We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Review....please read on”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2007

Driving up the long winding driveway to the Manor, our excitement grew, as we looked forward to an evening in front of the fire in the lounge, but it sadly dribbled away within the first half an hour or so.
To clarify: I booked a Deluxe Double room through Superbreaks, quoted as £250 per room per night, currently on offer at £49.50pppn including Breakfast. I upgraded to Half Board paying an additional £48 for full 3 course evening meals.
On arriving there was no Reception to speak of, and a warm welcome was lacking. Reference was immediately made to us having booked through 'Superbreaks' when we were asked if we were eating in the evening and advised it was a Gourmet evening. We expected them to know our booking requirements, so this sounded odd but we didn't think much of it at the time. Just as we were taken to our room we noticed a board on a table in the hallway that apologised for any disturbance/inconvenience during refurbishment. We soon found that the lounge with an open fire was not open due to this work, and that half the dining room was closed due to re-decoration. 2nd lounge was nice and newly painted but didn't make up for a roaring fire if that's what was part of the attraction on booking!
We were in 'Warwick' room in a separate building across the car park. Room was up a small staircase in the eaves of the building, with a skylight window in the bathroom, and another in the bedroom. Also another small window overlooking the carpark towards the main building. The room was comfortable and very peaceful and the bathroom was ok, though taps needed a good scrub from limescale. Shower was a hand held device which we weren't expecting. Seemed clean though tired and faded and certainly far from the quote of 'individually decorated & featuring antique furniture and fine fabrics'. Bed was large and comfy but it was 2 singles joined together. Most disappointing of all was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which we expected for a £250 room. I did ask the staff but it wasn't an option.
Pool facilities were a definate plus, good sized pool, very warm, and the sauna and steam were great. Towels also provided in the changing rooms.
Not long after settling in our room, reception called to advise Chef was cooking a 7 course Gourment meal so we would have to pay an additional £15 each. Surprised and a little irritated at the manner in which this was put, we suggested this a little unfair as there was no mention of it on booking or on their website. Reception therefore referred back to Chef and it was agreed they would give us a 3 course option as we booked.
Now to the Dining experience.....Most pleasureable! Restaurant staff, compared to front of house, were great. Knowledgeable, courteous, polite and friendly, service and attitudes were great. Food was mouth wateringly tasty and well presented. The Head Waiter was marvellous and was most apologetic for the previous meal confusion. It seems every last Thursday of the month is their Gourment night - so why isn't it promoted on their website?!
On check out, reference was again made to 'Superbreaks' and we were presented with a bill for our evening meal and extras. Soon rectified when it was found we had infact booked and paid for Half Board.
On returning home and doing a little research we now doubt that we were given a 'Deluxe Double' room even though we booked and paid for one. One website states there are 3 Deluxe Double rooms offering wonderful views of the countryside, some of the rooms being in the Manor House. We had no 'wonderful views of the countryside' from the Warwick room. Reference is also made to early morning tea and a paper all included in the price - sadly not received.
All in all, lovely location, wonderful building, but lots of gaps in lots of areas, leading to an overall feeling of poor value for money and disappointment.
I can't help but wonder that had I not booked through Superbreaks, but through the Hotel direct, our whole stay and experience may have been of a higher standard?

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alcazemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2007

There is an undeniable wow factor as you turn off the main road onto the drive. The hotel is in a stunning location and is a picture perfect old manor, oozing charm and old world authenticity. We were upgraded to a suite in the eaves and it was a lovely big light characterful room. A bit chintzy and down at the heel even though the reception areas suggest boutique style aspirations.

The spa centre was OK and pool clean and a good size but the changing rooms were decidedly local authority with washed out salmon pink plastic decor and mouldy roof tiles.

The evening meal was the real disappointment. The restaurant tries to present itself as French haute cuisine but neither the service, ambience or food come close. It's so quiet you can hear a pin drop. Four courses are served faster than a Burger King and the quality of the food even though not dreadful was no where near the standard to be expected of a £40 a head menu. A slither of beef for main course, awful rubbery cheeseboard and generally a choice of menu that was more suitable for standard mass catering wedding fare.

There was nothing terrible and the staff were pleasant enough if a bit haphazard. At £250 (including a bottle of wine) for two people full board for one evening it was just didn't represent value and lacked the finishing touches that should come with the price tag.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lemuel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Although we had booked a suite we were given a small double room with torn, stained furniture.
After complaining we were moved to a larger room but still not quite the standard we expected for the price we paid.
Minor details let it down - no tea making facilities in room, paper but no pen,no info on meal times or opening hours of leisure centre.
Overall poor value for money

Stayed: February 2007
Thank llwchwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We stayed here for Christmas 2006. The staff are very friendly. We are both in our early forties and felt very young compared to all the other guests. However, none of them seemed interested in a very nice pool area and a small gym. We had the pool to ourselves everytime. The food was delicious and they deserve their 2 AA rosettes. The head waiter is a charming gentleman who made sure that everything was to your satisfaction.
We had a superior room in the extention, located across the courtyard. It would appear that above our room was a large water tank and numerous pipes went down the side of the room. This did disturb us during the night on several ocassions. Overall a nice hotel in a peaceful and remote location. Only about 25 mins from M40 though and literally 2 miles from the warwickshire border. It would appear that the guests who frequent this hotel are of the 50 plus bracket. Would I return, maybe, the food is the big draw!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eclipse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

Stayed first in July 2002 as part of honeymoon and then again in July 2005. It is stunningly beautiful especially with the lavender in full bloom. Stayed in 2 rooms with 4 posters both wonderful rooms. Serice has been excellent although I agree that there is something a bit dated about it. Food was great and to my mind had a good mix of the traditional and the innovative. I want to return, soon!!

Stayed: July 2005
Thank SaneTubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

It was a rocky start (after arqueing with the receiptionist which irritated me!), but our stay at Charingworth was absolutely fantastic. The staff couldn't be more helpful - especially Andrew who worked in the restaurant. We were staying at the hotel as it was a special occassion for my partner and they made every effort to help make it a success.
Although there were aspects like, the decor being dated and our double bed consisted on two singles pushed together!!!!!! this did not deter us from enjoying our time.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone as it was lovely and the surroundings were just stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

This is a peculiar place. A stunning manor house set if beautiful countryside but somehow stuck in the 1970s. There's something distinctly Fawtly Towers about it, with very dated decor, a traditional menu and waiters in dicky bows and waist coats. As other reviews have stated, the furnishing and condition of the hotel is in need of an upgrade, but at the same time this seems to give it some kind of charm. In all in all though, I'd suggest it is horrendously over priced. I've no idea where our £225 went but it certainly wasn't into the condition of the hotel (dripping showers and broken lockers in the pool area) or the quality of the service (reception appeared irritated each time I interupted her conversation with a friend on the 'phone to ask for our room key). If you're after somewhere a bit different and don't have 'London' expectations of service and decor you'll be fine. If you do, steer well clear.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,099 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,387 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,091 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $180 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing