We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in January”
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Noel Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Uckfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break in January”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very friendly and attentive staff.Food superb, ensure you make the last Thursday in the month for the curry night it was sublime.Our only problem in room 8 was it was too hot(this was in January) even with the window open, however a fan was provided and this meant we could now sleep cool at night. It appears all the heating pipes run under the floor,better than freezing though.Would definitel;y recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, one of our chefs is twice winner of Curry Chef Of The Year so your right they are amazing, these are offered daily alongside our regular menus giving lots of choice, we are delighted you would recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, don’t forget you can arrange treatments at our sister hotels spa, 30 seconds walk away.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Noel Arms and Cotswold House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    429
    132
    47
    18
See reviews for
121
623
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guisborough
Level Contributor
344 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It's all been said! This hotel is of a good standard with friendly service. We visited the hotel on a Groupon, asking for and being given a free upgrade. The inclusive afternoon tea was deilcious on the first day. The two men in our party had smoked salmon sandwiches as an alternative on the second day and were very impressed.

We booked for evening dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the experience-lovely food and great service.

Me and my husband visited the Spa at the sister hotel. We were not enamoured with the Hamnam room as we found the smell rather pungent. The hydrotherapy pool, on the other hand, was most relaxing. We went about 5pm and had it to ourselves.

This was the first time we had visited this part of the country and will return, no doubt staying at the Noel Arms again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much we really do appreciate your kind comments, and are delighted we were able to offer a room upgrade, if you are looking for a great night to come back we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We embarked on the purchase of a groupon deal for a hotel stay with some trepidation, not having undertaken this approach before. Our main concerns were around the service we would get, would we be treated the same as 'full price' punters? We needn't have been concerned. From the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff on the phone before we traveled, the welcome we received upon arrival and the continued levels of service throughout the weekend - we we're more than happy.
The Noel Arms, in our opinion, was the ideal weekend get away. Not too far from London to reach by train on a Friday after work, situated in picturesqe Chipping Campden with the Cotswold Way walks on the door step.
Our first evening meal was sublime, Pork tenderloin with red cabbage and potato daphinoise - great presentation and the price was astonisingly reasonable (not factoring in the 10% Groupon discount). We consumed this in the pub area, complete with roaring fire, friendly bar man and great selection of Ales and wines. On venturing to our well appointed room, we fund a complimentary bottle of wine (we didn't get round to consuming this!)

Early to bed to enjoy the countryside the next morning, a complimentary (full english) breakfast was swiftly followed by a lovely walk, followed by complimentary cream teas (delicious scones and still hot from the kitchen. yum.). The rest of the afternoon was spent in the bar drinking some of our complimentary bucksfizz, and a good Merlot playing boardgames - something that seemed to be positvely enouraged.

We throughly relaxed throughout our stay and whilst we didn't make full use of all of our complimentary spa facilities at the sister hotel across the road, nor the remaining groupon vouchers, this is more a reflection of just how relaxed we were and the fact that we started to feel a bit cheeky with all the compliments!

We thoroughly recommend this hotel, to me the perfect mix of good service, great food and a relaxed atmosphere. We will definately be visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a rear exit which makes it easier to come and go rather than tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much we really do appreciate your kind comments, if you are looking for a great night to come back we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arrived on a very cold, snowy night but received a very warm welcome at the hotel and found the room very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and the food was of a very high standard and reasonably priced. The place retains quite some character even after some modernisation and is a meeting place for local people as well as those of us passing through. Highly recommended and l hope to return when I have time to explore the surrounding area. Oh, and they are dog-friendly too. One tip though - do not rely on GPS to get you there as it will take you off piste and you will wish you had bought a map.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us we really do appreciate your kind comments, if you are looking for a great night to come back we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights there. Great welcome. Restaurant excellent. Everywhere warm in hotel. Our room had large bed and bathroom was good and clean. Only niggle was noisy neighbours first night as the walls could do with more sound insulation. Overall though great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much we really do appreciate your kind comments, if you are looking for a great night to come back we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just back from a 3 day stay. Stayed several times before and pleased to see the same excellent service and standard has been maintained. Good size and very comfy double bed. Room kept clean and topped up with tea/coffee, bottled water and bath essentials. Towels clean and soft. Wonderful sized bath with excellent quantities of hot water from a very fast efficient tap. Pleased to report the breakfast quality/quantity remains high. Previous stays we have always eaten supper at the Red Lion, this time we did eat there once( an excellent meal) but also due to the snow decided to stay and eat in two evenings. Have to say our evening meals were delicious, I can especially recommend the salmon and also the black lamb curry. After our last stay we sent off for the Privilege Card and this provided excellent value as it offers 15% off not only food, but the drinks with the meal too! It was warm through out the hotel and this was very much appreciated after having been out in a considerable amount of snow. What amazed us was how clear the roads were kept around that area...well done gritters!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much we really do appreciate your kind comments, if you are looking for a great night to come back we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a one night stay at the Noel Arms and arrived on a snowy afternoon after a somewhat stressful drive. We were made to feel very much at home and quickly relaxed into the very homely atmosphere. The meal (one Indian one not) was lovely and the breakfast equally good. The only downside was a very scanty showere in the evening though in the morning there was lots of hot water. I hope to go back again and explore the village which looked full of interest. Ps the dog was made as welcome as we were!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
What a kind review, thank you so much we really do appreciate it, if you are looking for a great night to come back we frequently offer loyalty dates to return guests and have two coming up on Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March where we are offering discounted rates/ very special offers for return guests, if the date works for you then do give us a call (mentioning you are a previous guest) and are interested in our loyalty evenings. We look forward to welcoming you and the dog back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,849 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
817 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Property: Noel Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing