering it was in need of a lick of fresh paint and had few comforts, a part from a trouser press and a hair dryer ! No Wi-Fi in rooms only in main reception area. We have stayed in better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Booked for 3 nights 'B & B . Warmly welcomed and shown to a very comfortable room on the ground floor.I was a little surprised to find a plethora of light switches in sundry places, all but two of which were totally useless!. Sensibly, the room was provided with a fan and a portable air conditioning unit -essential give very hot weather and warm nights .Bathroom very clean but, again surprisingly, there was no loo brush.Dinner was impeccably presented and served. When I observed, very mildly, that my pan fried pork tenderloin was a little tough, not only was it not charged for, but also I was given a free dessert. What superb service!.Breakfast on each morning was excellent, the hotel having so many guests that the waitresses had to apologise for full English cooked breakfasts to be served more slowly than usual.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We spent a long weekend here and received very good service from friendly and efficient staff. We enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel, had good meals and I also used the Hydrotherapy pool at the sister hotel opposite, which was a relaxing way to spend time, followed by a quiet sit in their beautiful garden.
The Noel is well placed on the main street in Chipping Campden and we picked up information on the town and local walks from the Tourist Information office which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
In all, a great break and one which we will definitely repeat.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel by the car park but was quiet (apart from the usual pigeons!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife & I stayed one night only. We were on an odyssey visiting friend & relatives. Basically the hotel came up to expectations and was very good in all aspects. We stayed in very hot weather so keeping cool was only just achieved. It would also have been better if the Wifi had extended to the bedrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CustomerFrodsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Property: Noel Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing