We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay, Great Food”
Review of The Seagrave Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seagrave Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I booked with The Seagrave Arms for a long weekend in the Cotswolds, the primary reason being that we could bring our dog. Kevin (owner) and team provided friendly and accommodating service. We had dinner in the bar both nights of our stay (bar area allows for dogs), very cozy with the fire, area was small and intimate, our meals on both nights were excellent (had starter, main, wine and dessert).

The room was a little smallish but still quite comfortable, clean, and well kept. The weather was below freezing but the room inside was plenty warm. The shower temp we would have liked to have gotten a little hotter, but wasn't such that it was a huge issue. Again, I might call the room a little small given what we paid, but the fact we were able to bring our dog and stay in such a comfortable room more than made up for it.

Above all, the primary driver behind our rating is the warmth and friendliness of service. We arrived a little early and were still accommodated in the bar for lunch. Kevin arranged for a taxi pick up upon our departure to the train station, and allowed for us to leave our rental car behind in the lot for pick up by the rental company, all with fairly short notice. And finally, they were very friendly and welcoming to our dog, that we could bring him really made our trip. For all of our dog's attributes, he can get a little curious and excited and they were very understanding and friendly still.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staceyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for The Seagrave Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 273 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday end of February for 1 night on a deal of £99 dinner bed and breakfast. We were welcomed and taken to our room which was at the road side of the building. Pleasant enough room, very small shower room. A heater had been put on and the room was VERY warm, so much so that we had the window open all night (propped open with a piece of wood!) and turned the radiator down.
Good bedding and toiletries, selection of tea, coffee etc.
DOWNSIDE OF ROOM - Lack of decent lighting, particularly in shower room. The TV table had been put in such a place that you could not watch TV from the left side of the bed. I actually moved this to a much better place so that not only could you watch TV but also made a dressing table under the mirror.
We went down for dinner at 6.40 (dinner booked for 7pm) but were told there was nowhere to sit and have a drink and look at menus as they were very busy (this was a Thursday) and it appeared that a meal deal advert had been very successful. Unfortunately it meant that the tables were squashed, the service poor and no where to sit in comfort either before or after the meal. The starters were excellent - devilled kidneys and goats cheese tart. Mains were disappointing - confit of duck and pork in mustard. Both had cold vegetables, almost cold plates. The duck came with cassoulet (more like a tin of baked beans) and the pork was dry, came with hard potatoes and far too much mustard sauce. We declined sweets and as there was no where comfortable to sit also declined coffee. The wine was very good but we had to ask for water and the prosecco that was part of the deal (as did nearly everyone in the restaurant).
Breakfast was excellent - apart from some rather burnt toast, coffee fabulous. Very pleasant hosts which is why we didn't complain but left the partly uneaten mains to speak for us. All in all a nice place to stay but seems unable to quite live up to the image it tries to project.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
director69, Owner at The Seagrave Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review.As you state you stayed as part of our midweek "Winter Warmer" promotion in February which was a great success and sold out.It is our policy to heat our guest rooms prior to arrival,particularly in winter, and this is usually most welcome.Our room radiators are very efficient and have individual thermostatic controls so I am suprised that,having turned the radiator off, you found it neccesary to leave the window open all night.
There is a seperate seating area (for residents only) on the first floor where you could have had drinks before dinner or coffee after.
If you had raised any concerns you had with me on the evening we could have remedied them for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely restaurant with rooms. Had a room in the conversion next to the main building, very well appointed and quiet; a great nights sleep was had.
Food in restaurant (has 3 seating areas which make it more intimate) was very good and the breakfast was spot on.
Overall an excellent place to relax and explore the Cotswolds: I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Amazing in value, quality, hospitality and profession ism. My husband 2 year old and 10 month old stayed we had a memorable time and look forward to returning thank you to Kevin and his team. Delightful decor an amazing building restored beautifully and what we loved to see was the enthusiasm spent sourcing local produce and breakfast was to die for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sullyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We popped into the Seagrave Arms whilst passing through on Saturday lunch time and was very pleasantly surprised. We just had sandwiches from the lunch menu but there was a good choice and the service and food was great. We will definitely pop back if we are in the area again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhantomTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just had one night at The Seagrave Arms with my hubbie, family and our dog. Very well designed rooms, lovely looking public house and gorgeous food. My husband and I were in a building separate to the bed as we had the dog and it was lovely. The other members of the family were upstairs in the pub and their rooms were equally as good.
The owners were very friendly and even gave us a ring in advance to say they were clear of snow.
Gorgeous places to look around especially Broadway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choccylab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent an overnight stay at the Seagrave Arms with family for a belated Christmas get together. Our room was beautifully decorated and well appointed. Dinner was delicious, as was breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and we were surprised to read the negative feedback as that was far from our experience. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,059 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
7.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagrave Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagrave Arms

Address: Friday Street | Weston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: $101 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagrave Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seagrave Arms is a charming country inn and award-winning restaurant with eight en-suite bedrooms and a self-catering cottage with two bedrooms. Set in the heart of the Cotswolds, mid-way between the villages of Chipping Campden (1 mile) and Broadway (3 miles) and just 20 minutes dive from both Cheltenham and Stratford upon Avon. The eight bedrooms feature king-size beds, luxurious linen, flat screen TVs, natural British toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WiFi. With 2 Rosettes, the restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine. The menu is made with sustainable local produce including fruits and vegetables from nearby farms, Cotswold beef, Gloucester Old Spot pork and plenty of game from local shoots. Whether you want to enjoy a pint of real ale in the bar near the roaring-log fire or dine on classic dishes in the candlelit and intimate restaurant, the team look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Seagrave Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagrave Arms Hotel Chipping Campden
The Seagrave Arms Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing